Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Healthy Living

Extreme cold

Help on accessing alternative formats, such as Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word and PowerPoint (PPT) files, can be obtained in the alternate format help section.

It's Your Health

On this page:

The issue

Canada has one of the most severe Next link will take you to another Web site winter climates of any country in the world. Canadians across the country may face severe cold weather conditions that can affect their health. However, being active and enjoying winter activities and sports is a great way to stay healthy. Learn how to adjust to cold conditions so you can enjoy the winter weather.

About extreme cold

Extreme cold is measured differently in different parts of the country. Whenever temperatures drop dramatically below normal, staying warm and safe can become challenging. In general, your risk of health effects like windburn and frostbite increase at Next link will take you to another Web site wind chill values below -27.

The wind can make cold temperatures feel even colder. The Next link will take you to another Web site wind chill index measures what the temperature feels like on exposed skin based on the speed of the wind. A Next link will take you to another Web site wind chill can cause your body to lose heat faster and your skin to freeze very quickly. Wind chills below -70 have been recorded in some northern Canadian communities.

Who is at risk?

While anyone who isn't dressed warmly is at risk in cold weather conditions, some are at greater risk than others for frost bite and hypothermia:

  • homeless people
  • outdoor workers
  • people living in homes that are poorly insulated (with no heat or no power)
  • people with certain medical conditions such as diabetes, peripheral neuropathy, and diseases affecting the blood vessels
  • people taking certain medications including beta-blockers
  • winter sport enthusiasts
  • infants (under 1 year)
  • seniors (65 years or older)

Health risks of extreme cold

A normal body temperature is approximately 37ºC (99ºF). When your core body temperature drops by 1 or 2ºC (1.8 or 3.6ºF), or your body is exposed to severe cold it increases your risk of harmful effects.

What is Windburn

Windburn occurs when cold wind removes the top layer of oil from the skin causing:

  • excessive dryness
  • redness
  • soreness
  • itchiness

Although windburn is different than sunburn, people often confuse the two because the symptoms are similar.

What is Frostbite

When the temperature drops below 0ºC (32ºF), blood vessels close to the skin constrict to protect the core body temperature. When your body is exposed to the cold for a long period of time, blood flow to your hands, feet, nose, and ears can be severely restricted. The combination of poor circulation and extreme cold can lead to frostbite.

Next link will take you to another Web site Frostbite generally occurs in body parts furthest from the heart:

  • hands
  • feet
  • nose
  • ears

Mild frostbite (frostnip) makes your skin look yellowish or white but it is still soft to the touch. Your skin might turn red during the warming process, but normal colour returns once the area is warmed.

Severe frostbite can cause permanent damage to body tissue if it is not treated immediately. Nerve damage occurs and frostbitten skin becomes discoloured and turns black. After some time, nerve damage becomes so severe that you will lose feeling in the affected area and blisters will occur. If the skin is broken and becomes infected, gangrene can set in which can result in loss of limbs.

What is Hypothermia

There are three stages of hypothermia:

  • Stage 1 - When your body temperature drops by 1 or 2ºC (1.8 or 3.6ºF), you start shivering, get goose bumps on your skin, and your hands become numb. Your breath can become quick and shallow, and you may feel tired and/or sick to your stomach. You may also experience a warm sensation, which means your body is entering stage 2 of hypothermia.
  • Stage 2 - Your body temperature has dropped by 2 - 4ºC (3.8 - 7.6ºF) and your shivering is strong. Muscles are uncoordinated and movements are slow and laboured. You may suffer mild confusion, become pale, and your lips, ears, fingers, and toes may turn blue.

    Here's an easy test to check if you have stage 2 hypothermia:
    Try touching your thumb to your little finger. If you can't, your muscles are not working properly and you're experiencing stage 2 hypothermia.
  • Stage 3 - If your body temperature drops below 32ºC (89.6ºF), the shivering will stop but you'll have trouble speaking, thinking, and walking. You may even develop amnesia. When your body temperature drops below 30ºC (86.0ºF), exposed skin becomes blue and puffy, it will be hard to move your muscles and your behaviour becomes irrational. Your heart may be beating quickly but your pulse and breathing will decrease. At this stage you are at risk of dying.

Treatments for extreme cold conditions

Windburn

Do not scratch or rub the affected area--it can damage the skin.

  • Apply a protective skin care product (e.g. therapeutic moisturizers) to the affected area(s) as needed to help relieve the symptoms of windburn.
  • Use a protective lip balm to treat lips.

Frostbite

Mild frostbite (frostnip) can be treated in two ways:

  • Passive warming - move to a warm room, wrap yourself in blankets or reheat your body by skin-to-skin contact with another person.
  • Active warming - this can be done along with passive warming. Add heat directly to the frostbitten area. The idea is to thaw the injured skin as quickly as possible without burning yourself. Thawing frostbitten skin is very painful so the injured skin should be placed in water that is just above body temperature. Do not rub, massage or shake the injured skin because that can cause more damage.

Severe frostbite requires immediate medical attention. While you are waiting for help to arrive begin treating it with passive and active warming.

Hypothermia

Severe cases of hypothermia (such as stages 2 and 3) require immediate medical attention. Call 9-1-1 or your local emergency number.

The following treatment options should be followed for stage 1 hypothermia, or while waiting for help to arrive for more severe hypothermia:

  • find shelter
  • keep your muscles moving
  • dry and (gradually) warm your body
  • wrap yourself in blankets/dry clothing or reheat your body by skin-to-skin contact with another person
  • drink warm, sweet liquids
  • don't fight shivering, this is one of the ways your body increases its core temperature
  • if the person is unconscious lay them down and avoid shaking them or handling them roughly as they may have an arrhythmia (irregular heart beat)

Reduce your risk

Protect yourself from extreme cold conditions by following these tips:

Wear appropriate clothing

  • Always wear clothing appropriate for the weather. Synthetic and wool fabrics provide better insulation. Some synthetic fabrics are designed to keep perspiration away from your body which keep you dry and further reduce your risk.
  • Dress in layers with a wind resistant outer layer. You can remove layers if you get too warm (before you start sweating) or add a layer if you get cold.
  • Wear warm socks, gloves, a hat and scarf in cold weather. Be sure to put a scarf over your nose to protect it.
  • If you get wet, change into dry clothing as soon as possible. You lose heat faster when you're wet.

Protect yourself

  • On sunny days wear sun glasses, lip balm and sunscreen to protect your skin from UV rays and keep it moisturized to help prevent windburn.
  • Wear a face mask and goggles if you are participating in winter activities such as skiing, snowmobiling and skating to protect your face from frostbite and windburn.
  • Keep moving (especially your hands and feet) to keep your blood flowing and maintain your body heat.

Know the weather conditions

  • Pay attention to weather alerts in your area. Special weather statements and warnings are issued when extreme weather is possible in your area.
  • Environment Canada issues wind chill alerts to warn you of conditions that will cause frostbite to exposed skin.

Find shelter and keep moving

  • If you are caught in a severe snowstorm, or outside in extreme cold conditions, look for shelter. If there are no buildings around, a small cave, ditch, hollow tree or a vehicle can help reduce your chances of frostbite or hypothermia.
  • Even if you find shelter, keep moving to maintain your body heat.

Winterize your home

  • Prepare your home for cold winter temperatures by doing regular maintenance. Make sure your heating system is working efficiently and seal all cracks and drafts to Next link will take you to another Web site keep the heat in.

Avoid alcohol

  • Consuming alcohol before you go out in the cold may increase your risk of hypothermia because it increases blood flow to the extremities of the body. You may actually feel warm even though you are losing heat.

Know your health risks

  • Talk to your health care professional to see if you are at an increased risk from extreme cold due to a medical condition.
  • If you have health problems such as a heart condition you may wish to avoid strenuous activities like shovelling snow.

Government of Canada's role

Health Canada and the Next link will take you to another Web site Public Health Agency of Canada are committed to maintaining and improving the health of Canadians. They are working with their partners to better understand the impacts of extreme cold on the health of Canadians, particularly those at greatest risk, and to promote efforts to reduce these risks.

Next link will take you to another Web site Environment Canada's Meteorological Service gives Canadians as much advance notice as possible about potentially hazardous weather and provides tips on how to report and prepare for it. By issuing warnings, watches, and special statements, the Next link will take you to another Web site Public Alerting Program helps people take steps to protect themselves and their property from harm. In addition to public alerts, Environment Canada issues special mariner alerts to warn mariners when hazardous marine weather, ice conditions or icebergs could threaten their safety.

For more information

For more information on winter weather and what you can do to protect yourself from extreme cold, visit the following websites:

For industry and professionals

Related resources

You can also call toll free at 1-866-225-0709 or TTY at 1-800-465-7735*

Original: January 2013
ęHer Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, represented by the Minister of Health, 2013

Catalogue # H13-7/129-2013E-PDF
ISBN # 978-1-100-21728-4

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Vie saine

Froid extrême

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour accéder aux formats de rechange, tels que Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word et PowerPoint (PPT), visitez la section d'aide sur les formats de rechange.

Votre santé et vous

Sur cette page :

Enjeu

Le Canada est l'un des pays connaissant les Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web conditions hivernales les plus rudes. Partout au pays, des épisodes de très grand froid peuvent nuire à la santé des Canadiens. Cependant, la pratique d'activités et de sports d'hiver constitue un bon moyen de rester en santé. Il importe de savoir comment vous adapter au froid afin de profiter de l'hiver.

Le froid extrême

Le froid extrême est mesuré différemment selon la région. Lors de chutes de la température en-deçà de la normale, il peut être difficile de vous tenir au chaud et en sécurité. En général, le risque d'effets sur votre santé, notamment de brûlures dues au vent et de gelures, est plus élevé lorsque Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web l'indice de refroidissement éolien est inférieur à -27.

Le vent peut accentuer la sensation de froid que vous ressentez. Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web L'indice de refroidissement éolien sert à mesurer le degré de refroidissement ressenti par la peau exposée selon la vitesse du vent. Le Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web refroidissement éolien peut accélérer la perte de chaleur corporelle et faire geler la peau très rapidement. Des indices de refroidissement éolien inférieurs à -70 ont été relevés dans certaines régions du Nord canadien.

Quelles sont les personnes vulnérables?

Si le froid menace quiconque n'est pas habillé chaudement, certaines personnes risquent davantage de souffrir de gelures et d'hypothermie :

  • les sans-abri
  • les travailleurs en extérieur
  • les personnes habitant des maisons mal isolées (sans chauffage ou sans électricité)
  • les personnes atteintes de certains problèmes médicaux comme le diabète, les neuropathies périphériques et les affections des vaisseaux sanguins
  • les personnes prenant certains médicaments, notamment des bêta-bloquants
  • les amateurs de sports d'hiver
  • les nourrissons (moins d'un an)
  • les personnes âgées (65 ans ou plus)

Risques pour la santé associés au froid extrême

La température normale du corps est d'environ 37 ºC (99 ºF). Une baisse de 1 ou 2 ºC (1,8 ou 3,6 ºF) de la température centrale ou l'exposition du corps à un froid intense augmentent le risque d'effets néfastes.

Brûlure due au vent

Une brûlure due au vent se produit lorsqu'un froid intense retire la couche d'huile recouvrant la peau, ce qui cause :

  • assèchement  excessif
  • rougeur
  • douleur
  • démangeaisons

Ce type de brûlure est différent du coup de soleil, mais on les confond souvent en raison de la similarité de leurs symptômes.

Gelure

À des températures inférieures à 0 ºC (32 ºF), les vaisseaux sanguins situés juste sous la peau se contractent pour maintenir la température centrale. Une exposition prolongée au froid peut entraver la circulation sanguine vers les mains, les pieds, le nez et les oreilles. L'effet combiné d'une mauvaise circulation et d'un froid intense peut entraîner une gelure.

Les Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web gelures touchent généralement les parties du corps les plus éloignées du cœur :

  • mains
  • pieds
  • nez
  • oreilles

Dans le cas d'une gelure superficielle, la peau prend une teinte jaunâtre ou blanchâtre, mais demeure souple au toucher. Elle peut rougir pendant qu'elle se réchauffe, mais reprend par la suite sa couleur normale.

Une gelure profonde peut causer des dommages permanents aux tissus corporels à moins d'être traitée immédiatement. Elle se caractérise par une lésion nerveuse ainsi qu'une décoloration de la peau, qui devient noire. Après un certain temps, la lésion nerveuse s'aggrave à un point tel que vous perdez toute sensation dans la zone atteinte et que des cloques apparaissent. Si une plaie se forme et s'infecte, la gangrène peut s'installer, ce qui pourrait nécessiter l'amputation de l'extrémité.

Hypothermie

L'hypothermie comporte trois stades :

  • Stade 1 - Lorsque votre température centrale tombe de 1 ou de 2 ºC (1,8 ou 3,6 ºF), vous commencez à frissonner, vous avez la chair de poule, et vos mains s'engourdissent. Votre respiration peut s'accélérer et devenir superficielle, et vous pouvez vous sentir fatigué ou avoir un mal d'estomac. Vous pouvez également ressentir une sensation de chaleur, ce qui caractérise le début du deuxième stade d'hypothermie.
  • Stade 2 - Votre température centrale a chuté de 2 à 4 ºC (3,8 à 7,6 ºF) et vous frissonnez intensément. Vous manquez de coordination musculaire, et vos mouvements sont lents et laborieux. Vous pouvez être légèrement confus, devenir pâle et avoir les lèvres, les oreilles, les doigts et les orteils bleus.

    Voici un petit truc pour savoir si vous souffrez d'une hypothermie modérée (stade 2) :
    Essayez de rejoindre votre petit doigt avec votre pouce. Si vous n'y arrivez pas, cela indique que vos muscles ne fonctionnent pas bien et que vous souffrez d'une hypothermie modérée.
  • Stade 3 - Si votre température centrale est de moins de 32  ºC (89,6 ºF), les frissons s'arrêteront, mais vous aurez de la difficulté à parler et à marcher et vous serez confus. Vous pourriez même souffrir d'amnésie. Lorsque votre température centrale  tombe en deçà de 30 ºC (86,0 ºF), votre peau, si elle est exposée, devient bleue et boursoufflée, vos muscles fonctionnent mal, et votre comportement devient irrationnel. Votre cœur pourrait se mettre à batte rapidement, mais votre pouls et votre respiration ralentiront. À ce stade, vous risquez de mourir.

Traitement des troubles dus au froid extrême

Brûlure due au vent

Ne grattez pas ni ne frottez la zone atteinte - cela pourrait endommager la peau.

  • Appliquez, au besoin, une crème protectrice pour la peau (hydratant thérapeutique) sur la zone atteinte pour apaiser les symptômes de la brûlure due au vent.
  • Utilisez un baume protecteur pour soigner vos lèvres.

Gelure

Une gelure superficielle se traite de deux façons :

  • Réchauffement passif - Rendez-vous dans un endroit où il fait chaud, enveloppez-vous dans des couvertures ou réchauffez-vous par un contact peau à peau avec une autre personne.
  • Réchauffement actif - En combinaison avec le réchauffement passif, vous pouvez appliquer de la chaleur directement sur la zone atteinte. Il s'agit de dégeler la peau le plus rapidement possible sans vous brûler. Vous ressentirez une vive douleur, donc immergez la peau gelée dans de l'eau dont la température est à peine au-dessus de celle du corps.  Évitez de frotter, de masser ou de secouer la peau blessée, ce qui risque de l'endommager davantage.

Une gelure profonde nécessite des soins médicaux immédiats. Pendant que vous attendez l'arrivée des secours, commencez à traiter la gelure par un réchauffement passif et actif.

Hypothermie

Les cas d'hypothermie grave (stades 2 et 3) nécessitent des soins médicaux immédiats. Composez le 9-1-1 ou le numéro des services d'urgence de votre région.

Dans le cas d'une hypothermie légère (stade 1) ou jusqu'à l'arrivée des secours dans le cas d'une hypothermie plus grave, vous pouvez prendre les mesures suivantes :

  • trouvez un abri
  • continuez à bouger
  • séchez et réchauffez (graduellement) votre corps
  • enveloppez-vous dans des couvertures ou des vêtements secs ou réchauffez-vous par un contact peau à peau avec une autre personne
  • prenez des boissons chaudes sucrées
  • ne luttez pas contre les frissons - c'est l'un des mécanismes par lesquels le corps augmente sa température centrale
  • si la personne est inconsciente, il faut la coucher et éviter de la secouer ou de la déplacer brusquement, car il se peut qu'elle souffre d'arythmie (fréquence cardiaque irrégulière)

Réduire les risques

Protégez-vous contre le froid extrême en suivant ces conseils :

Portez des vêtements appropriés

  • Portez toujours des vêtements adaptés au temps qu'il fait. Les tissus synthétiques et de laine isolent mieux. Certains tissus synthétiques sont conçus pour chasser la transpiration du corps, ce qui vous garde au sec et réduit davantage  les risques.
  • Habillez-vous de plusieurs couches de vêtements, dont une couche extérieure étanche au vent. Vous pouvez toujours retirer ou ajouter une couche selon que vous avez trop chaud (avant de commencer à transpirer) ou que vous avez froid.
  • Portez des chaussettes chaudes, des gants, un chapeau et un foulard par temps froid. N'oubliez pas de vous protéger le nez avec un foulard.
  • Si vous êtes mouillé, changez-vous aussitôt que possible, car vous perdez rapidement de la chaleur.

Protégez-vous

  • Par temps ensoleillé, portez des lunettes de soleil et appliquez un baume pour les lèvres et un écran solaire pour protéger votre peau des rayons UV et prévenir les brûlures dues au vent grâce à une bonne hydratation.
  • Portez un masque et des lunettes protectrices si vous pratiquez une activité hivernale comme le ski, la motoneige ou le patin, afin de protéger votre visage des gelures et des brûlures dues au vent.
  • Continuez à bouger (en remuant surtout les mains et les pieds) pour faire circuler le sang et conserver votre chaleur corporelle.

Informez-vous des conditions météorologiques

  • Surveillez les alertes météo dans votre région. Des bulletins et des avertissements spéciaux sont émis lorsque votre région risque de connaître des conditions météorologiques extrêmes.
  • Environnement Canada émet des avertissements de refroidissement éolien pour vous prévenir des conditions qui causeront une gelure si la peau est exposée.

Trouvez un abri et continuez à bouger

  • Si vous êtes pris dans une violente tempête de neige ou dehors par un très grand froid, trouvez un abri. S'il n'y a aucun bâtiment à proximité, vous pouvez vous réfugier dans une petite caverne, un fossé, un arbre creux ou un véhicule afin de réduire le risque de gelure ou d'hypothermie.
  • Même si vous trouvez un abri, continuez à bouger pour conserver votre chaleur corporelle.

Aménagez votre domicile pour l'hiver

  • Effectuez des travaux d'entretien réguliers afin de préparer la maison pour l'hiver. Assurez-vous que votre appareil de chauffage fonctionne bien et colmatez les brèches pour Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web emprisonner la chaleur.

Évitez l'alcool

  • Consommer de l'alcool avant de sortir par temps froid peut accroître le risque d'hypothermie en augmentant la circulation sanguine vers les extrémités du corps. Vous pourriez avoir l'impression d'avoir chaud même si vous perdez de la chaleur.

Informez-vous des risques pour la santé

  • Consultez  un professionnel de la santé pour savoir si le froid extrême est plus dangereux pour vous en raison d'un problème de santé.
  • Si vous souffrez d'un problème de santé comme une maladie du cœur, il vaut mieux éviter les tâches ardues comme pelleter la neige.

Rôle du gouvernement du Canada

Santé Canada et Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web l'Agence de la santé publique du Canada s'emploient à maintenir et à améliorer la santé des Canadiens. Ils collaborent avec leurs partenaires pour mieux comprendre les répercussions du froid extrême sur la santé des Canadiens, particulièrement sur les personnes plus vulnérables, et pour trouver des moyens d'atténuer ces risques.

Le Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web Service météorologique d'Environnement Canada avertit le plus rapidement possible les Canadiens des conditions météorologiques potentiellement dangereuses et il les conseille sur la façon de les signaler et de s'y préparer. Le Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web Programme d'alertes à la population émet des avertissements, des avis de veille et des bulletins spéciaux pour aider les gens à se protéger et à protéger leurs biens. Par ailleurs, Environnement Canada diffuse des alertes spéciales à l'intention des marins pour les prévenir des phénomènes météorologiques, des conditions de glace et des icebergs qui pourraient menacer leur sécurité.

Pour en savoir plus

Pour en savoir plus sur les conditions hivernales et les moyens de vous protéger du froid extrême, consultez les sites Web suivants :

Pour l'industrie et les professionnels

Ressources connexes

Vous pouvez également composer sans frais le 1-866-225-0709 ou le 1-800-465-7735* pour les malentendants.

Original : janvier 2013
©Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, représentée par la ministre de la Santé, 2013

Catalogue # H13-7/129-2013F-PDF
ISBN # 978-0-662-77558-4