Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Help the Government of Canada organize its website! Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.
Healthy Living

Food Allergies

It's Your Health

Help on accessing alternative formats, such as Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word and PowerPoint (PPT) files, can be obtained in the alternate format help section.

On this page:

The Issue

Food allergies among Canadians have received a great deal of media attention lately. Most allergic reactions to food are caused by nine categories of foods. Even trace amounts of those foods can cause a severe or life-threatening reaction in some people.

Background

In Canada, there are nine priority food allergens (substances which causes allergies):

  • peanuts
  • tree nuts (almonds, Brazil nuts, cashews, hazelnuts [filberts], macadamia nuts, pecans, pine nuts [pignolias], pistachio nuts, and walnuts)
  • sesame seeds
  • milk
  • eggs
  • fish (including shellfish and crustaceans)
  • soy
  • wheat
  • sulphites

Reactions to these allergens among allergic individuals range from mild to severe. Trace amounts of these foods can potentially be found in a wide range of food products including snack foods, health foods, baked goods, seasonings, and many other foods.

Health Risks of Food Allergens

Allergic reactions happen when the body's immune system reacts to a particular protein or irritant. The reaction may be caused by food, insect stings, and medications.

When someone comes in contact with an allergen, symptoms may develop quickly and have the potential to progress rapidly from a mild reaction to a severe one. The most dangerous of these symptoms include breathing difficulties, a drop in blood pressure, or shock, which may result in loss of consciousness and even death. Severe allergic reactions can occur quickly and without warning. A person experiencing an allergic reaction may have any of the following symptoms:

  • Trouble breathing, speaking, or swallowing
  • A drop in blood pressure, rapid heart beat, and/or loss of consciousness
  • Flushed face, hives or a rash, or red and itchy skin
  • Swelling of the eyes, face, lips, throat, and tongue
  • Anxiousness, distress, faintness, paleness, sense of doom, and/or weakness
  • Cramps, diarrhea, and/or vomiting

There is currently no cure for any food allergy. The only way to prevent a reaction is to totally avoid the specific food. Should a severe reaction occur, the appropriate emergency treatment is an injection of epinephrine (adrenaline). People with known food allergies should carry an auto-injector of epinephrine, which allows them to give themselves an injection of adrenaline.

Adrenaline should be administered as soon as the symptoms of a severe allergic reaction appear. This should be followed up with further treatment and observation in a hospital emergency room.

Severe allergic reactions are not predictable. You may have a mild reaction one time and a severe one the next time, or vice versa.

Minimizing Your Risk

  • Know what foods or other factors trigger a reaction and avoid them. When eating out or in a restaurant, tell your host/server about your food allergy, and ask specific questions about the food to be served. Even if a dish does not contain the food you are allergic to, it still might have been in contact with it through utensils and cooking pans. When in doubt, don't eat it.
  • To avoid foods to which you are allergic, learn to read the nutritional/ingredient labels and precautionary labels on foods to prevent contact with even trace amounts of foods you are allergic to. Call food manufacturers if you have doubts about a particular food. Be very careful about bulk foods that may not carry a label or that have cross-contamination.
  • If you know you react to a food allergen, always carry an epinephrine auto-injector with you, and know how to use it. If it is your child who is affected, teach them how to use it, and stress the importance of always having it with them. At the cottage or on a trip, be sure to keep one or more epinephrine auto-injectors on hand.
  • Use the epinephrine auto-injector at the earliest sign of a reaction. Practice using the epinephrine auto-injector every few months, and train other family members as well.
  • Always wear a MedicAlert identifier so that, in case of an accident, others know about your allergies and reactions.
  • Children who are subject to severe reactions should be trained to read labels and ask questions before eating foods. Allergy groups such as Anaphylaxis Canada, Allergy Asthma Information Association (AAIA), or Association Québécoise des Allergies alimentaires (AQAA) can help you train and reassure your child. Contact them through their website or at an address given in the Need More Info? Section.
  • If you or your child is having a serious allergic reaction, go to your nearest Emergency Department, or dial 911 for instructions.

Government of Canada's Role

The Government of Canada is committed to providing safe food to all Canadians.

Health Canada is responsible for administering the Food and Drugs Act. Health Canada works with the Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA) and the medical community to identify foods most commonly involved in allergic reactions.

The CFIA also enforces Canada's labelling laws and works with associations, distributors, retailers, food manufacturers, and importers to ensure complete and appropriate labelling of all foods. It recommends that food companies establish effective allergen controls to minimize the potential for allergic reactions.

The Food and Drug Regulations require that pre-packaged food be labelled and that ingredients appear in a list in decreasing order of proportion. However, these regulations do not currently require components (i.e. ingredients of ingredients) of certain foods and products, such as flavouring, seasoning, spices and vinegar, to be listed on food labels.

Health Canada is working to amend the Food and Drug Regulations to require that the most common foods and food ingredients, which have the potential to cause life-threatening or severe allergic reactions, be labelled when intentionally added to food. These changes would also require that the most common of these foods and food ingredients be always identified by their common names, which consumers can easily recognize on food labels.

Need More Info?

Some of the hyperlinks provided are to sites of organizations or other entities that are not subject to the Next link will take you to another Web site Official Languages Act. The material found there is therefore in the language(s) used by the sites in question.

For additional information on food allergens, go to:

For more information on severe allergic reactions, consult your doctor or go to:

Health Canada, It's Your Health, Severe Allergic Reactions

For additional articles on health and safety issues go to the It's Your Health Web section
You can also call toll free at 1-866-225-0709 or TTY at 1-800-465-7735*.

Original: June 2009
©Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, represented by the Minister of Health, 2009

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Vie saine

Allergies alimentaires

Votre santé et vous

Sur cette page :

Enjeu

Les allergies alimentaires suscitent l'attention des médias depuis quelque temps. La plupart des réactions allergiques sont dues à neuf catégories d'aliments. Même des quantités infimes de ces aliments peuvent entraîner de graves réactions, parfois mortelles, chez certaines personnes.

Contexte

Voici les neuf allergènes alimentaires (substances causant des allergies) prioritaires au Canada :

  • arachides
  • amandes, noix du Brésil, noix de cajou, noisettes [avelines], noix macadamia, pacanes, pignons, pistaches et noix
  • graines de sésame
  • lait
  • oeufs
  • poisson (dont les mollusques et crustacés)
  • soja
  • blé
  • sulfites

La réaction allergique peut varier de bénigne à grave. Une vaste gamme de produits alimentaires, comme les grignotines, les aliments santé, les produits de boulangerie, les assaisonnements et bien d'autres aliments, peuvent contenir une infime quantité d'allergènes.

Risques pour la santé liés aux allergènes alimentaires

Une réaction allergique se produit lorsque le système immunitaire réagit à une protéine ou à un irritant. Celle-ci peut être causée par un aliment, une piqûre d'insecte ou un médicament.

Lors de l'exposition à un allergène, les symptômes peuvent se manifester rapidement et leur intensité peut évoluer de légère à grave en peu de temps. Difficulté à respirer, hypotension soudaine ou état de choc (ce qui peut entraîner un évanouissement, voire la mort), comptent parmi les symptômes les plus dangereux. Une réaction allergique grave peut se produire rapidement et sans avertissement. La personne qui a une réaction allergique peut éprouver un ou plusieurs des symptômes suivants :

  • difficulté à respirer, à parler ou à avaler
  • hypotension soudaine, rythme cardiaque accéléré ou évanouissement
  • rougeur du visage, urticaire ou éruption cutanée, rougeur et démangeaison de la peau
  • enflure au niveau des yeux, du visage, des lèvres, de la gorge et de la langue
  • anxiété, détresse, étourdissements, pâleur, sentiment d'alarme ou faiblesse
  • crampes, diarrhée ou vomissements

À l'heure actuelle, il n'existe aucun remède contre les allergies alimentaires. La seule façon de prévenir une réaction est d'éviter complètement l'aliment allergène. En cas de réaction grave, le traitement d'urgence indiqué est une injection d'épinéphrine (adrénaline). Quiconque se sait allergique à certains aliments devrait toujours avoir en sa possession un injecteur d'épinéphrine, ce qui lui permet de s'auto-administrer une injection d'adrénaline.

L'adrénaline doit être administrée dès l'apparition des symptômes de réaction allergique grave. Il faut ensuite recevoir d'autres traitements et demeurer sous observation à l'hôpital.

Les réactions allergiques graves sont imprévisibles, elles peuvent être bénignes une fois et graves la fois suivante, et inversement.

Réduire le risque

  • Sachez quels aliments ou autres facteurs provoquent chez vous une réaction allergique et évitez-les. Lorsque vous allez manger à l'extérieur ou au restaurant, informez votre hôte ou votre serveur de vos allergies et renseignez-vous sur la composition du repas qui vous sera servi. Même si un plat ne contient pas l'aliment auquel vous êtes allergique, les ustensiles ou les articles de cuisine utilisés peuvent avoir été en contact avec l'allergène. En cas de doute, abstenez-vous.
  • Pour éviter les aliments auxquels vous être allergiques, même en très petite quantité, apprenez à lire les étiquettes nutritionnelles, les listes d'ingrédients et les étiquettes préventives. Communiquez avec le fabricant si vous avez des doutes au sujet d'un aliment précis. Faites preuve de prudence lorsqu'il s'agit d'aliments en vrac vendus sans étiquette ou qui peuvent présenter des risques de contamination croisée.
  • Si vous savez qu'un allergène alimentaire peut provoquer chez vous une réaction, ayez toujours avec vous un auto-injecteur contenant de l'épinéphrine et sachez comment l'utiliser. Si votre enfant est allergique, apprenez-lui à s'en servir et insistez sur l'importance de toujours l'avoir à la portée de main. Au chalet ou en voyage, assurez-vous d'avoir un ou plusieurs auto-injecteurs contenant de l'épinéphrine avec vous.
  • Servez-vous de l'auto-injecteur au premier signe de réaction. Initiez-vous périodiquement à son usage et initiez d'autres membres de la famille
  • Portez toujours un bracelet MedicAlert pour que les intervenants soient au courant de vos allergies et réactions en cas d'accident.
  • Si votre enfant est sujet à des réactions allergiques graves, habituez-le à lire les étiquettes et à poser des questions avant de consommer un aliment. Des groupes comme Anaphylaxie Canada, l'Association d'information sur l'allergie et l'asthme ou l'Association québécoise des allergies alimentaires peuvent vous aider à informer et à rassurer votre enfant. Vous pouvez communiquer avec ces organismes en consultant leur site Web respectif ou à l'adresse indiquée dans la section Pour en savoir plus.
  • Si votre enfant ou vous-même avez une réaction allergique grave, rendez-vous au service d'urgence le plus près, ou composez le 911 pour savoir quoi faire.

Rôle du gouvernement du Canada

Le gouvernement du Canada a à coeur d'assurer la salubrité des aliments que consomment les Canadiens.

Santé Canada est responsable de l'application de la Loi sur les aliments et drogues. Le Ministère collabore avec l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments (ACIA) et le milieu médical pour connaître les aliments le plus fréquemment associés à des réactions allergiques.

L'ACIA veille au respect des lois canadiennes sur l'étiquetage et travaille avec les associations, les distributeurs, les vendeurs, les fabricants et les importateurs d'aliments afin de s'assurer que l'étiquette de tous les aliments est complète et adéquate. Elle incite les entreprises alimentaires à adopter des mesures efficaces de contrôle des allergènes afin de réduire le risque de réactions.

Le Règlement sur les aliments et drogues exige que les aliments préemballés portent une étiquette et une liste où les ingrédients apparaissent en ordre décroissant d'importance. Or, le règlement n'exige pas l'étiquetage des sous-ingrédients (ingrédients des ingrédients) de certains aliments et produits, comme les aromatisants, les assaisonnements, les épices et le vinaigre.

Santé Canada s'affaire à modifier le Règlement sur les aliments et drogues pour exiger que les aliments et ingrédients ajoutés intentionnellement et pouvant causer une réaction allergique grave ou potentiellement mortelle soient toujours identifiés sur l'étiquette, et ce, par leur nom usuel que le consommateur pourra facilement reconnaître.

Pour en savoir plus...

Certains hyperliens donnent accès à des sites d'organismes qui ne sont pas assujettis à la  Loi sur les langues officielles. L'information qui s'y trouve est donc dans la langue du site.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les allergènes alimentaires, consultez les sites suivants :

Pour en savoir plus sur les réactions allergiques graves, consultez un médecin ou allez à l'adresse suivante :

Santé Canada, Votre santé et vous - Réactions allergiques sévères

Vous trouverez des articles complémentaires dans le portail Votre santé et vous

Vous pouvez aussi composer le 1-866-225-0709 ou le 1-800-465-7735 (sans frais) pour les malentendants.

Original : juin 2009
©Sa Majesté la Reine du Chef du Canada, représentée par le ministre de la Santé, 2009