Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Healthy Living

Seniors and Aging - Assistive Devices

It's Your Health

On this page:

The Issue

As age advances, some seniors experience discomfort or fear when doing activities they enjoyed in their younger years. If this is happening to you, an assistive device may help you overcome your difficulties.

Background

Assistive devices are items that ease the strains of daily activities at home, at work, or at play. They include medical equipment, mobility aids, information technologies, practical aids, and gadgets to suit many different needs.

These devices can help you improve your quality of life and maintain your sense of independence. There is also a safety factor to consider. Certain conditions that may occur with age, such as loss of vision, hearing, bone density, or balance can pose serious risks. For example, if you have a poor sense of balance, you face an increased risk of falling, which can result in injuries. However, you can reduce your risk of injury by using an appropriate assistive device, such as a cane or a walker.

Examples of Assistive Devices

The following are just a few examples of common activities and the types of assistive devices that can make them easier and safer:

  • Bathing - grab bars, hand-held shower head, bath seat with arm rails, non-slip floor mat.
  • Dressing - long-handled shoe-horn, velcro fastenings, sock pullers, rubber gloves (for gripping tight-fitting stockings).
  • Preparing food - easy-grip utensils, side-opening oven door, height-adjustable cupboards and counters, automatic-stop kettle, pouring aid.
  • Moving/physical activities - cane, walker, wheelchair, slip-resistant flooring
  • Using the telephone - loud-ringing phone, flashing light ring indicator, large numbers and buttons, automatic dialling.
  • Enjoying hobbies - playing card holder, long-handled gardening tools, television remote control with large buttons and a captioning button, modified keyboard that makes the computer more user-friendly, audio books, magnifying glass.

Getting Started

If you think you could benefit from using an assistive device, start by consulting a health care professional, such as your doctor, pharmacist, or an occupational therapist. Find out what is available to suit your needs. You can also obtain information about assistive devices from catalogues and seniors' magazines. In addition, family members and friends may have experience and useful advice regarding assistive devices.

For certain devices, such as corrective eyeglasses and hearing aids, you should be assessed by a medical professional. Professional assessment is also recommended when purchasing an expensive assistive device, such as a wheelchair - particularly if you think you may qualify for complete or partial reimbursement. Most forms of reimbursement (e.g., insurance, funding agency) require that you get a prescription for the more expensive assistive devices.

Many other assistive devices, including walkers, canes, and grab bars, are available in general or specialty stores, including pharmacies and stores that sell medical supplies. Hardware and department stores offer many assistive devices too, including wheeled garbage cans, easy-grip utensils and intercom systems. You can find such items as screen-reading software (for people with reduced vision) and modified keyboards and mice (for people with limited mobility) at specialty computer stores.

Additional Tips on Choosing and Using Assistive Devices

Contact your health care provider if you are unsure as to whether you should be medically assessed before choosing a particular assistive device.

  • If the device is expensive, ask if you can rent or borrow one to see if it meets your needs before you buy it.
  • Be sure to get assistive devices from reliable sources, especially if they are medical devices, such as hearing aids or eyeglasses. Use caution if buying medical devices over the Internet or if buying products second-hand. (See the Need More Info? section below for links to more on these topics.)
  • Read and follow all instructions for using your assistive devices. If you have caregivers, make sure they also know how to use the devices properly.

Paying for Assistive Devices

Some provinces and territories have programs to help seniors or people with disabilities buy the assistive devices they need. Other possible sources of financial help include:

  • community and non-profit organizations (e.g., Kiwanis, Rotary, Lions Club, or the Royal Canadian Legion); and
  • Veterans Affairs Canada, which helps eligible clients with the purchase of prosthetic and orthotic devices, as well as walkers, canes, and wheelchairs.

For contact information, see the Need More Info? section below.

Government of Canada's Role

The Public Health Agency of Canada provides federal leadership on health issues related to aging and seniors. As part of this work, the Agency provides seniors with practical information on all types of health issues, including the use of assistive devices.

Health Canada regulates the safety, effectiveness, and quality of medical devices sold in Canada. This is achieved through a combination of a pre-market review prior to licensing, and post-market surveillance of adverse events after sale. Canada's Medical Devices Regulations classifies medical devices into four groups, with the lowest-risk devices in Class I and the highest-risk devices in Class IV. Many assistive devices are Class I medical devices, which are not subject to licensing. Post-market surveillance applies to all medical devices after sale, both licensed and unlicensed.

Health Canada also helps protect the Canadian public by researching, assessing, and managing health risks and safety hazards associated with consumer products.

Need More Info?

Contact:
Next link will take you to another Web site Division of Aging and Seniors
Public Health Agency of Canada
200 Eglantine Driveway
Ottawa, ON K1A 0K9
Telephone: 613-952-7606
Fax: 613-957-9938
Email: seniors@phac-aspc.gc.ca

Also, see:

Next link will take you to another Web site Assistive devices - Info-sheet for seniors
This brochure lists provincial/territorial contacts for information on financial help with assistive devices.

Next link will take you to another Web site Go for it! A guide to choosing and using assistive devices

For information on help from provincial or territorial health authorities.

For more information on the Next link will take you to another Web site Veterans Affairs Canada benefit to help with assistive devices or call :
1-866-522-2122 (toll-free in Canada)
E-mail: information@vac-acc.gc.ca

Also, see the following Health Canada Web sites:

It's Your Health:

For additional articles on health and safety issues go to the It's Your Health Web site. You can also call toll free at 1-866-225-0709 or TTY at 1-800-465-7735*.

Original : February 2007
ę Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, represented by the Minister of Health, 2007

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Vie saine

Les aînés et le vieillissement - Aides fonctionnelles

Votre santé et vous

Sur cette page :

Enjeu

À mesure qu'ils avancent en âge, certains aînés éprouvent de l'inconfort ou de la peur en pratiquant des activités qu'ils aimaient dans leur jeunesse. Si c'est votre cas, une aide fonctionnelle peut vous permettre de surmonter vos difficultés.

Contexte

Les aides fonctionnelles sont des accessoires conçus pour faciliter vos activités quotidiennes à la maison, au travail ou dans les loisirs. Il peut s'agir d'équipements médicaux, d'aides à la mobilité, de matériel informatisé, d'outils pratiques ou de « gadgets » pour répondre à divers besoins.

Ces appareils peuvent vous aider à améliorer votre qualité de vie et à maintenir votre sentiment d'autonomie. Il faut aussi tenir compte de la sécurité. Avec l'âge, certains problèmes, dont la perte de vision, d'ouïe, de densité osseuse ou d'équilibre, peuvent représenter des risques importants. Par exemple, les troubles de l'équilibre peuvent augmenter le risque de chutes, ce qui peut entraîner des blessures. Toutefois, il est possible de réduire ce risque en utilisant l'aide fonctionnelle appropriée, comme une canne ou une marchette.

Exemples d'aides fonctionnelles

Voici quelques exemples d'activités courantes et de types d'aide fonctionnelle qui peuvent les rendre plus faciles et sécuritaires :

  • Dans la salle de bain - barres d'appui, douche téléphone, siège de baignoire, tapis antidérapant.
  • Pour se vêtir - chausse-pied à long manche, attaches en velcro, enfile-bas, gants en caoutchouc (pour les bas serrés).
  • Préparation des aliments - ustensiles faciles à saisir, porte de four à ouverture latérale, armoires et comptoirs à hauteur réglable, bouilloire à arrêt automatique, verseurs.
  • Déplacement/activités physiques - canne, marchette, fauteuil roulant, revêtement de plancher antidérapant.
  • Téléphone - sonnerie très forte, sonnerie visuelle (lumière clignotante), téléphone à gros boutons, composition automatique.
  • Loisirs - support pour cartes à jouer, outils de jardinage à long manche, télécommande à gros boutons avec un bouton pour activer le sous-titrage, clavier d'ordinateur modifié pour en faciliter l'utilisation, livres parlés, loupes.

Par où commencer

Si vous croyez qu'une aide fonctionnelle pourrait vous être utile, commencez par consulter un professionnel de la santé, comme un médecin, un pharmacien ou un ergothérapeute. Découvrez les options qui répondent à vos besoins. Vous pouvez également obtenir de l'information sur les aides fonctionnelles dans des catalogues ou des magazines pour aînés. En outre, les membres de votre famille et vos amis peuvent avoir de l'expérience et des conseils utiles relativement aux aides fonctionnelles.

Certains appareils, comme les lunettes et les appareils auditifs, exigent un examen par un professionnel. Il est préférable de consulter un professionnel pour certains articles coûteux comme un fauteuil roulant, surtout si vous croyez avoir droit à un remboursement total ou partiel. La plupart des formes de remboursement (p. ex. assurances, organisme de financement) des appareils coûteux exigent une ordonnance.

De nombreuses autres aides fonctionnelles, dont les marchettes, les cannes et les barres d'appui, sont vendues dans les magasins généraux ou spécialisés, y compris les pharmacies et les magasins de fournitures médicales. Les quincailleries et les grands magasins vendent aussi des aides fonctionnelles, comme des poubelles roulantes, des ustensiles faciles à saisir et des interphones. Vous trouverez des accessoires comme des logiciels de lecture d'écran (pour les personnes ayant des troubles visuels) et des claviers et des souris modifiés (pour les personnes dont la mobilité est réduite) dans les magasins d'ordinateurs.

Autres conseils pour le choix et l'utilisation des aides fonctionnelles

  • Communiquez avec votre professionnel de la santé si vous ne savez pas si vous devez subir une évaluation médicale avant de choisir une aide fonctionnelle.
  • Si l'appareil est dispendieux, informez-vous s'il est possible d'en louer ou d'en emprunter un avant de l'acheter.
  • Assurez-vous de vous procurer des aides fonctionnelles auprès de sources fiables, surtout s'il s'agit d'instruments médicaux, comme des appareils auditifs ou des lunettes. Faites preuve de prudence lorsque vous achetez des instruments médicaux via Internet ou des produits usagés. (Pour plus de renseignements à ce sujet, consultez la section Pour en savoir plus).
  • Lisez et suivez toutes les instructions avant d'utiliser vos aides fonctionnelles. Si vous avez des aidants, assurez-vous qu'ils savent comment les utiliser correctement.

Paiement des aides fonctionnelles

Certaines provinces et certains territoires disposent de programmes pour aider les aînés ou les personnes handicapées à se procurer les aides fonctionnelles dont ils ont besoin. Voici d'autres sources d'aide financière :

  • organismes communautaires et sans but lucratif (p. ex. Kiwanis, Rotary, Club Lions ou Légion royale canadienne);
  • Anciens Combattants Canada, qui aident les personnes admissibles à acheter des prothèses et des orthèses ainsi que des marchettes, des cannes et des fauteuils roulants.

Pour obtenir des coordonnées, veuillez consulter la section Pour en savoir plus ci-dessous.

Rôle du gouvernement du Canada

L'Agence de santé publique du Canada assure le leadership fédéral en ce qui a trait aux enjeux sanitaires relatifs au vieillissement et aux aînés. L'Agence offre aux aînés des renseignements pratiques sur tous les types de questions liées à la santé, dont l'utilisation des aides fonctionnelles.

Santé Canada réglemente l'innocuité, l'efficacité et la qualité des instruments médicaux vendus au Canada grâce à un examen préalable à la mise en marché et à une surveillance post-commercialisation des effets indésirables des produits. Au Canada, le Règlement sur les instruments médicaux répartit les instruments médicaux en quatre classes, la classe I étant celle qui présente le risque le plus faible et la classe IV, celle présentant le risque le plus élevé. De nombreuses aides fonctionnelles sont considérées comme des instruments médicaux de classe I, qui ne nécessitent pas d'homologation. La surveillance post-commercialisation s'applique à tous les instruments médicaux, qu'ils soient homologués ou non.

Santé Canada aide en outre à protéger la population canadienne grâce à la recherche, à l'évaluation et à la gestion des risques pour la santé et la sécurité associés aux produits de consommation.

Pour en savoir plus...

Communiquez avec :
Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Division du vieillissement et des aînés
Agence de santé publique du Canada
200, promenade Églantine
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0K9
Téléphone : 613-952-7606
Télécopieur : 613-957-9938
Courriel : seniors@phac-aspc.gc.ca

Consultez les pages suivantes :

Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Aides fonctionnelles - Info-aînés
Ce dépliant dresse la liste des points d'information provinciaux et régionaux sur l'aide financière pour l'achat d'aides fonctionnelles.

Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Allez-y! Un guide sur le choix et l'utilisation des aides fonctionnelles

Pour en savoir plus sur l'aide offerte par les autorités sanitaires provinciales et territoriales.

Pour en savoir plus sur la prestation Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web d'Anciens Combattants Canada pour l'achat d'aides fonctionnelles ou composez le 1-866-522-2122 (sans frais au Canada).
Courriel : information@vac-acc.gc.ca

Vous pouvez également consulter les sites Internet de Santé Canada suivants :

Votre santé et vous :

Des articles complémentaires sur les questions de santé et de sécurité se retrouvent sur le site de Votre santé et vous. Vous pouvez aussi téléphoner sans frais au 1 866 225-0709 ou au 1 800 267-1245* pour les malentendants.

Original : février 2007
© Sa Majesté la reine du Chef du Canada, représentée par le Ministre de la Santé, 2007.