Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Help the Government of Canada organize its website! Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.
Healthy Living

The Safety and Effectiveness of Generic Drugs

It's Your Health

Help on accessing alternative formats, such as Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word and PowerPoint (PPT) files, can be obtained in the alternate format help section.

On this page:

The issue

More and more, generic drugs are being used to fill prescriptions. Canadians want to be sure that generic drugs are as safe and effective as brand name drugs.

Generic drugs

A generic drug is a copy of a brand name product, known as the 'reference product'. Generic drugs contain the same medicinal ingredients as the brand name drug, and are considered bioequivalent to the reference product. There may be many generic versions of the same reference product.

Nearly 45% of all prescriptions filled by pharmacies use generic drugs, and some hospitals use generic drugs almost exclusively. Chances are that you have received a generic drug at some time, whether you realize it or not.

Ensuring the quality of generic drugs

The quality standards for brand name drugs and generic drugs are the same. The ingredients, manufacturing processes and facilities for all drugs must meet the federal guidelines for Good Manufacturing Practices. As well, all drug manufacturers must perform a series of tests, both during and after production, to show that every drug batch made meets the requirements for that product.

The generic drug must contain the same amount of medicinal ingredient as the brand name reference product. However, non-medicinal ingredients, like fillers and ingredients that colour the drug, may be different from those of the brand name product. The generic manufacturer must provide studies showing that the different non-medicinal ingredients have not changed the quality, safety or effectiveness of the generic drug.

To prove that their products are safe and effective, generic drug manufacturers must demonstrate that the generic drug performs similarly to the brand name drug.

The studies that compare the generic drug with the brand name drug are called "comparative bioavailability" studies. In these studies, the level of a medicinal ingredient in the blood of healthy human volunteers is measured. During the studies, each volunteer gets the brand name drug and the new generic drug. The generic drug must show that it delivers the same amount of medicinal ingredient at the same rate as the brand name drug.

Generally speaking, some drugs, like those injected directly into the blood stream, do not need comparative bioavailability testing. Other drugs, like ointments and creams applied on skin, may not be suitable for comparative bioavilability testing. In these cases, other methods may be used, like comparing the clinical effect of the generic drug with the brand name drug.

The Government of Canada's role

Health Canada is responsible for evaluating generic drugs for their safety, effectiveness and quality. The process for evaluating drug products is constantly being improved and updated to keep up with international standards of regulatory approval.

For more information

To report a side effect (adverse reaction) or drug interaction for any health product, contact Health Canada at 1-866-234-2345 (toll free in Canada), or visit the MedEffect Canada web section

For industry and professionals

Related resources

  • For safety information about food, health and consumer products, visit the Healthy Canadians website.
  • For more articles on health and safety issues go to the It's Your Health web section.

You can also call toll free at 1-866-225-0709 or TTY at 1-800-465-7735*

Updated: April 2012
Original: April 2001
ęHer Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, represented by the Minister of Health, 2012

Catalogue # H13-7/115-2011E-PDF
ISBN # 978-1-100-19764-7

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Vie saine

Innocuité et efficacité des médicaments génériques

Votre santé et vous

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour accéder aux formats de rechange, tels que Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word et PowerPoint (PPT), visitez la section d'aide sur les formats de rechange.

Sur cette page :

Enjeu

On choisit de plus en plus les marques génériques pour exécuter les ordonnances et les Canadiens veulent être sûrs qu'elles sont aussi inoffensives et efficaces que les médicaments d'origine.

Médicament générique

Un médicament générique est une reproduction d'un médicament d'origine, connu sous le nom de produit de référence. Le médicament générique contient les mêmes ingrédients médicamenteux que le médicament d'origine et est considéré comme équivalent au produit de référence sur le plan thérapeutique. Il peut exister plusieurs versions génériques d'un même produit de référence.

Près de 45 % de toutes les ordonnances exécutées en pharmacie utilisent une marque générique, et certains hôpitaux utilisent presque exclusivement des médicaments génériques. Il y a de fortes chances que l'on vous ait déjà prescrit un médicament générique, que vous en soyez conscient ou non.

Garantir la qualité des médicaments génériques

Les normes de qualité sont les mêmes pour les médicaments d'origine ou génériques. Les ingrédients, procédés de fabrication et installations pour tous les médicaments doivent se conformer aux directives fédérales sur les pratiques exemplaires de fabrication. Tous les fabricants de médicaments doivent effectuer, pendant et après la production, une série de tests montrant que chaque lot de médicaments respecte les exigences pour ce produit.

Le médicament générique doit contenir la même quantité d'ingrédients médicamenteux que le produit de référence. Toutefois, les ingrédients non médicamenteux, comme les excipients et les ingrédients qui donnent au médicament sa couleur, peuvent différer de ceux du produit d'origine. Le fabricant de médicaments génériques doit fournir des études démontrant que les différents ingrédients non médicamenteux n'ont pas altéré la qualité, l'innocuité ou l'efficacité du médicament générique.

Pour prouver que leurs produits sont inoffensifs et efficaces, les fabricants de médicaments génériques doivent démontrer que le médicament proposé a la même efficacité que le médicament d'origine.

Les études qui permettent de comparer le médicament générique et le médicament d'origine s'intitulent études comparatives de biodisponibilité. Dans ces études, on mesure le taux d'un ingrédient médicamenteux dans le sang de volontaires en santé. Chaque participant à l'étude reçoit le médicament d'origine et le nouveau médicament générique. On doit démontrer que le médicament générique fournit la même quantité d'ingrédients médicamenteux au même taux que le médicament d'origine. Certains médicaments, comme ceux qu'on injecte directement dans le sang, ne se prêtent pas à de telles études. D'autres médicaments, comme les onguents et les crèmes appliquées sur la peau, ne se prêtent pas aux essais comparatifs de biodisponibilité. Dans ces cas, on peut recourir à d'autres méthodes, comme la comparaison des effets cliniques du médicament générique et du médicament d'origine.

Le rôle du gouvernement du Canada

Il incombe à Santé Canada d'évaluer les médicaments génériques, de veiller à leur innocuité, à leur efficacité et à leur qualité. Le procédé d'évaluation des produits pharmaceutiques fait l'objet de mises à jour et d'améliorations constantes afin de respecter les normes internationales d'approbation réglementaire.

Pour en savoir plus

Pour déclarer une réaction ou une interaction indésirable à tout produit de santé, veuillez communiquer avec Santé Canada, au 1-866-234-2345 (sans frais au Canada), ou consulter la section MedEffet Canada

Pour l'industrie et les professionnels

Ressources connexes

  • Pour en savoir plus sur la sécurité des produits alimentaires, de santé et de consommation, consultez le site Web Canadiens en santé.
  • Vous trouverez d'autres articles sur la santé et la sécurité dans la section Votre santé et vous du site Web.

Vous pouvez également composer sans frais le 1-866-225-0709 ou le 1-800-465-7735* pour les malentendants.

Dernière mise à jour : avril 2012
Original : avril 2001
© Sa Majesté la Reine du Chef du Canada, représentée par le ministre de la Santé, 2012

No de catalogue : H13-7/115-2011F-PDF
No ISBN : 978-1-100-98388-2