Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Healthy Living

The Safety of Sugar Substitutes

It's Your Health

On this page:

The Issue

Canadians have a taste for sweet foods, but are often worried about the calories they contain. As a result, a variety of sugar substitutes (commonly referred to as artificial sweeteners, even though some are derived from natural sources) have been developed for use as table-top sweeteners, in food preparation at home, and as additives in processed foods. However, conflicting reports in the media and on the Internet about sugar substitutes have led some people to be concerned about their safety.


Sugar substitutes that are added to pre-packaged foods are regulated as food additives and subject to strict controls under Canada's Food and Drug Regulations. Sugar substitutes approved for use as food additives in pre-packaged foods in Canada include:

  • acesulfame-potassium
  • aspartame
  • erythritol
  • neotame
  • sucralose
  • sugar alcohols (polyols) such as sorbitol, isolmalt, lactitol, maltitol, mannitol and xylitol
  • thaumatin

These products are used in foods such as soft drinks, desserts, breakfast cereals, chewing gum and other confectionery items, such as candy. Aspartame, a low calorie sugar substitute is perhaps the best known of these products. It has been approved for use in Canada since 1981 and is currently permitted in a variety of foods.

Health Benefits and Risks of Sugar Substitutes

Sugar substitutes are useful to diabetics who wish to sweeten their foods. They allow people to cut back on their sugar intake and may aid people in trying to achieve or maintain a healthy weight.

As with any food, moderation is the key. For example, consuming too many foods containing certain sweetening agents, such as sugar alcohols, may cause some stomach discomfort and have a laxative effect.

People with phenylketonuria (PKU), a genetic disorder, have to control their intake of phenylalanine. Since aspartame contains phenylalanine, products that have aspartame as an ingredient must have a label that reflects this.

Some people have reported sensitivities to aspartame. However, researchers have been unable to confirm these reports through clinical studies. There is ongoing research investigating this issue.

Consumption of sugar substitutes during pregnancy does not pose a health risk. However, pregnant women should avoid consuming too many products containing sugar substitutes, since they may be replacing nutrient-dense, energy-yielding foods needed for a healthy pregnancy.

Controlling Your Intake of Sugar Substitutes

If you eat foods containing sugar substitutes, keep the following in mind.

  • Read the labels on foods and beverages to identify those that contain sugar substitutes.
  • If you experience stomach discomfort or diarrhea from consuming sugar substitutes, cut back on your intake.
  • If you are diabetic, consider how sugar substitutes can play a role in a healthy, balanced diet.
  • If you are pregnant, make sure that your consumption of sugar substitutes is not replacing foods needed for a healthy pregnancy.

Government of Canada's Role

The Government of Canada is committed to ensuring that foods available to all Canadians are safe.

Health Canada is responsible for administering the Food and Drugs Act. The Food and Drug Regulations require that pre-packaged foods carry a list of ingredients, including additives such as sugar substitutes. Ingredients are listed in descending order by weight.

The Health Products and Food Branch of Health Canada is responsible for regulating food additives, including sugar substitutes. All additives permitted in food sold in Canada are listed in the Food and Drug Regulations. Any request made to Health Canada to permit the use of a new food additive or to extend the use of a food additive to additional foods must be accompanied by a detailed submission. The submission must include the physical and chemical properties of the substance, the amount and reason for its use, and detailed results of tests establishing the safety of the product, as well as other requirements. Health Canada's Bureau of Chemical Safety coordinates the assessment of food additive submissions. For a complete list of all food additives that are permitted, see the sources listed in the Need More Info? section.

Health Canada also works with the Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA) on matters of food safety. The CFIA enforces Canada's food standards and labelling laws and works with associations, distributors, food manufacturers and importers to ensure complete and appropriate labelling of all foods.

Need More Info?

For more information on sugar substitutes, check out these sources.

Health Canada information on artificial sweeteners

Nutrition for a Healthy Pregnancy - National Guidelines for the Childbearing Years

It's Your Health - Type 2 Diabetes

It's Your Health - Food Additives

Health Canada's Food Additive home page

Health Canada's Food Additive Dictionary provides a list of food additives permitted for use in foods offered for sale in Canada and the reasons they are used.

Bureau of Chemical Safety
Health Products and Food Branch, Health Canada
Banting Building, Postal Locator 2203G2
Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 0L2

Information concerning Next link will take you to another Web site food labelling is available from the Canadian Food Inspection Agency's Fair Labelling Practices Program.

For additional articles on health and safety issues go to the It's Your Health Web site at:
You can also call toll free at 1-866-225-0709 or TTY at 1-800-465-7735*

Original: April 2008
ęHer Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, represented by the Minister of Health, 2008

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Vie saine

Innocuité des substituts du sucre

Votre santé et vous

Sur cette page :

Enjeu

Les Canadiens sont friands de sucreries, mais s'inquiètent de leur teneur en calories. Par conséquent, une vaste gamme de substituts du sucre (communément appelés édulcorants artificiels, même si plusieurs d'entre eux sont dérivés de sources naturelles) sont offerts comme édulcorants de table ou additifs dans les aliments transformés ainsi que dans la préparation des aliments à la maison. Toutefois, des nouvelles contradictoires dans les médias et sur Internet à propos des succédanés du sucre inquiètent certaines personnes quant à leur innocuité.

Contexte

Les substituts du sucre ajoutés aux aliments préemballés sont réglementés comme additifs alimentaires et assujettis à des contrôles rigoureux en vertu du Règlement sur les aliments et drogues du Canada. Les substituts du sucre dont l'utilisation est approuvée comme additifs alimentaires sont les suivants :

  • acésulfame-potassium
  • aspartame
  • érythritol
  • néotame
  • sucralose
  • polyalcools (polyols), tels que sorbitol, isolmalt, lactitol, maltitol, mannitol et xylitol
  • thaumatine

Ces produits sont ajoutés à des aliments comme les boissons gazeuses, les desserts, les céréales pour petit déjeuner, la gomme à mâcher et autres friandises, telles les bonbons. L'aspartame, un édulcorant hypocalorique est probablement le plus connu de ces additifs. Son utilisation est approuvée au Canada depuis 1981 et elle est permise dans une grande quantité d'aliments.

Bienfaits et risques des substituts du sucre pour la santé

Les substituts du sucre sont utiles pour les diabétiques qui souhaitent sucrer leurs aliments. Ils leur permettent de réduire leur consommation de sucre et peuvent aider certains à atteindre ou à maintenir un poids-santé.

Comme c'est le cas pour tous les autres aliments, tout passe par la modération. Par exemple, la consommation d'une quantité trop grande d'aliments qui contiennent certains agents édulcorants, tels que les polyalcools, peut causer des malaises gastriques et avoir un effet laxatif.

Les personnes souffrant de phénylcétonurie, une maladie génétique, doivent contrôler leur consommation de phénylalanine. Comme l'aspartame contient de la phénylalanine, les étiquettes des produits contenant de l'aspartame doivent le mentionner.

Certaines personnes signalent une sensibilité à l'aspartame. Les chercheurs sont toutefois incapables de confirmer ce fait au moyen d'études cliniques et poursuivent leurs recherches.

La consommation de substituts du sucre pendant la grossesse ne présente pas de risque pour la santé. Cependant, les femmes enceintes devraient éviter de consommer trop de produits contenant des substituts du sucre, car ceux-ci risquent de remplacer des aliments nutritifs qui contribuent à l'apport énergétique nécessaire pour une grossesse en santé.

Contrôler votre consommation de substituts du sucre

Si vous consommez des aliments qui contiennent des substituts du sucre, devriez tenir compte des conseils suivants.

  • Lisez l'étiquette des aliments et boissons pour déceler ceux qui contiennent des substituts du sucre.
  • Si vous souffrez de malaises gastriques ou de diarrhée causés par les substituts du sucre, diminuez votre consommation.
  • Si vous êtes diabétique, tenez compte du rôle que peuvent jouer les substituts du sucre dans une alimentation saine et équilibrée.
  • Si vous êtes enceinte, assurez-vous que les substituts du sucre ne remplacent pas les aliments nécessaires pour une grossesse en santé.

Rôle du gouvernement du Canada

Le gouvernement du Canada entend s'assurer que les aliments offerts à tous les Canadiens sont sans danger.

Santé Canada est responsable de l'administration de la Loi sur les aliments et drogues. Le Règlement sur les aliments et drogues exige que tous les aliments préemballés portent une liste des ingrédients qu'ils contiennent, dont des additifs comme les substituts du sucre. Les ingrédients sont énumérés par ordre décroissant de poids.

La Direction générale des produits de santé et des aliments de Santé Canada est responsable de réglementer les additifs alimentaires, y compris les substituts du sucre. Tous les additifs permis dans les aliments vendus au Canada figurent dans le Règlement sur les aliments et drogues. Toute demande soumise à Santé Canada visant à permettre l'utilisation d'un nouvel additif alimentaire ou à étendre à d'autres aliments l'utilisation d'un additif alimentaire doit s'appuyer sur une présentation détaillée. La présentation doit inclure les propriétés physiques et chimiques de la substance, la quantité utilisée et la justification de son utilisation ainsi que des résultats détaillés de tests démontant l'innocuité du produit, et répondre à d'autres exigences. Le Bureau d'innocuité des produits chimiques de Santé Canada coordonne l'évaluation des présentations d'additifs alimentaires. Pour obtenir une liste complète de tous les additifs alimentaires permis, veuillez consulter la section Pour en savoir plus...

Santé Canada collabore avec l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments (ACIA) à la gestion de dossiers relatifs à la salubrité des aliments. L'ACIA veille au respect des normes alimentaires canadiennes et des lois sur l'étiquetage des aliments ; elle travaille avec les associations, distributeurs, transformateurs et importateurs d'aliments pour assurer l'étiquetage complet et approprié de tous les aliments.

Pour en savoir plus...

Pour vous renseigner sur les substituts du sucre, veuillez consulter les sources suivantes :

Renseignements de Santé Canada sur les édulcorants

Nutrition pour une grossesse en santé - Lignes directrices nationales à l'intention des femmes en âge de procréer

Votre santé et vous - Diabète de type 2

Votre santé et vous - Additifs alimentaires

Page d'accueil du portail sur les additifs alimentaires de Santé Canada

Le Dictionnaire des additifs alimentaires de Santé Canada dresse la liste des additifs dont l'utilisation est permise dans les aliments vendus au Canada et des raisons pour lesquelles ils sont utilisés

Bureau d'innocuité des produits chimiques
Direction générale des produits de santé et des aliments, Santé Canada
Immeuble Banting, Indice de l'adresse 2203G2
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0L2

Des renseignements sur l'étiquetage alimentaire sont offerts par Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web le Programme des pratiques équitables d'étiquetage de l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments

Pour des articles complémentaires sur divers aspects relatifs à la santé et à la sécurité, veuillez consulter la section Votre santé et vous
Vous pouvez aussi composer (sans frais) le 1-866-225-0709 ou le 1-800-465-7735* pour les malentendants.

Original : avril 2008
©Sa Majesté la Reine du Chef du Canada, représentée par le ministre de la Santé, 2008