Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Healthy Living

Airport Full-Body Scanners

It's Your Health

Table of Contents

The Issue

Full-body scanners are now being used in various airports around the world. Concerns have been raised with regard to whether or not these devices pose any health risk to airline passengers, who are scanned at security checkpoints.

Background

Full-body scanners are devices used in some airports to ensure that passengers are not carrying Next link will take you to another Web site prohibited items aboard the aircraft. A passenger stands in front of the scanner with his/her arms extended over the head. Security personnel review a generic figure (below) that indicates areas on the passenger's body requiring additional search.

Body scanner image of a generic body
Photos courtesy of CATSA

Types of Scanners

There are two types of full-body scanning systems: one uses millimetre-wave technology and the other uses x-ray technology.

Body Scanner

The scanning systems currently used in Canada are millimetre-wave scanners, which do not emit x-rays. The millimetre-wave body scanner works by projecting low-level millimetre-wave, radio-frequency (RF) energy above and around the passenger’s body. The RF energy is reflected back from the body and from objects concealed on the body to produce a generic image indicating areas requiring additional search. Only a small portion of the RF energy transmitted by the device is absorbed within a thin layer (1 mm) of the body’s surface.

X-ray scanners emit low levels of x-rays, which are a form of electromagnetic ionizing radiation. This type of scanner is not in use in Canadian airports.

Safety of Full-Body Scanners Used in Canada

The millimetre-wave scanners do not pose a risk to human health and safety. Health Canada has assessed the technical information on these devices and concluded that the radiofrequency energy emitted by the device is well within Canada's guidelines for safe human exposure.

The electromagnetic non-ionizing radiation used in these scanners is based on millimetre wave technology and does not pose a risk to human health and safety, from either single or repeated exposures.

Health Canada's Role

To protect the public from any possible health effects associated with exposure to radio-frequency (RF) electromagnetic energy, Health Canada developed a guideline, commonly known as Safety Code 6, which sets safe human exposure limits.

The limits specified in this guideline were established after Health Canada scientists reviewed the results of hundreds of studies over the past several decades on the biological effects of radiofrequency energy. Health Canada has set general public exposure limits at 50 times lower than the threshold for potentially adverse health effects.

Need More Info?

See the following Health Canada web sections:

Also, see the following:

You can also call toll free at 1-866-225-0709 or TTY at 1-800-465-7735*

Updated: April 2013
Original: April 2010
ęHer Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, represented by the Minister of Health, 2013

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Vie Saine

Scanners corporels dans les aéroports

Votre santé et vous

Table des matières

Enjeu

Certains aéroports dans le monde ont désormais recours aux scanners corporels, ce qui soulève des questions quant au risque pour la santé du voyageur qui passe dans l'appareil.

Contexte

Certains aéroports utilisent le scanner corporel pour vérifier que les passagers ne transportent pas Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web d'articles interdits à bord de l'avion. Le passager entre dans le scanner et s'y tient debout, gardant les bras au-dessus de la tête. Le personnel de sécurité examine une silhouette générique (ci-dessous) affichant les endroits sur le corps du passager qui requièrent une fouille additionnelle.

Silhouette générique provenant d'un scanner corporel
Images reproduites avec la permission de ACSTA

Types de scanners

Il y a deux types de scanners corporels : celui à ondes millimétriques et celui qui utilise la technologie de la rétrodiffusion.

Scanner corporel

Les scanners utilisés au Canada sont à ondes millimétriques et n'émettent pas de rayons X. Ils projettent une énergie de radiofréquences millimétriques de faible intensité sur le corps du passager et autour de celui-ci. Réfléchie par le corps et par tout objet dissimulé sur le corps, cette énergie produit une silhouette générique affichant les parties corporelles qui requièrent une fouille additionnelle. Une infime partie de l'énergie des radiofréquences émise par l'appareil est absorbée à la surface du corps (1 mm de profondeur tout au plus).

Le scanner à rétrodiffusion émet de faibles doses de rayons X provenant d'un rayonnement électromagnétique ionisant. Aucun aéroport canadien n'utilise le scanner à rétrodiffusion.

Innocuité du scanner corporel utilisé au Canada

Le scanner à ondes millimétriques est inoffensif pour l'humain. Santé Canada a évalué les données techniques relatives à ces appareils et en conclut que l'énergie émise est tout à fait conforme aux recommandations canadiennes pour l'exposition humaine sécuritaire.

Le rayonnement électromagnétique non ionisant émis par ce type de scanner provient d'ondes millimétriques et est inoffensif pour l'humain, même après plusieurs expositions.

Rôle de Santé Canada

Afin de protéger le public contre tout effet possible de l'exposition à l'énergie électromagnétique des radiofréquences, Santé Canada a élaboré une directive - le code de sécurité 6 - qui établit un seuil sécuritaire d'exposition humaine.

Le seuil proposé a été établi après examen par les experts scientifiques de Santé Canada de centaines d'études menées au cours des dernières décennies sur les effets biologiques des émissions de radiofréquences. Le seuil établi par Santé Canada est 50 fois inférieur au seuil à partir duquel peuvent se manifester des effets nocifs.

Pour en savoir plus...

Consultez les sections suivantes du site web de Santé Canada :

De plus, consultez les liens suivants :

Vous pouvez aussi téléphoner sans frais au 1 866 225-0709 ou au 1 800-465-7735* pour les malentendants.

Mise à jour : avril 2013
Original: avril 2010
©Sa Majesté la reine du Chef du Canada, représentée par le Ministre de la Santé, 2013.