Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Healthy Living

Arsenic in Drinking Water

It's Your Health

Help on accessing alternative formats, such as Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word and PowerPoint (PPT) files, can be obtained in the alternate format help section.

On this page:

The Issue

Arsenic is a natural element found widely in the earth's crust. It may be found in some drinking water supplies, including wells. Exposure to high levels of arsenic can cause health effects.

Background

There are trace amounts of arsenic in all living matter. For most Canadians, the primary source of exposure to arsenic is food, followed by drinking water, soil and air. Drinking water would only be the major source of exposure for people living near a source of arsenic.

Arsenic may enter lakes, rivers or underground water naturally, when mineral deposits or rocks containing arsenic dissolve. Arsenic may also get into water through the discharge of industrial wastes and by the deposit of arsenic particles in dust, or dissolved in rain or snow. These arsenic particles can enter the environment through:

  • the burning of fossil fuels (especially coal);
  • metal production (such as gold and base metal mining);
  • agricultural use (in pesticides and feed additives); or
  • waste burning.

Data collected indicate that the levels of arsenic in Canadian drinking water are generally less than 0.005 milligrams per litre (0.005 parts per million - ppm), although concentrations may be higher in some areas.

Testing For Arsenic

As arsenic is both tasteless and odourless, you won't be able to tell if it is in your drinking water. However, arsenic tends to be found in very specific regions of the country and may not be a drinking water concern in your area. If you live in an area that has natural sources of arsenic or is known to have high levels of arsenic in its groundwater, it is recommended that you have your water tested. To do so, please contact your regional public health office. If you obtain your drinking water from a municipal supply and want to have your water tested, you should contact the local drinking water authorities.

Laboratories with specialized equipment can conduct tests to measure arsenic in your body. Testing for arsenic in urine will indicate recent exposure.

The Health Effects of Arsenic

Arsenic in drinking water is absorbed by the body when you swallow it, and distributed by the bloodstream. It does not enter the body through the skin or by inhalation during bathing or showering. The highest levels of arsenic are found in nails and hair, which accumulate arsenic over time. Your body gets rid of arsenic mostly through urine, with smaller amounts removed through the skin, hair, nails and sweat.

Health Canada and the International Agency for Research on Cancer consider arsenic a human cancer-causing agent. Its effects have been studied in a population in Taiwan where the drinking water contains naturally high levels of arsenic (over 0.35 ppm). The results suggest that consuming drinking water with very high levels of arsenic over a lifetime, can increase the risk of cancer in internal organs such as the bladder, liver and lungs.

Long-term exposure (over many years or decades) to high levels of arsenic in drinking water may also cause:

  • thickening and discoloration of the skin;
  • nausea and diarrhea;
  • decreased production of blood cells;
  • abnormal heart rhythm and blood vessel damage; or
  • numbness in the hands and feet.

Short-term exposure (days/weeks) to very high levels of arsenic in drinking water can result in:

  • abdominal pain, vomiting and diarrhea;
  • muscular cramping or pain;
  • weakness and flushing of skin, skin rash;
  • numbness, burning or tingling sensation or pain in hands and feet;
  • thickening of the skin on the palms of the hands and soles of the feet; or
  • loss of movement and sensory responses.

Studies do not show greater risks of health effects in children, pregnant women or other vulnerable populations.

Minimizing Your Risk

Because arsenic can cause cancer, every effort should be made to keep arsenic levels in drinking water as low as possible.

If you live in an area that has natural sources of arsenic or is known to have high levels of arsenic in its groundwater, you should have your well water tested. To do so, contact your regional public health office. If you find excessive concentrations of arsenic in your drinking water, you may want to:

  • Look for an alternate water source with low arsenic concentrations. Where possible, connect to a public water distribution system.
  • Buy an in-home water treatment device that can reduce the level of arsenic. Look for treatment devices that have been certified by an accredited certification organization as meeting the appropriate NSF International (NSF)/American National Standards Institute (ANSI) drinking water treatment unit standards for removing arsenic. These standards have been designed to safeguard drinking water. They help to ensure the material safety and performance of products that come into contact with drinking water. Make sure you follow the manufacturer's instructions regarding their use and maintenance.

If you are concerned about health risks from the consumption of water containing arsenic, contact your doctor.

Government of Canada's Role

Federal, provincial and territorial governments share responsibility for providing safe drinking water in Canada. Health Canada works with the provinces and territories to establish the Guidelines for Canadian Drinking Water Quality. The guidelines are designed to ensure that Canadians have access to safe drinking water. They are constantly reviewed and revised to reflect new data on contaminants in drinking water. All jurisdictions in Canada use them as the basis for establishing drinking water quality requirements.

Arsenic is one of the many chemicals for which Health Canada has set guidelines. A new guideline has been established at 0.010 milligrams per litre, and will continue to be reviewed to reflect new treatment methods and new information on health risks as they become available. The guideline is based on lifetime exposure to arsenic from drinking water, and takes into consideration the ability to measure arsenic and to remove it from drinking water supplies.

Need More Info?

For information regarding Health Canada's drinking water program.

You can also send requests by e-mail to water_eau@hc-sc.gc.ca. or by regular mail to:
Water, Air and Climate Change Bureau
Health Canada
269 Laurier Ave. West, al 4903D
Ottawa, ON K1A 0K9

Specific information on Health Canada's drinking water guidelines, including links to guideline technical documents.

The day-to-day responsibility of providing safe drinking water to the public generally rests with the provinces and territories, while municipalities usually oversee the day to day operations of the treatment facilities. In the Yukon, Northwest Territories, Nunavut, British Columbia and New Brunswick water quality is overseen by the provincial health ministries. In all other provinces water quality is overseen by the environment ministries.

For more information on water quality issues go to Health Canada's Water Talk site.

For additional articles on health and safety issues go to the It's Your Health Web site.
You can also call toll free at 1-866-225-0709 or TTY at 1-800-465-7735*.

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Vie saine

L'arsenic dans l'eau potable

Votre santé et vous

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour accéder aux formats de rechange, tels que Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word et PowerPoint (PPT), visitez la section d'aide sur les formats de rechange.

Sur cette page :

Enjeu

L'arsenic est un élément naturel très répandu dans la croûte terrestre. Il est présent dans certaines réserves d'eau potable, y compris les puits. L'exposition à de fortes concentrations d'arsenic peut avoir des effets sur la santé.

Contexte

Toute matière vivante contient des traces d'arsenic. Pour la plupart des Canadiens, les aliments sont la principale source d'exposition à l'arsenic, suivis de l'eau potable, du sol et de l'air. L'eau potable représente la principale source d'exposition uniquement chez les personnes vivant près d'une source d'arsenic.

L'arsenic s'infiltre naturellement dans les lacs, les rivières ou l'eau souterraine lorsque des dépôts minéraux ou des roches qui en contiennent se dissolvent. L'arsenic peut aussi s'infiltrer dans l'eau lors du déversement de déchets industriels ou lorsque des particules se mêlent à la poussière ou sont dissoutes dans la pluie ou la neige. Ces particules peuvent être rejetées dans l'environnement par :

  • la combustion de combustibles fossiles (notamment le charbon) ;
  • la production de métaux (extraction d'or et de métaux communs, par exemple) ;
  • les activités agricoles (utilisation de pesticides et d'additifs pour l'alimentation animale) ; ou
  • l'incinération de déchets.

Les données indiquent que les concentrations d'arsenic dans l'eau potable au Canada sont généralement inférieures à 0,005 milligrammes par litre (0,005 parties par million - ppm), mais elles peuvent être supérieures à certains endroits.

Détection de l'arsenic

L'arsenic n'a ni goût ni odeur. Il est donc impossible de savoir si l'eau potable en contient. Toutefois, l'arsenic se retrouve généralement dans des régions particulières du pays et il se peut qu'il n'y ait pas lieu de s'inquiéter dans votre région. Les personnes qui vivent dans des régions où il y a des sources naturelles d'arsenic ou dont l'eau souterraine contient des concentrations élevées d'arsenic devraient faire tester leur eau. Pour ce faire, vous devez vous adresser à votre service régional de santé publique. Pour faire analyser l'eau provenant d'un système d'aqueduc municipal, vous devez vous adresser aux autorités locales.

Certains laboratoires spécialisés peuvent effectuer des tests pour mesurer la quantité d'arsenic dans votre organisme. L'analyse d'urine indiquera si vous y avez été exposé dernièrement.

Les effets de l'arsenic sur la santé

Le corps absorbe l'arsenic présent dans l'eau potable que vous buvez et le sang le transporte dans l'organisme. L'arsenic ne peut pas s'infiltrer dans l'organisme par la peau ou par inhalation lors du bain ou de la douche. À la longue, l'arsenic s'accumule dans les ongles et les cheveux, où les concentrations sont les plus élevées. Le corps s'en débarrasse surtout dans l'urine, mais de petites quantités sont éliminées par la peau, les cheveux, les ongles et la sueur.

Santé Canada et le Centre international de recherche sur le cancer considèrent l'arsenic comme une substance cancérigène pour l'humain. On en a étudié les effets dans une population de Taïwan où l'eau potable contient de fortes concentrations naturelles d'arsenic (plus de 0,35 ppm). L'étude indique que le fait de consommer une eau à forte teneur en arsenic la vie durant peut augmenter le risque de cancer dans certains organes internes comme la vessie, le foie et les poumons.

L'exposition prolongée (sur de nombreuses années) à de fortes concentrations d'arsenic dans l'eau potable peut aussi provoquer :

  • un épaississement et une décoloration de la peau ;
  • des nausées, une diarrhée ;
  • une baisse de la production de cellules sanguines ;
  • une arythmie cardiaque, des dommages aux vaisseaux sanguins ; ou
  • un engourdissement des mains et des pieds.

Une exposition de courte durée (quelques jours à quelques semaines) à de très fortes concentrations d'arsenic dans l'eau potable peut entraîner :

  • des douleurs abdominales, des vomissements et de la diarrhée ;
  • des crampes et des douleurs musculaires ;
  • une faiblesse, ainsi que des rougeurs et des éruptions cutanées ;
  • une sensation d'engourdissement, de brûlure ou de picotement ou des douleurs aux mains et aux pieds ;
  • un épaississement de la peau sur la paume des mains ou sur la plante des pieds ; ou
  • une perte de réaction motrice ou sensitive.

Les études n'indiquent aucune augmentation du risque d'effets sanitaires pour les enfants, les femmes enceintes ou d'autres groupes vulnérables.

Réduire les risques

Parce que l'arsenic peut causer le cancer, il faut limiter le plus possible les concentrations d'arsenic dans l'eau potable.

Les personnes qui vivent dans des régions où il y a des sources naturelles d'arsenic ou dont l'eau souterraine contient de fortes concentrations d'arsenic devraient faire tester l'eau de leur puits. Pour ce faire, vous devez vous adresser à votre service régional de santé publique. Si l'eau que vous consommez contient une concentration excessive, vous devriez envisager :

  • de chercher une autre source d'eau à faible concentration d'arsenic ; si possible, raccordez-vous à un réseau d'aqueduc public ;
  • d'acheter un dispositif de traitement d'eau capable de réduire le niveau d'arsenic ; recherchez un appareil conforme aux normes pertinentes de NSF International (NSF) et de l'American National Standards Institute (ANSI) et certifié par un organisme accrédité. Ces normes visent à assurer la qualité de l'eau potable. Elles aident à garantir l'innocuité et le rendement des produits qui sont en contact avec l'eau potable. Assurez-vous de respecter les consignes du fabricant pour l'utilisation et l'entretien.

Si l'eau que vous buvez contient de l'arsenic et que cela vous inquiète, consultez votre médecin.

Rôle du gouvernement du Canada

Au Canada, les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux sont responsables de la qualité de l'eau potable. Santé Canada collabore avec les provinces et les territoires à la mise au point de Recommandations pour la qualité de l'eau potable au Canada afin de s'assurer que les Canadiens ont accès à une eau potable de qualité. Ces recommandations sont constamment revues et révisées afin de tenir compte des données les plus récentes sur les contaminants présents dans l'eau potable. Chaque administration canadienne utilise les recommandations pour établir ses propres exigences en matière de qualité de l'eau potable.

L'arsenic est l'un des nombreux produits chimiques pour lesquels Santé Canada a établi des recommandations. La nouvelle recommandation est de 0,010 milligrammes par litre et nous continuerons de la réviser pour tenir compte des nouvelles méthodes de traitement et des nouvelles données sur les risques sanitaires. Cette recommandation se fonde sur l'exposition à vie à l'arsenic contenu dans l'eau potable ; elle tient compte de la capacité de mesurer les niveaux d'arsenic et d'éliminer cette substance des réserves d'eau potable.

Pour en savoir plus...

Pour vous renseigner sur le programme de Santé Canada relatif à l'eau potable.

Vous pouvez aussi envoyer votre demande par courriel (water_eau@hc-sc.gc.ca) ou par la poste :
Bureau de l'air et des changements climatiques
Santé Canada
269, avenue Laurier Ouest, IA 4903D
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0K9

Pour en savoir plus sur les Recommandations pour la qualité de l'eau potable, y compris sur les documents techniques connexes.

De façon générale, il incombe aux provinces de s'assurer que leurs citoyens ont accès à une eau potable saine, alors que les municipalités supervisent habituellement les activités quotidiennes des installations de traitement. Au Yukon, dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, au Nunavut, en Colombie-Britannique et au Nouveau-Brunswick, il incombe aux ministères provinciaux de la Santé de surveiller la qualité de l'eau potable. Dans toutes d'autres provinces la qualité de l'eau est surveillée par les ministères d'environnement.

Pour vous renseigner sur les enjeux liés à la qualité de l'eau.

Vous trouverez des articles complémentaires dans le portail Votre santé et vous.
Vous pouvez aussi composer, sans frais, le 1 866 225-0709 ou le 1 800-465-7735* pour les malentendants.