Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Healthy Living

Medical Test Kits for Home Use

It's Your Health

Help on accessing alternative formats, such as Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word and PowerPoint (PPT) files, can be obtained in the alternate format help section.

On this page:

The Issue

A growing number of Canadians are using medical test kits in their homes to diagnose or monitor certain health conditions. These test kits are considered to be medical devices. Like all medical devices, they provide potential benefits, but they can also present risks.

Background

Advances in technology have made it possible for Canadians to self test for a variety of medical conditions. Medical test kits for home use can help do the following:

  • Diagnose a health condition: An example of this type of kit is a home pregnancy test.
  • Monitor an illness: These kits monitor health conditions and provide information about whether treatment may need to be adjusted. An example is glucose testing to monitor blood sugar levels in people with diabetes.
  • Screen for an illness or a health condition: These kits are intended to screen for health conditions or diseases in people who appear to be healthy. For example, people might use this type of kit to measure cholesterol or triglyceride levels. Depending on the readings, they might then make choices to help minimize their risk for heart disease.

Some of the benefits of using home test kits are obvious. They can help you take an active role in monitoring and even improving your health. They offer privacy because the tests are conducted at home. In many cases, the tests also provide quick results, sometimes in a matter of minutes.

But health and sickness are very complex issues. It is important to realize that do-it-yourself medical tests are not a replacement for professional health care. Medical kits for self-testing are best used when they are part of a comprehensive program that is supervised by a health care professional.

The Safety and Effectiveness of Home-Use Test Kits

Home-use test kits are medical devices, and medical devices must be licensed by Health Canada before companies can sell them in Canada. The licence from Health Canada provides the assurance that the product is safe and effective when used as directed. It is important to be sure that the product being used is licensed by Health Canada. See the Need More Info? section for more on this.

Risks Associated with Home-Use Medical Tests

Some companies advertise and sell test kits over the Internet and/or by mail order. In some cases, the products they offer may not be licensed for sale in Canada. If you send money to companies that are not reliable and reputable, you may end up getting a defective product, or no product at all. A defective test kit may indicate a health condition when none is present. Worse, it may fail to identify a condition you do have.

Legitimate companies will market their products using legal distribution channels. An unlicensed test kit (bought from either a foreign or a Canadian supplier) very likely does not meet Canadian requirements of safety and effectiveness.

Even when test kits have been licensed by Health Canada, the results may not be 100% accurate. Faulty results can happen if all of the directions for storing and using the test kits are not followed. Sometimes people try to save money by doing things like cutting glucose test strips in half so they will last twice as long, or trying to "mix and match" parts from different kits. Tampering with the contents of a test kit means you are less likely to end up with accurate results.

If you don't consult a qualified health care professional, there is also a significant chance that you may interpret test results incorrectly and/or decide to change your treatment or lifestyle unnecessarily. Interpreting test results should always be part of a comprehensive health assessment.

Minimizing Your Risk

The following steps will help to minimize the risks associated with home-use medical tests:

Remember that do-it-yourself tests are not a replacement for a qualified health care professional. These tests are best used as part of an overall approach to health that is supervised by a qualified health care professional.

When buying a test:

  • Always buy the test kit from a reliable source. If you are unsure, ask a health care professional for advice.
  • Make sure that the product has been licensed by Health Canada (see Need More Info? below). Remember, buying an unlicensed test kit increases the chances that the test is unreliable, because it is not subject to Canadian standards.
  • Check to see if there is an expiry date on the package.

Read and follow the directions for storing the test kit. If you don't store the test kit properly, it could affect the accuracy of the test results.

Before using the test:

  • Read the label and directions carefully. Be sure you understand exactly what you are supposed to do and follow the directions exactly as described.
  • Become familiar with the limitations of the test. Be aware of what alarms and error messages mean. Make sure you know what to do if the device fails.

After conducting the test:

  • Remember that tests may not be 100% accurate. Test results should always be evaluated in the context of your overall health and in consultation with a qualified health care professional.
  • Do not take any action or make drastic changes to your treatment without first consulting your health care professional.
  • See your doctor if you are feeling sick or worried, or if the test instructions recommend it.
  • Report any problems with test kits to Health Canada's Medical Devices Inspectorate Hotline, at 1-800-267-9675 (toll-free in Canada). Health Canada does follow up on reported problems, and your call can help ensure that the medical devices available in Canada are safe and effective.

Health Canada's Role

Medical devices, including test kits for home use, must be licensed by Health Canada before companies are allowed to import and sell them in this country. The Medical Devices Regulations require that all medical devices imported and sold in Canada be safe, effective, and of quality manufacture. This is achieved through both a pre-market review of medical devices (before licensing), and post-market surveillance of problems and adverse events (after licensing).

Need More Info?

To report problems with medical devices, visit Health Canada's Health Product and Food Branch Inspectorate website.

For more information visit the following web pages:

For safety information about food, health and consumer products, visit theHealthy Canadians website

For more articles on health and safety issues, go to the It's Your Health web section.

You can also call toll free at 1-866-225-0709 or TTY at 1-800-465-7735*.

Updated: May 2011
Original: September 2005
ęHer Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, represented by the Minister of Health, 2005

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Vie saine

Trousses d'autodiagnostic médical

Votre santé et vous

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour accéder aux formats de rechange, tels que Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word et PowerPoint (PPT), visitez la section d'aide sur les formats de rechange.

Sur cette page :

Enjeu

De plus en plus de Canadiens utilisent des trousses d'autodiagnostic médical pour surveiller leur état de santé. Considérés comme des instruments médicaux, ces trousses peuvent offrir des avantages, mais elles peuvent aussi comporter des risques.

Contexte

Grâce aux progrès technologiques, les Canadiens peuvent effectuer eux-mêmes des tests qui permettent notamment de :

  • diagnostiquer un état physique : le test de grossesse à domicile en est un bon exemple ;
  • surveiller une maladie : ce type de test permet de surveiller divers problèmes de santé et de savoir si le traitement doit être rectifié ; par exemple, le test de glycémie permet aux personnes diabétiques de surveiller leur taux de sucre sanguin;
  • dépister une maladie ou un problème de santé : ces trousses permettent de dépister divers problèmes de santé ou maladies chez des personnes qui semblent en bonne santé. Par exemple, on peut utiliser ce type de test pour mesurer le taux de cholestérol ou de triglycéride. Selon les résultats, on peut ensuite faire des choix susceptibles de réduire le risque de maladies cardiaques.

Certains avantages des trousses d'autodiagnostic médical sont évidents. Ils peuvent vous aider à jouer un rôle actif dans le suivi, voire l'amélioration de votre santé. Ils se font dans l'intimité de votre maison. Souvent, ils permettent d'obtenir des résultats rapides, voire en quelques minutes.

Toutefois, la santé et la maladie sont des questions fort complexes. Il est important de se rappeler qu'une trousse d'autodiagnostic médical ne peut remplacer un professionnel de la santé. Les trousses d'autodiagnostic médical sont utiles lorsqu'on les utilise dans le cadre d'un traitement intégré, sous la supervision d'un professionnel de la santé.

Sécurité et efficacité des trousses d'autodiagnostic médical

Les trousses d'autodiagnostic sont des instruments médicaux et, à ce titre, doivent être homologuées par Santé Canada avant d'être offertes au Canada. L'homologation de Santé Canada garantit que le produit est efficace et sécuritaire lorsqu'il est utilisé selon les directives. Il est important de s'assurer que Santé Canada a homologué le produit. Consultez la section Pour en savoir plus. pour vous renseigner sur la façon de procéder.

Risques associés aux trousses d'autodiagnostic médical

Certaines entreprises commercialisent et vendent des trousses d'autodiagnostic médical sur Internet ou par correspondance. Dans certains cas, il est possible que le produit offert ne soit pas homologué au Canada. Si vous envoyez de l'argent à une entreprise qui n'est pas digne de confiance, vous risquez de recevoir un produit défectueux ou de ne rien recevoir. Un test défectueux pourrait indiquer la présence d'un problème de santé inexistant ou, pire, il pourrait échouer à déceler un problème existant.

Les entreprises légitimes utilisent des canaux légaux pour distribuer leurs produits. Il y a de fortes chances qu'une trousse non homologuée (qu'elle soit achetée d'un fournisseur étranger ou canadien) ne soit pas conforme aux exigences canadiennes de sécurité et d'efficacité.

Même si la trousse est homologuée par Santé Canada, les résultats peuvent ne pas être exacts à 100 %. Les résultats peuvent être erronés si l'utilisateur n'a pas suivi les directives d'entreposage et d'utilisation. Il arrive que par souci d'économie, des personnes coupent en deux les bâtonnets diagnostiques afin d'en doubler la durée ou qu'elles combinent certaines pièces de différentes trousses. Si vous altérez le contenu d'une trousse, il se peut que les résultats soient erronés.

Par ailleurs, si vous ne consultez pas un professionnel de la santé qualifié, vous risquez de mal interpréter les résultats et de modifier votre traitement ou votre mode de vie sans raison valable. L'interprétation des résultats devrait toujours faire partie d'un bilan médical complet.

Réduire les risques

Les étapes suivantes vous aideront à réduire les risques associés aux trousses d'autodiagnostic :

N'oubliez pas qu'une trousse d'autodiagnostic médical ne peut remplacer un professionnel qualifié de la santé. Il est préférable d'utiliser ces tests dans le cadre d'une approche sanitaire intégrée, sous la supervision d'un professionnel de la santé qualifié.

À l'achat d'une trousse :

  • Achetez la trousse auprès d'une source fiable. Si vous êtes incertain, demandez conseil à un professionnel de la santé.
  • Assurez-vous que le produit est homologué par Santé Canada (voir la rubrique Pour plus d'information ci-après). N'oubliez pas que si vous utilisez une trousse non homologuée, il se peut que le test ne soit pas fiable, car il n'est pas assujetti aux normes canadiennes.
  • Vérifiez s'il y a une date d'expiration sur l'emballage.

Assurez-vous de lire et de suivre les directives d'entreposage, sinon les résultats risques d'être erronés.

Avant d'utiliser le test :

  • Lisez l'étiquette et les directives attentivement. Assurez¬-vous de bien comprendre ce que vous devez faire et suivez les directives à la lettre.
  • Assurez-vous de bien connaître les limitations du test, la signification des alertes et messages d'erreur. Assurez-vous que vous savez quoi en cas d'échec.

Après avoir fait le test :

  • N'oubliez pas que les résultats ne sont pas exacts à 100 %. Il faut toujours les évaluer dans le contexte de votre état de santé global, de concert avec un professionnel de la santé qualifié.
  • Ne prenez aucune décision et n'apportez pas de changements radicaux à votre traitement avant d'en parler avec votre professionnel de la santé.
  • Consultez votre médecin si vous vous sentez malade ou inquiet, ou si les instructions du test le recommandent.
  • Signalez tout problème concernant une trousse d'autodiagnostic médical à l'Inspectorat des instruments médicaux de Santé Canada, au 1 800 267-9675 (sans frais au Canada). Santé Canada assure le suivi des problèmes signalés ; votre appel nous aidera à faire en sorte que les instruments médicaux offerts au Canada soient efficaces et sécuritaires.

Rôle de Santé Canada

Les instruments médicaux, y compris les tests d'autodiagnostic médical, doivent être homologués par Santé Canada avant d'être importés et vendus au Canada. Le Règlement sur les instruments médicaux exige que tous les instruments médicaux importés et vendus au Canada soient sécuritaires, efficaces et fabriqués selon des normes de qualité. Cela requiert un examen préalable des instruments médicaux (avant l'homologation) et une surveillance après-vente des événements indésirables (après l'homologation).

Pour en savoir plus...

Vous pouvez signaler un problème d'instrument médical dans le site de l'Inspectorat de la Direction générale des produits de santé et des aliments

Pour plus d'information, consultez les pages Web suivantes :

Pour plus d'information sur les aliments, la santé et les produits de consommation Canadiens en Santé

Des articles complémentaires sur les questions de santé et de sécurité se retrouvent sur la section de Votre santé et vous

Vous pouvez aussi composer sans frais le 1 866 225-0709 ou le 1 800 267-1245*(ATS).

Mise à jour : mai 2011
Original : septembre 2005
©Sa Majesté la Reine du Chef du Canada, représentée par le Ministre de la Santé, 2005