Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Healthy Living

Adulteration of Natural Health Products

It's Your Health

Help on accessing alternative formats, such as Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word and PowerPoint (PPT) files, can be obtained in the alternate format help section.

On this page:

The Issue

Many natural health products (NHPs) have a history of safe use. But some products marketed or represented as NHPs have been adulterated. Products that are adulterated contain substances that are not declared on the label, including drug products or other potentially dangerous ingredients. If you use one of these products, you will be exposed to the added drugs or substances without your knowledge, which may present serious risks to your health.

Background

"Natural health product" (NHP) is an expression used in Canada to refer to a group of health products, including:

  • vitamin and mineral supplements
  • herbal and other plant-based health products
  • traditional medicines (like Traditional Chinese medicines and Ayurvedic or East Indian medicines)
  • homeopathic medicines
  • omega-3 and other essential fatty acids
  • amino acid supplements
  • probiotics
  • some personal care products like toothpastes and mouthwashes with fluoride, and anti-perspirants.

Health Canada assesses NHPs for their safety, effectiveness and quality before they are authorized for sale in Canada. NHPs that have been licensed by Health Canada are labelled with either a Natural Product Number (NPN) or a Homeopathic Medicine Number (DIN-HM).

Despite this licensing process, it is still possible to get unauthorized NHPs through retail stores or other routes (like the Internet and/or importing them from other countries). Buying unauthorized products may increase your chances of being exposed to products that have not been regulated and verified for safety and quality.

The adulteration of health products that are promoted as "natural" but contain prescription and non-prescription drugs have become a worldwide problem, especially those promoted for weight loss, body building, erectile dysfunction, sleep problems, inflammatory conditions and treatment of diabetes.

Health Risks of Adulterated Health Products

There are several potential health risks if you use products containing undeclared drugs (or other substances):

  • The adulterated product is promoted as "safe," "natural" and without side effects, when in reality, the undeclared drug has known side effects.
  • The undeclared drug may not be recommended for the disease or health condition you have.
  • You may be allergic to the undeclared drug.
  • The adulterated product may contain a dose that exceeds the maximum daily recommended dose for the drug ingredient.
  • The undeclared drug may not be authorized for sale in Canada, or no longer sold in Canada because of related health concerns.
  • There may be more than one undeclared drug in the product, increasing the risk of possible drug interactions and serious health effects.
  • The undeclared drug may interact with certain foods and/or other health products that you may be using.
  • In some cases, the undeclared drug(s) may be analogues, which are chemical compounds similar in structure to prescription drugs. The safety of these compounds may not be known or have been assessed by Health Canada, and may present a health risk.

The following are examples of drugs that have been found in unauthorized "herbal" or "natural" health products promoted for weight loss, erectile dysfunction, sleep problems and inflammatory conditions.

Drugs that have been found in products promoted as NHPs for weight loss:

  • Sibutramine - a drug previously used to treat obesity. This drug was withdrawn from the Canadian market because of an increased risk of serious cardiovascular side effects. Other side effects related to sibutramine include increased blood pressure and heart rate, dry mouth, difficulty sleeping and constipation.
  • Fenfluramine - a drug previously used to treat obesity. It is no longer authorized for sale in Canada because of its association with severe lung disease and heart valve disease. Other side effects related to fenfluramine include headache, drowsiness, dizziness, palpitation, diarrhea and dry mouth.
  • Phenolphthalein - a drug previously used as a laxative. It is no longer authorized for sale in Canada because it may cause cancer. Other side effects related to phenolphthalein include decreased blood pressure, skin rash and gastrointestinal bleeding.

Drugs that have been found in products promoted as NHPs for erectile dysfunction/sexual enhancement:

  • Sildenafil, Tadalafil, Vardenafil - these are prescription drugs used to treat erectile dysfunction. They should never be used by people taking any kind of nitrate drug (like nitroglycerine), as life-threatening low blood pressure may result. For people with heart problems, there is an increased risk of side effects like heart attack, stroke, chest pain, high blood pressure, and abnormal heart beat. Other side effects include headache, facial flushing, indigestion, dizziness, abnormal vision and hearing loss.
  • An increasing problem with "herbal" or "natural" unauthorized products promoted for erectile dysfunction is that they contain analogues of erectile dysfunction drugs. Analogues are compounds that are structurally similar to the original drug compound, (like sildenafil, tadalafil, or vardenafil). Although they may have side effects similar to the original drug compound, they may also have slightly or entirely different side effects and/or interactions. Analogues of erectile dysfunction drugs have not been reviewed for their safety, effectiveness or quality, and have not been authorized for sale in Canada.

Drugs that have been found in products promoted as NHPs for sleep problems:

  • Benzodiazepines - these are a class of prescription drugs (including estazolam and clonazepam) used to treat conditions like insomnia, anxiety, seizures, muscle spasms and alcohol withdrawal. Side effects may include drowsiness, dizziness, slurred speech, headache, depression and fatigue. Also, people with certain diseases (like glaucoma and myasthenia gravis) should not use benzodiazepines.

Drugs that have been found in topical products (products used on the skin) and promoted as NHPs for inflammatory conditions:

  • Corticosteroids - these are steroidal prescription drugs used to treat inflammatory conditions, like arthritis, allergies, and skin problems like psoriasis and eczema. Side effects include irregular heartbeat, increased blood pressure, stomach ulcer, blood disorders, skin, muscle and bone damage, and nervous system disorders. Abruptly stopping the use of corticosteroids may cause symptoms of withdrawal, so it is important to talk to your health care provider before doing so.

It is important to remember that ingredients licensed for sale in Canada as prescription drugs should only be used under the supervision of a health care provider. You should never use drugs not authorized for sale in Canada (not licensed as a prescription drug or over-the-counter product, withdrawn from the market, or analogue).

Minimizing Your Risk

The following steps will help you minimize your potential risk:

  • Choose NHPs that have been reviewed and authorized for sale by Health Canada. They will have an eight-digit Natural Product Number (NPN) or a Homeopathic Medicine Number (DIN-HM) on the label. This is particularly important if you choose to buy NHPs over the Internet. Consumers may also find NHPs that have been issued Exemption Number (EN), meaning that they can be legally sold in Canada while Health Canada completes its review of the licence application.
  • Tell your health care provider about all health products you are using, including NHPs.
  • If you think you are having a side effect (adverse reaction) to an NHP, talk to your health care provider. Be sure to mention the other health products and substances you are using, including prescription and over-the-counter drugs, other NHPs, alcohol and special foods. This will help avoid potentially harmful interactions.
  • Report side effects (adverse reactions) to Health Canada.
  • Check out Health Canada's MedEffect Canada website (see the link in the Need More Info? section below) to report a side effect and for new safety information, including warnings and advisories. You can also subscribe to the MedEffect e-Notice.
  • If you choose to buy NHPs online, avoid doing business with a website that:
    • refuses to give you a street address and telephone number
    • claims to have a "miracle cure" for any serious condition
    • sells NHPs that do not have either a Natural Product Number (NPN) or a Homeopathic Medicine Number (DIN-HM) on the label

Health Canada's Role

Health Canada helps to make sure Canadians have ready access to NHPs that are safe, effective and of high quality. As part of this work, Heath Canada assesses the benefits and risks of natural health products, monitors and assesses side effects (adverse reactions), and communicates information about risks to health professionals and the public.

Need More Info?

To report an adverse reaction or interaction involving any health product, contact Health Canada at 1-866-234-2345 (toll free in Canada), or visit the MedEffect Canada web section

For more information about Natural Health Products and the safe use of medicines, see the following Health Canada web sections:

It's Your Health articles:

For safety information about food, health and consumer products, visit the Safe Consumers website

For more articles on health and safety issues, go to the It's Your Health web section

You can also call toll free at 1-866-225-0709 or TTY at 1-800-465-7735*.

Original: March 2011
ęHer Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, represented by the Minister of Health, 2011

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Vie saine

Produits de santé naturels adultérés

Votre santé et vous

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour accéder aux formats de rechange, tels que Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word et PowerPoint (PPT), visitez la section d'aide sur les formats de rechange.

Sur cette page :

L'enjeu

De nombreux produits de santé naturels sont sans danger. Cependant, certains produits commercialisés ou présentés comme naturels ont été adultérés et contiennent des substances non indiquées sur l'étiquette, y compris des médicaments d'ordonnance ou autres ingrédients pouvant être nocifs. Si vous consommez l'un de ces produits, vous vous exposez, à votre insu, à des médicaments ou substances qui peuvent entraîner des risques graves pour votre santé.

Contexte

Au Canada, l'expression produits de santé naturels fait référence à des produits tels que :

  • les suppléments vitaminiques et de minéraux
  • les produits à base d'herbes médicinales ou à base de plantes médicinales
  • les remèdes traditionnels (chinois, ayurvédiques ou indiens)
  • les remèdes homéopathiques
  • les oméga-3 et autres acides gras essentiels
  • les suppléments d'acides aminés
  • les probiotiques
  • certains produits de soins personnels comme les dentifrices et les rince-bouche fluorés, ainsi que les désodorisants.

Santé Canada évalue l'innocuité, l'efficacité et la qualité des produits de santé naturels avant de les homologuer. L'étiquette des produits de santé naturels que Santé Canada a homologués arbore un numéro de produit naturel (NPN) ou un numéro de remède homéopathique (DIN-HM).

Il demeure néanmoins possible de se procurer des produits non homologués dans des magasins de détail, sur Internet ou encore de les importer. L'achat de produits non homologués peut accroître le risque d'exposition à des produits non réglementés dont l'innocuité et la qualité n'ont pas été vérifiées.

L'adultération de produits prétendument naturels, mais contenant des médicaments sur ordonnance ou en vente libre est devenue un problème d'envergure mondiale, surtout les produits vendus pour la perte de poids, le culturisme, la dysérection, les troubles du sommeil, les affections inflammatoires et le traitement du diabète.

Risques pour la santé liés aux produits adultérés

Il y a plusieurs risques possibles si vous consommez des produits contenant des médicaments (ou autres substances) non déclarés :

  • Le produit adultéré est présumé sans danger, naturel et sans effets secondaires, alors qu'en réalité, le médicament non déclaré a des effets secondaires connus.
  • La substance pharmaceutique non déclarée pourrait être déconseillée pour votre condition ou votre état de santé.
  • Vous pourriez être allergique à une substance pharmaceutique non déclarée.
  • Le produit adultéré peut contenir une dose excédant la posologie quotidienne maximale recommandée pour la substance pharmaceutique non déclarée.
  • La substance pharmaceutique non déclarée pourrait ne pas être homologuée au Canada ou ne plus s'y vendre en raison de risques sanitaires.
  • Le produit pourrait contenir plus d'une substance pharmaceutique non déclarée, augmentant le risque d'interaction médicamenteuse et d'effets graves sur la santé.
  • La substance pharmaceutique non déclarée pourrait interagir avec certains aliments et/ou d'autres produits de santé que vous utilisez.
  • Parfois, les médicaments non déclarés peuvent être analogues, c'est-à-dire que leur structure chimique est similaire à celle de médicaments d'ordonnance. Il se peut que l'innocuité de ces composés soit inconnue ou que Santé Canada ne les ait pas évalués, de sorte qu'ils peuvent présenter un risque pour la santé.

Voici quelques exemples de médicaments qu'on a trouvés dans des produits supposément naturels ou à base de plantes médicinales non homologués vendus pour la perte de poids, la dysérection, les troubles du sommeil ou les affections inflammatoires.

Produits vendus pour la perte de poids :

  • La sibutramine - ce médicament déjà utilisé pour traiter l'obésité a été retiré du marché canadien en raison d'un risque accru d'effets secondaires cardiovasculaires graves. Hypertension artérielle, accélération du rythme cardiaque, bouche sèche, difficulté du sommeil et constipation sont d'autres effets secondaires possibles.
  • La fenfluramine - ce médicament déjà utilisé pour traiter l'obésité n'est plus homologué au Canada en raison du lien avec une maladie pulmonaire et une valvulopathie graves. Maux de tête, somnolence, étourdissements, palpitations, diarrhée et bouche sèche sont d'autres effets secondaires possibles.
  • La phénolphtaléine - ce médicament déjà utilisé comme laxatif n'est plus homologué au Canada, car il peut causer le cancer. Chute de pression artérielle, éruption cutanée et hémorragie gastrointestinale sont d'autres effets secondaires possibles.

Produits vendus pour la dysérection ou l'amélioration de la performance sexuelle :

  • Le sildénafil, le tadalafil et le vardénafil - Ces médicaments d'ordonnance sont utilisés pour traiter la dysérection et sont déconseillés aux personnes prenant des médicaments à base de nitrate (comme la nitroglycérine), car ils peuvent entraîner une chute de pression artérielle potentiellement mortelle. Pour les gens ayant des troubles cardiaques, il y a un risque accru d'effets secondaires tels que crise cardiaque, accident cérébrovasculaire, douleurs thoraciques, hypertension artérielle et arythmie cardiaque. Maux de tête, rougeurs au visage, indigestion, étourdissements, vision anormale la déficience auditive sont d'autres effets secondaires possibles.
  • Le problème avec les produits non homologués à base d'herbes médicinales ou naturels vendus pour la dysérection, c'est qu'ils contiennent de plus ne plus fréquemment certains analogues aux médicaments pour traiter la dysérection. Les analogues sont des composés similaires sur le plan structurel à ceux du médicament d'origine (sildénafil, tadalafil ou vardénafil). Bien qu'ils puissent avoir des effets secondaires similaires à ceux du médicament d'origine, ils peuvent aussi avoir des effets secondaires et/ou des interactions légèrement ou totalement différent(e)s. Les analogues de médicaments pour traiter la dysérection n'ont pas fait l'objet d'examen pour en évaluer l'innocuité, l'efficacité et la qualité, et n'ont pas été homologués.

Produits vendus pour les troubles du sommeil :

  • Benzodiazépines - classe de médicaments d'ordonnance (comprenant l'estazolam et le clonazépam) utilisée pour traiter des affections comme l'insomnie, l'angoisse, les crises épileptiques, les spasmes musculaires et le sevrage alcoolique. Somnolence, étourdissements, troubles d'élocution, maux de tête, dépression et fatigue sont des effets secondaires possibles. Les benzodiazépines sont déconseillées aux personnes atteintes de certaines maladies (comme le glaucome et la myasthénie).

Produits topiques (à appliquer sur la peau) vendus pour les affections inflammatoires :

  • Corticostéroïdes - Ces médicaments d'ordonnance stéroïdiens sont utilisés pour traiter des affections inflammatoires, dont l'arthrite, les allergies et les problèmes cutanés tels que psoriasis et eczéma. Arythmie cardiaque, hypertension artérielle, ulcères d'estomac, troubles sanguins, troubles cutanés, lésions musculaires et osseuses, et troubles du système nerveux sont des effets secondaires possibles. Un sevrage trop brusque peut entrainer divers symptômes. Il est donc essentiel d'en parler à votre fournisseur de soins de santé avant d'arrêter.

Les médicaments d'ordonnance homologués au Canada, il est important de le rappeler, doivent être utilisés sous la supervision d'un professionnel de la santé. Vous ne devriez jamais consommer un médicament dont la vente n'est pas autorisée au Canada (produit non homologué comme médicament d'ordonnance, produit en vente libre, produit retiré du marché ou produit analogue).

Réduire les risques

Les précautions suivantes vous aideront à réduire les risques éventuels :

  • Choisissez des produits de santé naturels que Santé Canada a examinés et approuvés. L'étiquette de ces produits arbore un numéro de produit naturel (NPN) de huit chiffres ou un numéro de remède homéopathique (DIN-HM). Cela est crucial si vous achetez des produits de santé naturels sur Internet. Il ce peut que certain PSN aient aussi un Numéro d'Exemption (NE). Les produits ayant un NE peuvent être vendus légalement au Canada pendant que Santé Canada complète son évaluation de la demande de licence.
  • Informez votre fournisseur de soins de santé de tous les produits de santé que vous consommez, y compris les produits de santé naturels.
  • Si vous croyez avoir une réaction indésirable à un produit de santé naturel, parlez-en à votre fournisseur de soins de santé. N'oubliez pas de mentionner les autres produits de santé et substances que vous utilisez, y compris les médicaments d'ordonnance et en vente libre, les produits de santé naturels, l'alcool et les aliments spéciaux. Cela aidera à éviter d'éventuelles interactions néfastes.
  • Signalez tout effet secondaire (réaction indésirable) à Santé Canada.
  • Consultez le site MedEffet Canada de Santé Canada (voir lien dans la section Pour en savoir plus...ci-dessous) pour signaler un effet secondaire et obtenir de nouvelles informations, y compris les mises en garde et avis. Vous pouvez aussi vous abonner au service d'avis électronique MedEffet.
  • Si vous achetez des produits en ligne, évitez de faire affaire avec un site Web qui :
    • refuse de vous donner une adresse civique et un numéro de téléphone
    • propose une cure miracle à une maladie grave
    • vend des produits de santé naturels dont l'étiquette n'arbore ni numéro de produit naturel (NPN) ni numéro de remède homéopathique (DIN-HM).

Rôle de Santé Canada

Santé Canada aide à faire en sorte que les Canadiens aient accès à des produits de santé naturels sécuritaires, efficaces et de qualité. Dans cette optique, Santé Canada examine les avantages et les risques des produits de santé naturels, surveille et évalue les effets secondaires (réactions indésirables) et communique l'information sur les risques aux professionnels de la santé et au grand public.

Pour en savoir plus...

Pour signaler une réaction ou une interaction indésirable liée à un produit de santé, communiquez avec Santé Canada au 1-866-234-2345 (sans frais au Canada) ou consulter la section MedEffet Canada

Pour vous renseigner sur les produits de santé naturels et l'utilisation sécuritaire des médicaments, veuillez consulter les sections suivantes du site Web de Santé Canada :

Les articles Votre santé et vous :

Pour plus d'information sur les aliments, la santé et les produits de consommation, visitez le portail sur Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web la sécurité des consommateurs

Des articles complémentaires sur les questions de santé et de sécurité sont publiés dans la section Votre santé et vous

Vous pouvez aussi composer sans frais le 1-866-225-0709 ou le 1-800-465-7735* (pour malentendants).

Original : mars 2011
© Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, représentée par le ministre de la Santé, 2011