Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Help the Government of Canada organize its website! Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.
Healthy Living

Type 2 Diabetes and Weight Gain from Insulin

It's Your Health

This article was produced in collaboration with the Public Health Agency of Canada.

Help on accessing alternative formats, such as Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word and PowerPoint (PPT) files, can be obtained in the alternate format help section.

On this page:

The Issue

Insulin is a medicine that may be used in the treatment of Type 2 diabetes. Treatment with insulin may lead to weight gain but this gain can be prevented by making healthy life style choices.

Background

Insulin is a hormone normally produced by the pancreas. It helps to keep blood sugar (glucose) at normal levels by moving glucose from the blood into the cells of your body. The cells then use glucose for the energy your body needs to function.

Normally, the pancreas secretes insulin when you eat. But if your body doesn't make insulin or cannot use it properly, glucose accumulates in the blood and the cells don't get enough sugar for energy. If this happens, your doctor may decide you need to be treated with insulin, in addition to diet, exercise and/or medicines, depending on your type of diabetes.

There are three types of Next link will take you to another Web site diabetes:

  • Next link will take you to another Web site Type 1 diabetes, (once called juvenile diabetes or insulin-dependent) diabetes, is usually diagnosed in children, teenagers, or young adults and cannot currently be prevented. Those with type 1 diabetes must take insulin because their bodies do not make it.
  • Type 2 diabetes, (once called adult-onset diabetes or non-insulin-dependent diabetes) is the most common form of diabetes. It starts when the body doesn't use insulin as it should. There are several options available to manage the disease. Some people may require only lifestyle modifications, including healthy eating and increased physical activity. Others may need to use oral diabetes medications (for example, metformin) and/or insulin, in addition to making lifestyle changes. You and your doctor should decide which option is the best for you.
  • Next link will take you to another Web site Gestational Diabetes is a condition where the body does not properly use insulin during pregnancy. This type of diabetes usually goes away after the baby is born. However, if this type of diabetes is not managed during pregnancy there may be complications for both the mother and the newborn. There is also an increased risk for type 2 diabetes for both mother and child later in life.

Risk Factors for Type 2 Diabetes

Many factors may affect your risk of developing Type 2 Diabetes. They include:

  • Pre-diabetes (having high blood sugar but not to the point of having diabetes)
  • Being overweight or obese
  • Advanced age
  • Having high blood pressure and/or high cholesterol
  • Physical inactivity
  • Having a family history of diabetes
  • Belonging to certain high-risk ethnic populations, such as Aboriginal, African, Hispanic, Asian
  • A history of gestational diabetes

Other associated conditions may include vascular disease, polycystic ovary syndrome or schizophrenia

Health Effects of Insulin Treatment in Type 2 Diabetes

One of the effects of taking insulin is an increased risk of weight gain. If the cells don't use all the sugar when insulin moves it from blood into the cells, it is stored as fat. If you continue to eat as you did before starting insulin, you may gain weight. This happens because before you started taking insulin, your body wasn't properly using all the glucose in the food you ate. But once you start taking insulin, your body uses food normally and you may be eating more food than your body needs to stay healthy.

Gaining weight can also make your body resistant to the effects of insulin. This means that you may need to take even more insulin to get glucose into your cells, causing a vicious cycle of weight gain and more insulin use, with the result that your diabetes is poorly managed. This pattern can make it more difficult to stay healthy.

Minimizing Your Risk

The best way to avoid unwanted weight gain in Type 2 diabetes is to adjust your calorie intake to the needs of your body and to increase your Next link will take you to another Web site physical activity. Any change in your activity level, eating patterns or insulin dose should be discussed with your doctor. Decreasing your insulin dosage without dietary adjustments to control your weight may lead to high blood glucose and put you at increased risk of complications from diabetes.

If you have diabetes or care for someone who has diabetes, take the following steps to help avoid weight gain:

  • Talk to your doctor about your condition and the best course to follow.
  • Consult a dietician to learn about the food choices you should be making.
  • Don't skip meals. It can seriously affect your blood sugar level.
  • Spread your calories throughout the day to steady your metabolism.
  • Get moving! Even moderate activity such as walking can help control your diabetes.
  • Ask your doctor about other diabetes medications.
  • Take your insulin as directed.

The Government of Canada's Role

Health Canada and the Next link will take you to another Web site Public Health Agency of Canada (PHAC) are committed to helping Canadians improve their health and well-being by promoting and supporting regular physical activity and healthy eating. They play a leadership role in chronic disease prevention and control across Canada and internationally.

The Government of Canada launched the Next link will take you to another Web site Canadian Diabetes Strategy (CDS) in 1999 in partnership with the Provinces and Territories, various national health organizations and interest groups, and Aboriginal communities across the country. The CDS sought to:

  • Increase public awareness about diabetes
  • Prevent diabetes where possible
  • Help Canadians living with diabetes better manage the disease and its complications.

In 2005, funding for the CDS was renewed at $18 million per year over 5 years. The renewed strategy focuses on:

  • Prevention of Type 2 Diabetes among high-risk populations
  • Early detection of Type 2 Diabetes
  • Management of Types 1 and 2 Diabetes and related complications.

The renewed strategy is targeted at populations who are at risk of developing Type 2 Diabetes.

In addition, in 2007-08, through the Next link will take you to another Web site Canadian Institutes of Health Research, the federal government invested $33 million in diabetes-related research. The Government is also taking action on obesity, a key risk factor for Type 2 Diabetes, through supporting community-based healthy living programs and initiatives such as the Next link will take you to another Web site Children's Fitness Tax Credit and the newly revised Food Guide and Next link will take you to another Web site Physical Activity Guides.

Inactive, overweight children are at an increased risk of developing Type 2 Diabetes. This is becoming more prevalent with the decreasing activity and exercise in children.

Need More Info?

To report a side effect (adverse reaction) or interaction involving a health product, including insulin, go to the MedEffect Canada web section

For more information on Diabetes see the following websites:

For information on healthy eating visit the following websites:

For information on physical activity visit the following websites:

For safety information about food, health and consumer products visit the Next link will take you to another Web site Safe Consumers website

For more articles on health and safety issues go to the It's Your Health web section.

You can also call toll free at 1-866-225-0709 or TTY at 1-800-465-7735*

Original : February 2011
Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, represented by the Minister of Health, 2010

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Vie Saine

Diabète de type 2 et prise de poids liée à l'insuline

Votre santé et vous

Cet article a été rédigé en collaboration avec l'Agence de santé publique du Canada.

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour accéder aux formats de rechange, tels que Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word et PowerPoint (PPT), visitez la section d'aide sur les formats de rechange.

Sur cette page :

Enjeu

L'insuline est un médicament utilisé pour traiter le diabète de type 2. L'insulinothérapie peut engendrer une prise de poids, mais l'adoption de saines habitudes permet de l'éviter.

Contexte

L'insuline est une hormone habituellement produite par le pancréas. Elle permet de maintenir le taux de sucre dans le sang (glycémie) à des niveaux normaux, transportant le glucose du sang vers les cellules de l'organisme, qui à leur tour l'utilisent pour produire l'énergie dont le corps a besoin pour fonctionner.

Habituellement, le pancréas sécrète de l'insuline lorsque vous mangez. Par contre, si votre organisme ne produit pas d'insuline ou n'arrive pas à l'utiliser convenablement, le glucose s'accumule dans le sang et les cellules n'obtiennent pas assez de sucre pour en tirer de l'énergie. Si c'est le cas, votre médecin pourrait vous suggérer l'insulinothérapie, et vous conseiller, en fonction du type de diabète dont vous souffrez, de changer votre alimentation, de faire de l'exercice et de prendre d'autres médicaments.

Il y existe trois types Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web de diabète :

  • Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Le diabète de type 1 (autrefois appelé diabète juvénile ou insulinodépendant), généralement diagnostiqué chez les enfants, les adolescents ou les jeunes adultes, est impossible à prévenir pour le moment. Les personnes atteintes de diabète de type 1 doivent prendre de l'insuline, car leur organisme n'en produit pas.
  • Le diabète de type 2, autrefois appelé diabète de l'adulte ou diabète non insulinodépendant, est la forme la plus commune de la maladie. Il se manifeste lorsque l'organisme n'utilise pas l'insuline convenablement. La maladie peut être prise en charge de diverses façons. Certaines personnes y parviennent simplement en modifiant leur mode de vie, en adoptant une saine alimentation et en étant physiquement plus actifs, tandis que d'autres peuvent avoir à prendre un médicaments (par exemple, la metformine) ou l'insuline en plus de modifier leur mode de vie. Votre médecin vous aidera à choisir l'option qui vous convient.
  • Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Le diabète gestationnel est une affection où l'organisme n'utilise pas correctement l'insuline pendant la grossesse. Ce type de diabète disparaît habituellement après la naissance du bébé. Or, s'il n'est pas pris en charge pendant la grossesse, il peut causer des complications tant pour la mère que pour le nouveau-né. Il existe aussi un risque accru de diabète de type 2 chez la mère et l'enfant par la suite.

Facteurs de risque du diabète de type 2

De nombreux facteurs peuvent influer sur votre risque d'être atteint de diabète de type 2 :

  • le prédiabète (un taux de glycémie élevé, mais pas assez pour souffrir de diabète)
  • l'embonpoint ou l'obésité
  • un âge avancé
  • l'hypertension ou un taux élevé de cholestérol
  • l'inactivité physique
  • des antécédents familiaux de diabète
  • l'appartenance à certains groupes vulnérable (Autochtones, Africains, Hispaniques et Asiatiques)
  • des antécédents de diabète gestationnel

Parmi les autres troubles de santé connexes, mentionnons les maladies vasculaires, le syndrome des ovaires polykystiques et la schizophrénie.

Effets sur la santé de l'insulinothérapie

Un des effets de la prise d'insuline est le risque accru de prendre du poids. Le sucre présent dans le sang qui n'est pas utilisé lorsque l'insuline le transporte vers les cellules est stocké sous forme de graisses. Si vous continuez de manger comme vous le faisiez avant de prendre de l'insuline, il se peut que vous preniez du poids. Cela se produit parce que, avant que vous commenciez votre insulinothérapie, votre organisme n'utilisait pas correctement tout le glucose contenu dans les aliments que vous consommiez, mais lorsque que vous preniez de l'insuline, votre organisme assimile normalement les aliments et il se peut que vous mangiez plus que ce dont votre organisme a besoin pour rester en santé.

La prise de poids peut aussi accroître la résistance de votre organisme aux effets de l'insuline. Il vous faudra alors prendre encore plus d'insuline pour permettre au glucose d'accéder à vos cellules, ce qui crée un cercle vicieux de prise de poids et d'augmentation de la dose d'insuline et fait en sorte que votre diabète n'est pas bien contrôlé. Il peut donc être plus difficile de rester en santé.

Réduire les risques

Le meilleur moyen d'éviter la prise de poids non désirée si vous souffrez de diabète de type 2 est d'ajuster votre apport en calories en fonction des besoins de votre organisme et d'accroître votre Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web activité physique. Vous devriez discuter avec votre médecin avant de modifier votre niveau d'activité, vos habitudes de consommation ou votre dose d'insuline. Si vous réduisez votre dose d'insuline sans ajuster votre alimentation pour contrôler votre poids, votre taux de glycémie risque d'être élevé, ce qui accroît la possibilité de complications liées au diabète.

Si vous souffrez de diabète ou que vous prenez soin d'une personne diabétique, les mesures qui suivent peuvent éviter la prise de poids :

  • Discutez avec votre médecin de votre maladie et de la meilleure voie à suivre.
  • Consultez un diététiste pour en savoir plus sur les aliments que vous devriez privilégier.
  • Ne sautez pas de repas, cela peut avoir un effet grave sur votre glycémie.
  • Répartissez vos calories tout au long de la journée pour stabiliser votre métabolisme.
  • Bougez ! Même une activité modérée comme la marche peut vous aider à contrôler votre diabète.
  • Informez-vous auprès de votre médecin au sujet d'autres médicaments antidiabétiques.
  • Prenez votre insuline conformément aux directives.

Le rôle du gouvernement du Canada

Santé Canada et Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web l'Agence de la santé publique du Canada (ASPC) prônent l'activité physique régulière et une saine alimentation pour aider les Canadiens à améliorer leur santé et leur bien-être. Ils jouent un rôle de chef de file dans le domaine de la prévention et du contrôle des maladies chroniques à l'échelle canadienne et internationale.

Le gouvernement du Canada a lancé Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web la Stratégie canadienne sur le diabète (SCD) en 1999, en partenariat avec les provinces et territoires, divers organismes et groupes d'intérêts et les collectivités autochtones dans l'ensemble du pays. La SCD vise à :

  • à sensibiliser le public au sujet du diabète
  • à prévenir le diabète là où c'est possible
  • à aider les Canadiens atteints du diabète à mieux gérer la maladie et ses complications.

En 2005, la SCD obtenait un nouvel investissement de 18 millions de dollars par année pendant cinq ans. La stratégie renouvelée est axée sur :

  • la prévention du diabète de type 2 chez les gourpes vulnérables
  • le dépistage précoce du diabète de type 2
  • la gestion du diabète de type 1 et 2 et des complications connexes.

La stratégie renouvelée vise les groupes vulnérables au diabète de type 2.

En 2007-2008, le gouvernement fédéral, par l'intermédiaire Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web des Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada, a investi 33 millions de dollars dans la recherche liée au diabète. Le gouvernement intervient aussi dans le domaine de l'obésité, un important facteur de risque de diabète de type 2, et soutient des programmes et initiatives communautaires axés sur les modes de vie sains, comme Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web le Crédit d'impôt pour la condition physique des enfants et les versions nouvellement révisées du Guide alimentaire et Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web des Guides d'activité physique.

Les enfants inactifs qui ont un excès de poids courent un risque accru de développer le diabète de type 2. Le problème s'aggrave avec le déclin de l'activité et de l'exercice chez les enfants.

Pour en savoir plus...

Pour signaler un effet indésirable ou une interaction mettant en cause un produit de santé, dont l'insuline, consultez le site Web de MedEffet Canada

Pour vous renseigner sur le diabète, consultez les sites Web suivants :

Pour vous renseigner sur la saine alimentation, consultez les sites Web suivants :

Pour vous renseigner sur l'activité physique, consultez les sites Web ci-dessous :

Pour plus d'information sur la salubrité alimentaire, la santé et les produits de consommation, visitez le site Consommateurs en sécurité.

Des articles complémentaires sur les questions de santé et de sécurité se retrouvent sur le section de Votre santé et vous.

Vous pouvez aussi téléphoner sans frais au 1 866 225-0709 ou au 1 800-465-7735* pour les malentendants.

Original : février 2011
© Sa Majesté la reine du Chef du Canada, représentée par la ministre de la Santé, 2010