Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Healthy Living

Drinking Water Chlorination

It's Your Health

Help on accessing alternative formats, such as Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word and PowerPoint (PPT) files, can be obtained in the alternate format help section.

On this page:

The Issue

Chlorine is a disinfectant added to drinking water to reduce or eliminate microorganisms, such as bacteria and viruses, which can be present in water supplies. The addition of chlorine to our drinking water has greatly reduced the risk of waterborne diseases.

Background

For more than a century, the safety of Canadian drinking water supplies has been greatly improved by the addition of chlorine. Disinfecting our drinking water ensures it is free of the microorganisms that can cause serious and life-threatening diseases, such as cholera and typhoid fever. To this day, chlorine remains the most commonly used drinking water disinfectant, and the disinfectant for which we have the most scientific information.

Chlorine is added as part of the drinking water treatment process. However, chlorine also reacts with the organic matter, naturally present in water, such as decaying leaves. This chemical reaction forms a group of chemicals known as disinfection by-products. The most common of these by-products are trihalomethanes (THMs), which include chloroform. The amount of THMs found in drinking water depends on a number of things, including the season and the source of the water. For example, THM levels are generally lower in winter than in summer, because the amount of natural organic matter is lower and less chlorine is needed to disinfect at colder temperatures. THM levels are also low when wells or large lakes are the drinking water source, and higher when rivers or other surface waters are the source, because they generally contain more organic matter

The Benefits of Chlorine

Current scientific data shows that the benefits of chlorinating our drinking water (less disease) are much greater than any health risks from THMs and other by-products. Although other disinfectants are available, chlorine remains the choice of water treatment experts. When used with modern water filtration methods, chlorine is effective against virtually all microorganisms. Chlorine is easy to apply and small amounts of the chemical remain in the water as it travels in the distribution system from the treatment plant to the consumer's tap,This level of effectiveness ensures that microorganisms cannot recontaminate the water after it leaves the treatment plant.

Alternatives to Chlorination

A number of cities use ozone to disinfect their water, because ozonation does not produce THMs. Although ozone is a very effective disinfectant, it breaks down quickly and cannot be used to maintain disinfection in the distribution system. Small amounts of chlorine or other disinfectants still must be added. Renovating water treatment plants so they can use ozone can be expensive.

Examples of other disinfectants include chloramines and chlorine dioxide. Chloramines are weaker disinfectants than chlorine, but are very effective in the distribution system. Chlorine dioxide can be used in the treatment plant, but it is not very effective in the distribution system .

All chemical disinfectants used in drinking water can be expected to form by-products that could affect human health. In general, we know less about the by-products of other disinfectants than about chlorination by-products.

The Risks of Chlorination By-Products

Lab animals exposed to very high levels of THMs have an increased risk of cancer. Several studies on humans have also found a link between long-term exposure to high levels of chlorination by-products and a higher risk of cancer. For instance, a recent study showed an increased risk of bladder and possibly colon cancer in people who drank chlorinated water for 35 years or more.

High levels of THMs may also have an effect on pregnancy. A California study found that pregnant women who drank large amounts of tap water with high THMs had an increased risk of miscarriage. These studies do not prove that there is a link between THMs and cancer or miscarriage. However, they do show the need for further research in this area to confirm potential health effects.

How the Government Protects Your Water Supply

The federal and provincial governments share responsibility for safe drinking water. Provincial governments are generally responsible for the day-to-day provision of drinking water to their constituents. The water they provide must meet their own drinking water requirements, which are based on the Guidelines for Canadian Drinking Water Quality. These guidelines are published by Health Canada and developed in collaboration with all provincial and territorial governments. Health Canada publishes an annual table summary of the guidelines, which is available on its Web Site.

Health Canada has established a guideline for THMs of 0.1 milligrams per litre. The cancer risk at this level over a lifetime is considered extremely low. The guidelines for THMs and other chlorination by-products are currently under review by a task group whose work is coordinated by Health Canada.

Minimizing Your Risk

Drinking water that meets the guidelines does not usually need extra treatment. There is no easy way that you can remove all disinfection by-products, but here are some steps you can take.

  • Activated carbon filters can be used to remove chlorine and its by-products. If you choose to use such a filter, it is essential to follow the manufacturer's instruction.
  • The manufacture and sale of water treatment devices are not regulated in Canada. Health Canada recommends the use of products that are certified to health-based standards. The Standards Council of Canada can provide information on the certification process.

Need More Info?

For more information on drinking water quality issues in Canada, please visit Health Canada's Water Quality Activities.

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Vie saine

Chloration de l'eau potable

Votre santé et vous

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour accéder aux formats de rechange, tels que Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word et PowerPoint (PPT), visitez la section d'aide sur les formats de rechange.

Sur cette page :

Enjeu

Le chlore est un désinfectant qu'on ajoute à l'eau potable pour réduire ou éliminer la présence de microorganismes, tels les bactéries et virus. L'ajout de chlore à l'eau potable a permis de réduire sensiblement les risques de transmission de maladies par l'eau.

Contexte

Depuis plus d'un siècle, la chloration de l'eau a permis d'améliorer sensiblement l'innocuité des réserves canadiennes d'eau potable. La désinfection de l'eau permet d'en éliminer les microorganismes à l'origine de maladies graves ou mortelles, comme le choléra et la fièvre typhoïde. À ce jour, le chlore demeure le désinfectant le plus utilisé pour l'eau potable et celui pour lequel le corpus d'information scientifique est le plus abondant.

L'ajout de chlore s'effectue pendant le traitement de l'eau potable. Toutefois, le chlore réagit également avec les matières organiques d'origine naturelle présentes dans l'eau, telles les feuilles en décomposition. Cette réaction chimique produit une famille de composés appelés sous-produits de la chloration. Ceux qu'on rencontre le plus souvent sont les trihalométhanes (THM), notamment le chloroforme. La concentration de THM dans l'eau potable peut dépendre de plusieurs facteurs, dont la saison et la source de l'eau potable. Par exemple, les concentrations de THM dans l'eau sont généralement moins élevées en hiver qu'en été, parce que les teneurs en matières organiques d'origine naturelle sont plus faibles et qu'il faut moins de chlore pour désinfecter à basse température. L'eau de puits ou l'eau provenant d'un grand important contient de faibles concentrations de THM, tandis que l'eau des rivières et les eaux de surface présentent des concentrations plus élevées, car elles contiennent géné ralement plus de matières organiques.

Les bienfaits du chlore

Les données scientifiques montrent que les avantages de la chloration de l'eau potable (réduction des maladies) surpassent les risques sanitaires que peuvent poser les THM et autres sous-produits. Bien qu'il existe d'autres désinfectants, les spécialistes continuent de privilégier le chlore. Utilisé de concert avec des méthodes modernes de filtration de l'eau, le chlore est efficace contre presque tous les microorganismes. Il est facile à utiliser et de faibles quantités de chlore demeurent dans l'eau jusqu'au robinet du consommateur, ce qui permet d'éviter toute recontamination par les microorganismes entre l'usine de traitement et l'utilisateur.

Solutions de rechange

Plusieurs villes utilisent l'ozone pour désinfecter leur eau, car l'ozonation ne produit pas de THM. Bien que l'ozone soit un désinfectant très efficace, il se décompose rapidement et ne peut assurer une désinfection continue du réseau de distribution. Il faut donc quand même ajouter de petites quantités de chlore ou d'autres désinfectants à l'eau. Il peut s'avérer coûteux de modifier les usines de traitement actuelles pour permettre l'utilisation de l'ozone.

D'autres désinfectants peuvent être utilisés, notamment les chloramines et le dioxyde de chlore. Les chloramines agissent moins bien que le chlore, mais sont très efficaces dans les réseaux de distribution. Le dioxyde de chlore peut être utilisé dans les usines de traitement, mais est peu efficace dans les réseaux de distribution

Tous les désinfectants chimiques utilisés dans l'eau potable peuvent former des sous-produits susceptibles d'affecter la santé humaine. En général, nous disposons de moins de données sur les sous-produits des autres désinfectants que sur ceux de la chloration.

Les risques posés par les sous-produits de la chloration

Les animaux de laboratoire exposés à des concentrations très élevées de THM présentent un risque accru de cancer. Plusieurs études chez l'humain ont également révélé un lien entre l'exposition prolongée à des concentrations élevées de sous-produits de la chloration et une incidence accrue de cancer. Par exemple, une étude récente a mis en lumière une augmentation du risque de cancer de la vessie et peut-être du côlon chez les sujets ayant consommé de l'eau chlorée pendant trente-cinq ans ou plus.

Les concentrations élevées de THM peuvent également avoir un effet sur la grossesse. Dans une étude réalisée en Californie, on a observé un risque accru d'avortement spontané chez les femmes enceintes qui buvaient de grandes quantités d'eau de robinet à forte teneur en THM. Ces études ne prouvent pas l'existence d'un lien entre les THM et le cancer ou les avortements spontanés. Elles soulignent cependant l'importance de poursuivre les recherches afin de confirmer les effets possibles sur la santé.

Ce que fait le gouvernement pour protéger les réserves d'eau

La salubrité de l'eau potable relève tant du gouvernement fédéral que des gouvernements provinciaux. En règle générale, les gouvernements provinciaux sont responsables d'approvisionner la population en eau potable. Ils établissent leurs propres normes de qualité en fonction des Recommandations pour la qualité de l'eau potable au Canada. Ces recommandations, publiées par Santé Canada, sont élaborées en collaboration avec tous les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux. Santé Canada publie chaque année un résumé des recommandations que l'on peut consulter sur son site Web.

Santé Canada recommande un maximum de 0,1 milligramme de THM par litre d'eau. Le risque de contracter le cancer, à cette valeur, est extrêmement faible. Un groupe de travail dirigé par Santé Canada examine présentement les recommandations pour les THM et autres sous-produits de la chloration.

Minimiser vos risques

L'eau potable qui satisfait aux normes de qualité ne requiert généralement aucun traitement additionnel. Il n'existe pas de méthode simple pour éliminer tous les sous-produits de la désinfection, mais vous pouvez prendre les mesures suivantes :

  • Les filtres à charbon actif aident à éliminer le chlore et ses sous-produits. Si vous optez pour de tels filtres, assurez-vous de suivre les consignes du fabricant.
  • La fabrication et la vente de dispositifs de traitement de l'eau ne sont pas réglementées au Canada. Santé Canada préconise l'utilisation de produits certifiés. Le Conseil des normes du Canada peut fournir de l'information sur le processus de certification.

Besoin d'autres renseignements?

Pour plus de renseignements sur les questions entourant la qualité de l'eau au Canada, veuillez consulter la qualité de l'eau de Santé Canada.