Warning: Unknown: Unable to allocate memory for pool. in Unknown on line 0 It's Your Health - Folic Acid and Birth Defects [Health Canada, 2004]
Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Healthy Living

Folic Acid and Birth Defects

It's Your Health

Help on accessing alternative formats, such as Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word and PowerPoint (PPT) files, can be obtained in the alternate format help section.

On this page:

The Issue

If you are a woman who may become pregnant, taking folic acid on a daily basis before pregnancy can help prevent serious birth defects in your unborn baby.

Background

All women who could become pregnant are at risk of having babies with neural tube defects. These are serious birth defects that consist of abnormalities in the baby's brain, skull or spine.

Women can work with their health professionals to reduce this risk significantly by seeking their advice on how to take folic acid.

Neural Tube Defects (NTDs)

The neural tube is the part of the developing baby that eventually becomes the brain and spinal cord. Neural tube defects (NTDs) occur when the neural tube fails to close completely during the early weeks of pregnancy. At this early stage, many women do not even know that they are pregnant. About 260 babies are born each year in Canada with an NTD.

Spina bifida is the most common NTD. The effects of spina bifida are quite varied. These effects can range from severe physical disabilities and developmental delay, to problems that can be corrected by surgery. The most common effects are limited use of the lower limbs, and bowel and bladder limitations.

Another NTD is anencephaly, a condition in which the brain either fails to develop completely, or does not develop at all. Pregnancies affected by this condition often end in miscarriage. Babies born with anencephaly die very soon after birth.

Folic Acid Reduces the Risk of NTDs

Folic acid, or folate, one of the B vitamins is essential to the normal development of a baby's spine, brain, and skull, especially during the first weeks of pregnancy.

Research has shown that women who take a daily vitamin supplement containing folic acid before conception and in the early weeks of pregnancy can reduce the risk of having a baby with an NTD.

Women at Higher Risk

If you have a personal or family history of NTDs, you should consult your doctor. You may be advised to take a higher daily dosage of folic acid. If you have diabetes, epilepsy, or if you are obese, you may be at higher risk of having a baby with an NTD. You should discuss these risk factors with your doctor before planning your pregnancy.

Health Canada's Actions to Help Prevent NTDs

Health Canada launched a national awareness campaign in March 2002, about the importance of folic acid in the prevention of birth defects. With this campaign, Health Canada is working in partnership with stakeholders, other governments and health care professionals to ensure that Canadian women of childbearing years are aware that they can reduce the risk of NTDs, by taking folic acid before pregnancy.

As part of its overall mission to help the people of Canada maintain and improve their health, Health Canada also conducts research on the health benefits of nutrition, and establishes national guidelines, including Canada's Food Guide to Healthy Eating, and Nutrition for a Healthy Pregnancy: National Guidelines for the Childbearing Years.

To Reduce Your Risk of NTDs

If you are a woman who may become pregnant, you should:

  • Ask your health care professional about the benefits of folic acid - if you are at higher risk, your doctor will need to know your health history in order to recommend the right supplement and dosage for you
  • Maintain a healthy nutritional diet - taking a vitamin supplement does not reduce or replace the need for a healthy diet as recommended in Canada's Food Guide to Healthy Eating. Good sources of folic acid include dark green vegetables such as broccoli, spinach, peas, and brussel sprouts. Other good sources include corn, dried peas, beans, lentils, oranges, and orange juice
  • Seek advice from a health professional about how to take folic acid - in large doses, some of the ingredients in multivitamins can do more harm than good

Remember it's never too early to ask your health care professional about folic acid.

Need More Info?

For more information about Health Canada's Folic Acid Campaign visit Next link will take you to another Web site Folic Acid. This site also features useful links to other sources of important information.

For general information about nutrition,
see Nutrition and Healthy Eating.

For copies of folic acid pamphlet:
Canada's Food Guide to Healthy Eating, and Nutrition for a Healthy Pregnancy: National Guidelines for the Childbearing Years, call (613) 954-5995,

or write to:
Health Canada Publications
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0K9

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Vie saine

L'acide folique et les anomalies congénitales

Votre santé et vous

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour accéder aux formats de rechange, tels que Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word et PowerPoint (PPT), visitez la section d'aide sur les formats de rechange.

Sur cette page :

Enjeu

Si vous souhaitez être enceinte un jour, vous pouvez réduire les risques que votre futur enfant soit atteint d'anomalies congénitales graves en consommant quotidiennement de l'acide folique avant le début de votre grossesse.

Contexte

Toutes les femmes sont susceptibles de donner naissance à un enfant ayant subi des malformations du tube neural. Ces malformations entraînent des déficiences congénitales graves, caractérisées par des anomalies au niveau du cerveau, du crâne ou de la colonne vertébrale du bébé. Les femmes désirant être enceinte peuvent consulter leur professionnel de la santé sur la façon de consommer de l'acide folique afin de réduire ces risques considérablement.

Malformations du tube neural

Le tube neural est la partie de l'embryon qui formera le cerveau et la moelle épinière. Les anomalies surviennent lorsque le tube neural ne se referme pas complètement au cours des premières semaines de grossesse. À ce stade précoce, beaucoup de femmes ne savent même pas qu'elles sont enceintes. Environ 260 bébés naissent chaque année au Canada avec une malformation du tube neural.

Le spina bifida est la manifestation la plus répandue de malformation du tube neural. Les effets du spina bifida sont plutôt variés. Ils vont des handicaps physiques et des déficiences mentales graves aux problèmes mineurs, qui peuvent être corrigés par une chirurgie. Les effets les plus répandus sont la mobilité réduite des membres inférieurs, et un mauvais fonctionnement de l'intestin et de la vessie.

L'anencéphalie est une autre manifestation de malformation du tube neural et survient lorsque le cerveau ne se développe pas complètement ou lorsqu'il est totalement inexistant. Ce problème entraîne souvent une fausse couche. Lorsqu'ils sont vivants à la naissance, les bébés atteints d'anencéphalie ne survivent pas longtemps.

L'acide folique réduit les risques de malformations du tube neural

L'acide folique, ou folate, est une vitamine du groupe B. Il est essentiel au développement normal de la colonne vertébrale, du cerveau et du crâne de l'enfant, en particulier au cours des premières semaines de grossesse.

Des études ont démontré que la consommation quotidienne d'un supplément d'acide folique avant la conception et au début de la grossesse aide à réduire les risques de malformations du tube neural.

Certaines femmes sont plus à risque

S'il y a des cas de malformations du tube neural dans vos antécédents familiaux, vous devriez consulter votre médecin. Il pourrait vous conseiller d'augmenter votre dose quotidienne d'acide folique.

Si vous souffrez de diabète, d'obésité ou d'épilepsie, vous êtes peut-être plus à risque de donner naissance à un enfant qui a subi des malformations du tube neural. Vous devriez en discuter avec votre médecin avant de planifier une grossesse.

Mesures prises par Santé Canada en vue de prévenir les malformations du tube neural

Santé Canada a lancé, en mars 2002, une campagne nationale de sensibilisation qui insistait sur l'importance de l'acide folique dans la prévention des anomalies congénitales. Dans le cadre de cette campagne, Santé Canada collabore avec des intervenants, d'autres gouvernements et des professionnels de la santé pour veiller à ce que les Canadiennes en âge de procréer soient informées qu'elles peuvent réduire les risques de malformations du tube neural chez leur enfant en consommant de l'acide folique avant de tomber enceinte.

Dans le cadre de son mandat général qui est d'aider les Canadiens et les Canadiennes à maintenir et à améliorer leur état de santé, Santé Canada effectue des recherches sur les bienfaits d'une nutrition saine et élabore des lignes directrices nationales, dont le Guide alimentaire canadien pour manger sainement et Nutrition pour une grossesse en santé : lignes directrices nationales à l'intention des femmes en âge de procréer.

Pour minimiser les risques que votre enfant soit atteint

Si vous souhaitez être enceinte un jour, vous devriez :

  • Interroger votre médecin au sujet des bienfaits de l'acide folique. Si vous êtes plus à risque, il aura besoin de connaître vos antécédents familiaux pour vous recommander le supplément et la dose qui vous conviennent.
  • Adopter un régime alimentaire sain. La consommation d'un supplément vitaminique ne peut se substituer à un régime sain, tel que recommandé dans le Guide alimentaire canadien pour manger sainement. Les légumes vert foncé comme le brocoli, les épinards, les pois et les choux de Bruxelles sont d'excellentes sources d'acide folique. Le maïs, les pois secs, les haricots, les lentilles, les oranges et le jus d'orange sont également de bonnes sources.
  • Consultez un professionnel de la santé sur la façon de consommer de l'acide folique. Consommés en grande quantité, certains ingrédients contenus dans les multivitamines peuvent faire plus de mal que de bien.

Il n'est jamais trop tôt pour interroger votre médecin au sujet de l'acide folique. Les malformations du tube neural surviennent au cours des premières semaines de grossesse, souvent avant même que la femme ne sache qu'elle est enceinte.

Besoin de plus d'information?

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements et pour avoir accès à des liens utiles vers d'autres sources d'information, visitez Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Acide folique.

Pour obtenir des renseignements généraux sur la nutrition, rendez-vous à l'adresse suivante : Nutrition et saine alimentation.

Pour obtenir un exemplaire du Guide alimentaire canadien pour manger sainement ou de Nutrition pour une grossesse en santé : lignes directrices nationales à l'intention des femmes en âge de procréer, appelez (613) 954-5995

ou écrivez à :
Santé Canada, Publications
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0K9