Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Healthy Living

The Safety of Bottled Water

It's Your Health

Help on accessing alternative formats, such as Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word and PowerPoint (PPT) files, can be obtained in the alternate format help section.

On this page:

The Issue

There has been an increase in the Canadian consumption of bottled water in recent years. Illness caused by bottled water is very rare in Canada, because the water is treated, disinfected, and monitored to make sure it does not contain harmful microorganisms or chemicals. However, to maintain the safety of bottled water, you must also handle and store it properly.


Bottled water is water sold to consumers in sealed glass or plastic containers. In Canada, bottled water is considered to be a food and is regulated under the Food and Drugs Act. Under the Act and its regulations, all bottled water offered for sale in Canada must be safe for people to drink. In addition, the companies that bottle water must comply with quality standards, good manufacturing practices, and labelling requirements.

Bottled water labelled as "mineral" or "spring" water, is potable water (fit for human consumption) that comes from an underground source. It cannot come from a public water supply. Other types of bottled water may be manufactured from public sources, including tap water and well water. No matter what source it comes from, all bottled water sold in Canada is inspected and treated during the manufacturing process to ensure that it meets Canada's requirements for safety and quality.

Benefits of Bottled Water

The benefits associated with bottled water depend on your personal preferences. Some people choose bottled water because it is handy; they can just grab it and go. It is also a convenient way to store large amounts of water for emergency purposes. (Public Safety Canada recommends storing enough water to supply your family for at least 72 hours as part of your basic emergency kit. This means 2 litres of water per person per day for drinking, plus water for pets. You can also store an additional 2 litres of water per person per day, for cooking and cleaning.)

Others may choose bottled water because they prefer the taste when compared with water from other sources (e.g., tap water, well water). Some people think that bottled water is safer than tap water, but there is no evidence to support this. The quality standards for bottled and municipal waters in Canada are similar. All bottled and municipal waters that meet or exceed the required health and safety standards are considered to be safe.

Risks associated with Bottled Water

Bottled water sold in Canada has generally been found to be of good quality and is not considered to pose any health hazard. To date, there have been no reports of outbreaks of illness related to bottled water in Canada.

Health Canada is aware of reports appearing on the Internet expressing concern that harmful chemicals may leach into the water if plastic water bottles are left in vehicles exposed to summer heat. However, there is no scientific evidence to support such concerns. Studies conducted on plastic water bottles, even under extreme temperatures, have failed to find that chemicals are produced at levels that would pose a health risk to anyone who drinks the water in question.

Some consumers have also expressed concern about the small white particles that often appear in bottled water that has been frozen and then thawed. These particles are minerals that separated from the water when it went through the extreme temperature change. They are not harmful to human health.

However, the safety of bottled water may be adversely affected by improper handling and storage. For example, it is possible for bottled water to become contaminated with bacteria when the mouths and hands of consumers come into contact with the bottle opening. These bacteria could then multiply rapidly, especially if the bottle is not refrigerated. The steps outlined below can help minimize risks related to buying, handling, and storing bottled water.

Minimizing Your Risk

When buying bottled water

  • Examine the inside and outside of the bottle before you buy it. Avoid bottles that have a broken seal, and report any tampering to the store manager and health officials. Also, make sure the water is clear and has no material floating in it.
  • Check the label for the "best-before" date. Most Canadian manufacturers of bottled water indicate that the product has a shelf-life of one to two years.

Handling / using bottled water

  • Do not share bottles (i.e., do not have more than one person drink directly from the bottle), as this may introduce bacteria into the water. Pour the water into clean cups or glasses, if more than one person is using the bottle.
  • Refrigerate the bottle after you open it (or right after you buy it, if possible). Like other foods, bottled water contains low numbers of harmless bacteria. However, these bacteria can multiply rapidly at room temperature. Refrigerating the bottle helps to maintain low levels of bacteria.
  • Always practice good hygiene. Wash your hands frequently with soap and warm water, especially after bathroom breaks or after handling animals. This will help prevent the contamination of foods, including bottled water.
  • Keep in mind that the plastic containers holding single-serve bottled water were designed to be used only once. Avoid refilling them. Where possible, recycle these bottles.

Storing bottled water (unopened)

  • It is best to refrigerate bottled water, but if this is not possible, store it in a cool, clean, dark place, such as the basement. Keep it away from heat and sunlight. Also, keep it away from any household solvents (e.g., paint-thinners, cleaners, etc.) Over time, solvents can get into the air and then leach through the plastic bottle into the water.
  • When storing large amounts of water for emergency purposes, be sure to rotate or replace the inventory to ensure that no bottle is stored beyond its "best-before" date.

The Government's Role

Health Canada sets policies and standards governing the safety and quality of all food sold in Canada. As part of this role, Health Canada works with other government agencies and the Canadian Bottled Water Association to ensure that bottled water sold to Canadian consumers is safe to drink and of high quality. Health Canada also reviews the safety of materials used in food packaging, including the plastic used as containers for bottled water sold in Canada.

The Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA) enforces the policies and standards set by Health Canada and ensures that necessary warnings are released quickly to the Canadian public.

Need More Info?

See the following:

Questions and Answers on Bottled Water (Health Canada)
In addition to giving safety tips, this article defines different types of bottled waters and explains the purpose of different treatments systems for bottled water. It also goes into detail about the safety of water coolers.

Next link will take you to another Web site Food Safety Facts on Bottled Water (Canadian Food Inspection Agency)

Next link will take you to another Web site Canadian Bottled Water Association

For information about the safety of drinking water (i.e., tap water), go to Health Canada's Water Quality Web section

For additional articles on health and safety issues go to the It's Your Health Web section, at:
You can also call toll free at 1-866-225-0709 or TTY at 1-800-465-7735*

Original: April 2009
ęHer Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, represented by the Minister of Health, 2009

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Vie saine

Innocuité de l'eau embouteillée

Votre santé et vous

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour accéder aux formats de rechange, tels que Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word et PowerPoint (PPT), visitez la section d'aide sur les formats de rechange.

Sur cette page :

Enjeu

L'eau embouteillée gagne en popularité depuis quelques années au Canada. Les maladies causées par l'eau embouteillée sont très rares au pays, car l'eau est traitée, désinfectée et fait l'objet d'un suivi pour s'assurer qu'elle ne contient ni microorganismes ni produits chimiques nocifs. L'eau embouteillée doit être manipulée et entreposée adéquatement pour en assurer l'innocuité.

Contexte

L'eau embouteillée se vend en contenants scellés de verre ou de plastique. Considéré comme un aliment au Canada, l'eau embouteillée est assujettie à la Loi sur les aliments et drogues. En vertu de la Loi et de son règlement, toute eau embouteillée qui se vend au Canada doit être sans danger pour l'humain. L'embouteilleur doit se conformer aux normes de qualités, adopter de bonnes pratiques de production et respecter les exigences d'étiquetage.

L'eau minérale ou de source est une eau potable (propre à la consommation humaine) provenant d'une source souterraine. Elle ne peut provenir d'un service public. D'autres types d'eau embouteillée peuvent provenir des réseaux publics, y compris l'eau du robinet et l'eau de puits. Peu importe la source, toute eau embouteillée qui se vend au Canada est inspectée et traitée en cours de production afin d'assurer qu'elle est conforme aux exigences d'innocuité et de qualité.

Avantages de l'eau embouteillée

Les avantages de l'eau embouteillée dépendent de vos préférences personnelles. Certains choisissent l'eau embouteillée parce qu'elle est pratique ; il suffit de prendre la bouteille et de la payer. C'est aussi un moyen pratique de faire des réserves en cas d'urgence. (Sécurité publique Canada recommande d'inclure à votre trousse d'urgence une quantité d'eau suffisante pour subvenir au besoin de la famille pendant au moins 72 heures, soit deux litres d'eau par personne par jour, plus la quantité nécessaire pour vos animaux domestiques. Vous pouvez aussi prévoir deux litres supplémentaires par personne par jour, pour la cuisine et le nettoyage.)

Certains préfèrent le goût de l'eau embouteillée à celui de l'eau provenant d'autres sources (robinet, eau de puits). Certains estiment que l'eau embouteillée est plus sûre que l'eau du robinet, mais aucune preuve ne corrobore cette croyance. Au Canada, les normes de qualité qui s'appliquent à l'eau embouteillée et à l'eau municipale sont similaires. Toute eau embouteillée ou municipale qui satisfait aux normes de santé et de sécurité obligatoires ou les excèdent est considérée comme sûre.

Risques associés à l'eau embouteillée

En général, l'eau embouteillée qui se vend au Canada est jugée de bonne qualité et n'est pas considérée comme présentant un quelconque danger pour la santé. À ce jour, aucun cas de maladies liées à la consommation d'eau embouteillée n'a été signalé au Canada.

Santé Canada est au courant des rapports publiés sur Internet à l'effet que des produits chimiques dangereux peuvent se dissoudre dans l'eau si la bouteille de plastique est laissée dans un véhicule par temps chaud. Toutefois, aucune preuve scientifique ne corrobore cette allégation. Des tests réalisés sur des bouteilles d'eau en plastique indiquent que la quantité de substances chimiques produite, même à des températures extrêmes, ne pose pas de risque pour la santé.

Certains s'inquiètent des petites particules blanches qu'on voit souvent dans l'eau embouteillée qu'on a congelée puis décongelée. Il s'agit de minéraux qui se sont séparé de l'eau à la suite d'un changement de température extrême. Ils sont sans danger pour l'humain.

Toutefois, si l'eau embouteillée est manipulée ou entreposée de façon inadéquate, elle peut poser un risque. Il se peut, par exemple, que l'eau embouteillée soit contaminée par des bactéries lorsque le goulot entre en contact avec la bouche ou les mains. Ces bactéries peuvent proliférer, surtout si la bouteille n'est pas réfrigérée. Les conseils ci-dessous peuvent s'avérer utiles pour réduire les risques liés à l'achat, à la manutention et à l'entreposage d'eau embouteillée.

Réduire les risques

À l'achat d'eau embouteillée

  • Examinez l'intérieur et l'extérieur de la bouteille avant l'achat. Évitez les bouteilles dont le sceau est brisé, et signalez toute altération au gérant du magasin ou aux représentants de la santé. Assurez-vous que l'eau est claire et ne contient aucune matière en suspension.
  • Vérifier la date de péremption sur l'étiquette. La plupart des producteurs canadiens d'eau embouteillée indiquent une durée de conservation d'un à deux ans.

Manutention et consommation d'eau embouteillée

  • Ne partagez pas les bouteilles (ne soyez pas plusieurs personnes à boire directement à la même bouteille), car cela peut introduire des bactéries dans l'eau. Versez plutôt l'eau dans des gobelets ou des verres propres, si plus d'une personne se partagent l'eau.
  • Réfrigérez la bouteille après l'avoir ouverte (ou immédiatement après l'avoir acheté, si possible). À l'instar d'autres aliments, l'eau embouteillée contient un faible taux de bactéries inoffensives. Cependant, ces bactéries peuvent proliférer à la température ambiante. Réfrigérer la bouteille contribue à éviter toute prolifération bactérienne.
  • Maintenez toujours une bonne hygiène. Lavez-vous les mains fréquemment avec de l'eau tiède et du savon, surtout après avoir utilisé les toilettes ou manipulé des animaux. Cela contribuera à prévenir la contamination des aliments, y compris l'eau embouteillée.
  • N'oubliez pas que le contenant de plastique renfermant l'eau embouteillée est conçu pour un usage unique. Ne le remplissez pas de nouveau. Recyclez la bouteille si c'est possible.

Entreposage de l'eau embouteillée (bouteille non ouverte)

  • Il est préférable de réfrigérer l'eau embouteillée, mais si ce n'est pas possible, mettez-la au frais, dans un endroit propre et sombre, tel que le sous-sol. Évitez la chaleur et les rayons du soleil. Tenez la bouteille éloignée des solvants domestiques (diluants pour peinture, produits nettoyants, etc.) Au fil du temps, les solvants peuvent devenir volatils et contaminer l'eau en passant à travers le plastique de la bouteille.
  • Lorsque vous entreposez une grande quantité d'eau pour les urgences, assurez-vous d'effectuer une rotation pour éviter de dépasser la date de péremption.

Rôle du gouvernement

Santé Canada établit les politiques et les normes qui régissent la sécurité et la qualité de tous les aliments qui se vendent au pays. Son rôle l'amène à collaborer avec d'autres organismes gouvernementaux et l'Association canadienne des eaux embouteillées pour s'assurer que cette eau est sans danger pour les Canadiens et de bonne qualité. Santé Canada surveille aussi l'innocuité des matériaux utilisés pour l'emballage des aliments, y compris le plastique utilisé comme contenant pour l'eau embouteillée qui se vend au Canada.

L'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments (ACIA) se charge de faire appliquer les politiques et les normes de Santé Canada et s'assure que les avertissements nécessaires sont communiqués rapidement à la population canadienne.

Vous désirez vus renseigner davantage ?

Veuillez consulter les sites suivants :

Questions et réponses sur l'eau embouteillée (Santé Canada)
Au-delà des conseils de sécurité, cet article décrit différents types d'eau embouteillée et explique la raison d'être des différents systèmes de traitement de l'eau embouteillée. On y explique aussi en détail les mesures de sécurité relatives aux fontaines réfrigérantes.

Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Salubrité des aliments : eau embouteillée (Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments)

Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Agence canadienne des eaux embouteillées

Pour vous renseigner sur l'innocuité de l'eau potable (eau du robinet), veuillez consulter le site de Santé Canada.

Pour consulter d'autres articles relatifs à la santé et la sécurité, rendez-vous à la section Votre santé et vous

Vous pouvez aussi appeler sans frais au 1-866-225-0709 ou au 1-800-465-7735* (pour malentendants).

Original : avril 2009
©Sa Majesté la reine du Chef du Canada, représentée par le Ministre de la Santé, 2009.