Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Healthy Living

Seniors and Aging - Vision Care

It's Your Health

Help on accessing alternative formats, such as Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word and PowerPoint (PPT) files, can be obtained in the alternate format help section.

On this page:

The Issue

As people get older, it is normal for their vision to change. However, there are steps you can take to preserve your eyesight and improve your vision - an important part of staying safe and independent.

Background

The effects of aging on vision can range from mildly irritating changes to serious eye diseases. Changes may include:

  • Difficulty reading small print;
  • Taking longer to adjust from light to dark;
  • More sensitivity to glare from sunlight or unshielded light bulbs;
  • Loss of depth perception, which makes it difficult to judge distances;
  • Difficulty in seeing contrasts and colour;
  • Dry eyes; and
  • Tearing or watery eyes.

Because vision is so vital to daily living, it is important to recognize the changes. Having your eyes examined regularly can help to detect problems early on and help maintain good vision.

For most seniors, normal age-related vision loss can be corrected with glasses, medication, or surgery. Even with more serious conditions, using vision aids and making changes to their homes and routines can help seniors stay safe and independent. There are also many services available to help seniors adjust to vision loss.

Symptoms of Vision Loss

As you age, you or someone else may notice that you are experiencing symptoms of vision deterioration. Signs include:

  • Squinting and/or a greater sensitivity to light;
  • Choosing bright over dull coloured objects or clothing;
  • Spilling food or drinks because you misjudge where items are;
  • Finding it hard to copy from written texts;
  • Becoming clumsy, such as having difficulty threading a needle or buttoning a shirt;
  • Seeing flashes of light or rapid movement from the corners of your eyes;
  • Having difficulties with driving at night;
  • Experiencing uncontrolled eye movement;
  • Making driving mistakes, such as missing street signs or traffic signs; and
  • Falling because of a missed step or an unseen object on the floor.

Serious Health Effects of Vision Loss

In addition to the above changes and symptoms, there are several diseases and conditions that can affect vision.

Cataracts

Cataracts are a gradual clouding of the natural lens of the eye, preventing light from reaching the retina. The clouding may prevent you from being able to read or drive unless the cataract is removed. Fortunately, this is one of the most successful surgeries done in medicine today and is quite common.

Floaters

Floaters are tiny spots or specks that float across your field of vision. They are often normal and sometimes moving the eye around will make the spots shift out of your central vision. However, if you notice a sudden change in the number or types of spots, or if they come with light flashes, you should see your eye doctor as soon as possible. They may be signs of a serious eye disease.

Glaucoma

Glaucoma develops when the pressure within the eye starts to destroy the nerve fibres within the retina. If not treated early, glaucoma can cause vision loss and blindness. Because most people have no early symptoms, regular eye examinations are required to detect it. Treatment may include eye drops, medication, or surgery.

Age-related macular degeneration

Macular degeneration occurs when the macula (the central part of the retina responsible for sharp focus) is damaged. This damage may be the result of many factors, including aging, and it causes permanent loss of central vision. Regular eye exams can detect the disease early on and laser treatments can slow down the central vision loss.

Diabetic retinopathy

As the name suggests, this is an eye problem linked to diabetes. Changes to the blood vessels caused by diabetes can starve the retina of oxygen. This condition can go through many stages and can result in blindness. Symptoms include cloudy vision and seeing spots. If you have diabetes, be sure to have regular eye examinations and tell your eye specialist that you are diabetic. Treatment can slow down vision loss. Laser treatment in the early stages is often successful.

Minimizing Your Risk

There are many steps you can take to protect your vision.

  • If you are over the age of 45, have your eyes examined on a regular basis.
  • If you suffer from dry eyes (gritty, itchy, or burning), a home humidifier and eye drops may help. In a few serious cases, surgery may be needed to correct the problem.
  • If your eyes water, it may be that you are more sensitive to light, wind, or temperature change. Simply shielding your eyes or wearing sunglasses may solve the problem. However, this condition may be the result of an eye infection, eye irritation, or a blocked tear duct, all of which can be treated. See your doctor to find out the exact cause and treatment.
  • Turn on the lights. Seeing better can sometimes be as easy as changing a light bulb to one with a higher wattage. Putting 100 or 150 watt bulbs in your lamps can reduce eye strain. Just make sure the fixture is designed for that wattage. Bright light is important in stairways to help prevent falls.
  • Don't smoke. Smoking tobacco is a major risk factor in the early onset of age-related macular degeneration.
  • Reduce glare as much as possible by using good lampshades, glare shields on computer monitors, and sunglasses. Sunglasses should provide 99 to 100% UV-A and UV-B protection. UV rays can harm your eyes even on a cloudy day.
  • Protect your eyes from accidents in your home.
  • Put a grease shield over frying foods.
  • Make sure spray cans and nozzles are pointed away from you when spraying.
  • Wear safety glasses in the workshop and when using chemical products such as ammonia.
  • Be careful of a recoil when using bungee cords.
  • Eat your carrots. A daily dose of the vitamins and minerals found in melons, citrus fruit, carrots, spinach, and kale may help slow the progress of age-related eye diseases such as macular degeneration, glaucoma, and cataracts.
  • Don't drive at night if you have problems with depth perception, glare, or other vision difficulties.

Government of Canada's Role

The Public Health Agency of Canada is committed to promoting and protecting the health and well-being of Canadians. Its Division of Aging and Seniors in particular, disseminates information on healthy aging and encourages seniors' health promotion.

Need More Info?

For more information on eye care for seniors, contact the following:

Or visit:

For additional articles on health and safety issues go to the It's Your Health Web site.
You can also call toll free at 1-866-225-0709 or TTY at 1-800-465-7735*.

Original: October 2006
ę Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, represented by the Minister of Health, 2006

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Vie saine

Les aînés et le vieillissement - soins de la vue

Votre santé et vous

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour accéder aux formats de rechange, tels que Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word et PowerPoint (PPT), visitez la section d'aide sur les formats de rechange.

Sur cette page :

Enjeu

À mesure que les gens avancent en âge, il est normal que leur vision change. Il existe toutefois des mesures à prendre pour préserver et même améliorer notre vision, si essentielle à notre sécurité et à notre autonomie.

Contexte

Les effets du vieillissement sur la vision sont divers et vont de changements légèrement irritants à des maladies oculaires graves. Voici certains de ces changements :

  • Difficulté à lire de petits caractères;
  • Prendre plus de temps pour s'adapter à la noirceur;
  • Être plus sensible à la lumière du soleil ou même à certaines ampoules électriques;
  • Perte de perception de la profondeur, ce qui rend difficile l'évaluation des distances;
  • Difficulté à distinguer les couleurs et autres contrastes;
  • Yeux secs; et
  • Larmoiement.

Étant donné que la vision est si essentielle à la vie quotidienne, il est important de reconnaître les changements. Un examen régulier de la vue permet de détecter rapidement les problèmes et aide à maintenir une bonne vision.

Chez la majorité des aînés, les pertes de vision normales liées à l'âge peuvent être corrigées à l'aide de lunettes, de médicaments ou d'une chirurgie. Les aînés dont les problèmes de vision sont plus graves peuvent utiliser des aides visuelles et apporter des modifications à leur habitation et à leurs habitudes afin de demeurer autonomes et en sécurité. Divers services leur sont offerts pour les aider à s'adapter à la perte de vision.

Symptômes de la perte de vision

À mesure que vous vieillissez, vous (ou quelqu'un d'autre) remarquerez peut-être que vous présentez des symptômes de détérioration de la vue. Par exemple :

  • vous plissez les yeux ou vous êtes plus sensible à la lumière;
  • vous choisissez des objets ou des vêtements de couleurs vives;
  • vous renversez des aliments ou des boissons parce que vous avez mal jugé la distance;
  • vous avez de la difficulté à copier un texte;
  • vous devenez maladroit (p. ex. vous avez de la difficulté à enfiler une aiguille ou à boutonner une chemise;
  • vous voyez des éclairs de lumière ou des mouvements rapides dans le coin de vos yeux;
  • vous avez de la difficulté à conduire le soir et la nuit;
  • vous avez des mouvements involontaires de l'oeil;
  • vous commettez des erreurs au volant (p. ex. manquer une rue ou un panneau); et
  • vous avez fait une chute après avoir manqué une marche ou posé le pied sur un objet que vous n'aviez pas vu.

Graves effets de la perte de vision sur la santé

En plus des changements et des symptômes susmentionnés, diverses autres maladies ou affections peuvent affecter la vision.

Cataracte

Lorsqu'un secteur de l'oeil est graduellement brouillé (opacification), ce qui empêche la lumière d'atteindre la rétine, on parle de cataracte. Cette opacification peut vous empêcher de lire ou de conduire à moins de vous faire enlever la cataracte. Heureusement, il s'agit de l'une des chirurgies courantes les plus réussies de nos jours.

Corps flottants

Les corps flottants sont de petites particules qui flottent dans le champ de vision. Ils sont souvent sans danger et parfois, en bougeant l'oeil, les corps se déplacent hors de votre vision centrale. Toutefois, si vous remarquez des changements soudains dans le nombre ou le type de corps flottants, ou qu'ils sont accompagnés d'éclairs lumineux, consultez un ophtalmologiste dès que possible. Il pourrait s'agir d'un grave problème.

Glaucome

Le glaucome se développe lorsque la pression à l'intérieur de l'oeil est trop élevée, causant la destruction des nerfs de la rétine. Si ce problème n'est pas traité rapidement, il peut causer une perte partielle ou totale de la vue. Puisque la plupart des gens ne présentent pas de symptômes précoces, il est important de subir régulièrement des examens de la vue. Ce problème est traité à l'aide de gouttes, de médicaments ou d'une chirurgie.

Maculopathie liée à l'âge

La maculopathie liée à l'âge survient lorsque la macule (la partie centrale de la rétine responsable de la mise au point) est endommagée. Elle peut être causée par plusieurs facteurs, dont l'âge, et entraîne une perte permanente de la vision centrale. Des examens de la vue réguliers permettent de détecter rapidement cette maladie, qui peut mener à une perte totale de la vue. Des traitements au laser peuvent en ralentir la progression.

Rétinopathie diabétique

Comme le nom l'indique, il s'agit d'un trouble lié au diabète. Des changements dans les vaisseaux sanguins privent la rétine d'oxygène. Cette maladie comporte plusieurs étapes pouvant mener à une perte totale de la vue. Parmi les symptômes, on compte une vue embrouillée et la présence de taches. Si vous êtes diabétique, consultez votre ophtalmologiste régulièrement et informez-le de votre condition. Les traitements peuvent ralentir la perte de la vue. Le traitement précoce au laser est souvent fructueux.

Réduire les risques

Il existe diverses mesures pour protéger votre vision.

  • Si vous avez plus de 45 ans, passez régulièrement un examen de la vue.
  • Si vos yeux sont secs (picotements, irritation, etc.), un humidificateur et des gouttes pour les yeux peuvent vous aider. Dans certains cas graves, une chirurgie peut être nécessaire pour corriger le problème.
  • Si vous avez des larmoiements, il est possible que vous soyez plus sensible à la lumière, au vent ou à la variation de température. Dans ce cas, protégez vos yeux ou portez des lunettes de soleil par exemple. Toutefois, il peut aussi s'agir d'une infection, d'une irritation ou d'un conduit bloqué, ce qui peut être traité. Consultez votre médecin pour connaître la cause exacte.
  • Allumez les lumières. Le simple fait de remplacer une ampoule plus forte peut vous aider à mieux voir. Utiliser des ampoules de 100 ou de 150 watts peut réduire la fatigue de l'oeil. Assurez-vous cependant que votre luminaire est conçu pour ce type d'ampoule. Un bon éclairage dans les escaliers peut aider à prévenir les chutes.
  • Ne fumez pas. Les fumeurs sont plus à risque de développer une maladie de l'oeil appelée maculopathie liée à l'âge.
  • Réduisez l'éblouissement autant que possible en utilisant de bons abat-jour, des filtres pour les écrans d'ordinateur et des lunettes de soleil. Portez des lunettes de soleil qui protègent à 99 ou à 100 p. cent contre les rayons UVA et UVB, qui sont néfastes, même par temps gris.
  • Protégez vos yeux des accidents dans votre domicile.
  • Placez un couvercle sur les poêles à frire.
  • Assurez-vous que les aérosols et les pulvérisateurs ne pointent pas dans votre direction.
  • Portez des lunettes de sécurité dans votre atelier ou lorsque vous utilisez des produits chimiques comme l'ammoniac.
  • Prenez garde à l'effet ressort lorsque vous utilisez des câbles élastiques.
  • Mangez bien. Un apport quotidien en vitamines et en minéraux présents dans les melons, les agrumes, les carottes, les épinards et le chou peut retarder la progression des maladies de l'oeil liées à l'âge, comme la maculopathie, le glaucome et la cataracte.
  • Ne conduisez pas le soir ou la nuit si vous avez des problèmes de perception tridimensionnelle (perception de relief), d'éblouissements ou d'autres troubles de vision.

Rôle du gouvernement du Canada

L'Agence de santé publique du Canada est déterminer à promouvoir et protéger la santé et le bien-être des Canadiens. La Division du vieillissement et des aînés, en particulier, diffuse de l'information sur le vieillissement en santé et favorise la promotion de la santé des aînés.

Pour en savoir plus...

Pour en savoir plus sur les soins de la vue chez les aînés, consultez les sites suivants :

Vous pouvez également consulter les sites suivants :

Des articles complémentaires sur des questions de santé et de sécurité se trouvent au site de Votre santé et vous.
Vous pouvez aussi téléphoner sans frais au 1 866 225-0709 ou au 1 800 267-1245* pour les malentendants.

Original: octobre 2006
© Sa Majesté la reine du Chef du Canada, représentée par le ministre de la Santé, 2006