Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Healthy Living

Sunglasses

It's Your Health

Help on accessing alternative formats, such as Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word and PowerPoint (PPT) files, can be obtained in the alternate format help section.

On this page:

The Issue

It is important to protect your eyes against damage from the sun. For most people, an inexpensive pair of sunglasses will do the job.

Background

The sun produces many different kinds of light. The kinds most likely to injure the eye are:

  • ultraviolet radiation, which is invisible and is often called "UV rays";
  • bright or intense light; and
  • blue light.

About UV Light and Blue Light

UV rays carry more energy than visible light rays, so the eye is at greater risk of damage from absorbing UV radiation than from absorbing other kinds of light. There are two types of UV rays that reach the Earth's surface: UVA and UVB. These rays can cause, or speed up the progress of several diseases that affect the eye or its supporting structures. UVB rays have also been linked to skin cancer. Most of the damage caused to eyes by UVB and UVA rays happens over a long period of time and cannot be reversed. Sensitivity to ultraviolet radiation varies from one person to the next.

Blue light is visible light in the blue portion of the colour spectrum. The intense glare of light reflecting off snow or water contains blue light. Your eyes cannot focus clearly in blue light. Some scientists believe that routine exposure to blue light over many years may age the retina and increase the risk of blindness in some people over the age of sixty.

How Light Can Damage Eyes

All light is a form of energy. When your eyes absorb light, the process creates heat or chemical reactions in eye tissue. These reactions can cause permanent damage if the eye's natural ability to heal itself is overwhelmed.

Different parts of the eye absorb different kinds of UV radiation and light. For example:

  • The surface layers of the outer part of the eyeball (the cornea and the conjunctiva) absorb UVB rays.
  • The lens absorbs mainly UVA rays.
  • The retina (the light-sensitive lining at the back of the inner eyeball) absorbs visible light.

If eyes are overexposed to ultraviolet radiation, the front portion of the eyes may be damaged. If visible light is too bright or intense, or if you stare directly at the sun, even briefly, the retina can be damaged, causing permanent loss of vision. UV radiation, along with wind and drying of the eye, may cause snow blindness, an uncomfortable but temporary condition. There is some evidence that daily exposure to UV radiation in very bright sunlight over many years may increase the risk of developing cataracts. Cataracts cause a gradual clouding of the natural lens of the eye.

Minimizing Your Risk

Wearing sunglasses makes sense. Properly chosen sunglasses will protect your eyes against damage from UV rays, bright light, and blue light. There are also other safety factors to consider. For example, if you are driving a vehicle in bright sunlight, it is safer to wear sunglasses, because they reduce glare and improve contrast.

You can also help protect your eyes by wearing a wide-brimmed hat or visor when you are out in bright sunlight, and by avoiding exposure to bright sunlight, especially in the summer between 11:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m., when the sun's rays are strongest.

Choosing Sunglasses

Make sure the lenses are dark enough to keep your eyes comfortable, but not so dark that they reduce your vision. If you spend a lot of time outdoors in intense glare from sunlight bouncing off snow or water, you should wear sunglasses that block blue light. Medium to dark lenses with a grey, or a slightly brown or green tint, will filter out most blue light.

Most sunglasses have plastic lenses. These lenses are tougher than glass and less likely to shatter. If you buy plastic lenses, look for a pair with a scratch-resistant coating. Check the lenses for distortion by putting the sunglasses on and looking at a rectangular pattern, such as floor tiles. If the lines stay straight when you move your head up and down, and side-to-side, then the amount of distortion is acceptable.

Sunglasses are made with different kinds of lenses to meet different needs:

  • Regular lenses reduce the brightness of everything evenly.
  • Polarizing lenses are designed to cut glare due to reflection. This means they are good for driving and outdoor activities in the snow or on water.
  • Photochromic lenses change with the intensity of UV light by turning darker when outdoors and lighter when indoors. If you wear these for driving, choose sunglasses that are fairly dark.
  • "Flash" or mirror lenses reflect all or part of the light instead of absorbing it. They offer no performance advantage as they scratch easily. You should choose a pair with a scratch-resistant coating.

Standards for UV Protection

You cannot tell how much UV protection a pair of sunglasses will provide by their price, colour, or by the darkness of the lenses. Look for a label that lists the type and amount of protection. Manufacturers follow voluntary industry standards when labelling these products. Sunglasses that comply with industry standards are grouped in three categories:

  • Cosmetic sunglasses have lightly tinted lenses for use in sunlight that is not harsh. They block from 0 to 60 percent of visible light and UVA rays, and between 87.5 and 95 percent of UVB rays. These glasses are not usually recommended for daylight driving.
  • General purpose sunglasses block from 60 to 92 percent of visible light and UVA rays, and between 95 and 99 percent of UVB rays. These sunglasses are good for driving, and are recommended whenever sunlight is harsh enough to make you squint.
  • Special purpose sunglasses block up to 97 percent of visible light and up to 98.5 percent of UVA rays. They also block at least 99 percent of UVB rays, and are suitable for prolonged sun exposure. These sunglasses are not recommended for driving.

Health Canada's Role

Health Canada's role is to help Canadians maintain and improve their heath. As part of this work, Health Canada promotes public awareness about sun safety and the harmful effects of UV radiation.

Need More Info?

Consumer and Clinical Radiation Protection Bureau
Health Canada
775 Brookfield Road
Ottawa, ON K1A 1C1
Telephone: 613-954-6699
Email: ccrpb-pcrpcc@hc-sc.gc.ca

Or visit the following Web sites:

  • Health Canada's web section on Ultraviolet Radiation.
  • Health Canada's UV Index Sun Awareness Program.
  • Health Canada's Safe Summer Fun Web section.
  • Health Canada - Sun Safety section
  • The Canadian Association of Optometrists Eye Health Library.
  • Visit Health Canada's Consumer Safety Portal for safety information about food, health and consumer products
  • For additional articles on health and safety issues, go to the It's Your Health web section

You can also call toll free at 1-866-225-0709 or TTY at 1-800-465-7735*.

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Vie saine

Les lunettes de soleil

Votre santé et vous

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour accéder aux formats de rechange, tels que Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word et PowerPoint (PPT), visitez la section d'aide sur les formats de rechange.

Sur cette page :

Enjeu

Il est important de protéger vos yeux contre les effets néfastes du soleil. Pour la plupart des gens, des lunettes de soleil bon marché font très bien l'affaire.

Contexte

Le soleil produit différentes sortes de lumière. Les plus susceptibles d'endommager l'oeil sont :

Rayons UV et la lumière bleue

Les rayons UV contiennent plus d'énergie que les rayons lumineux visibles, donc l'oeil est plus susceptible d'être endommagé par l'absorption du rayonnement UV que par l'absorption de toute autre sorte de lumière. Deux types de rayons UV atteignent la surface de la terre, soit les rayons UVA et les rayons UVB. Ils peuvent favoriser ou accélérer la progression de plusieurs maladies ayant des effets sur l'oeil ou les tissus conjonctifs. Les UVB sont aussi responsables du cancer de la peau. La plupart des dommages oculaires causés par les UVB et les UVA se produisent sur une longue période et sont irréversibles. Enfin, certaines personnes sont plus sensibles que d'autres au rayonnement ultraviolet.

La lumière bleue est une lumière visible dans la bande bleue du spectre. La lumière bleue est notamment responsable de l'éblouissement causé par les reflets de la neige ou de l'eau. L'oeil exposé à la lumière bleue ne peut pas voir clairement. Certains scientifiques croient qu'une exposition régulière à la lumière bleue, pendant des années, peut accélérer le vieillissement de la rétine et accroître les risques de cécité chez certaines personnes âgées de plus de 60 ans.

Comment la lumière peut-elle endommager les yeux ?

La lumière est une forme d'énergie. Lorsque les yeux absorbent la lumière, le processus dégage de la chaleur ou entraîne des réactions chimiques dans les tissus oculaires. Ces réactions peuvent causer des dommages permanents lorsque la capacité naturelle de l'oeil de se régénérer est fortement sollicitée.

Les diverses parties de l'oeil absorbent des lumières et des rayons UV différents :

  • la membrane externe de l'oeil (cornée et conjonctive) absorbe les UVB;
  • le cristallin absorbe surtout les UVA; et
  • la rétine (membrane sensible à la lumière située à l'arrière de l'oeil) absorbe la lumière visible.

Si les yeux sont surexposés au rayonnement ultraviolet, la partie frontale de l'oeil peut être endommagée. Si la lumière visible est trop vive ou intense, ou si on regarde directement le soleil, même brièvement, cela peut endommager la rétine et entraîner une perte de vision permanente.

L'action du rayonnement UV, combinée à celle du vent et de l'assèchement des yeux, peut entraîner la cécité des neiges, un état temporaire mais très désagréable. Certaines études indiquent qu'une exposition journalière étalée sur de nombreuses années aux rayons UV émanant d'un soleil intense peut augmenter le risque de cataracte. La cataracte est une opacification graduelle du cristallin de l'oeil.

Réduire les risques

Le port de lunettes de soleil est tout à fait justifié. Des lunettes bien choisies protégeront vos yeux contre les effets néfastes des rayons UV, de la lumière intense et de la lumière bleue. D'autres facteurs entrent en ligne de compte : par exemple, si vous conduisez sous un soleil intense, vous vous sentirez plus en sécurité avec des lunettes de soleil, car elles réduisent l'éblouissement et améliorent les contrastes.

Un chapeau à large bord ou une visière peut aider à protéger vos yeux lorsque vous vous trouvez à l'extérieur, de même que la fait d'éviter toute exposition solaire intense, particulièrement l'été, entre 11 h et 16 h, lorsque les rayons solaires sont les plus dommageables.

Le choix de lunettes de soleil

Choisissez des lunettes dont les verres sont assez foncés pour vous protéger d'une lumière intense, mais pas assez gêner votre vision. Si vous passez beaucoup de temps en situation d'éblouissement, par exemple sur l'eau ou la neige, vous devriez porter des lunettes de soleil qui bloquent la lumière bleue. Les lentilles avec une teinte grise, légèrement brune ou verte, d'intensité moyenne à foncée, vous protégeront contre la lumière bleue.

La plupart des lentilles sont en plastique. Plus résistant que le verre, le plastique se brise moins facilement. Si vous achetez des lentilles de plastique, assurez-vous qu'elles sont enduites d'un revêtement résistant aux égratignures et qu'elles ne causent pas de distorsion. Essayez-les et regardez quelque chose de rectangulaire, par exemple les carreaux du plancher. Si les lignes demeurent droites lorsque vous bougez la tête de haut en bas, et de gauche à droite, la distorsion est négligeable.

Les lunettes de soleil sont munies de divers types de lentilles pour répondre à divers besoins :

  • les lentilles ordinaires réduisent l'intensité de toutes les lumières de manière uniforme;
  • les lentilles polarisantes sont conçues pour réduire l'éblouissement dû à la réflexion, ce qui veut dire qu'elles sont appropriées pour la conduite automobile et pour les activités en plein air dans la neige et sur l'eau;
  • les lentilles photochromiques réagissent à l'intensité des rayons UV, elles deviennent plus foncées à l'extérieur et moins foncées à l'intérieur. Si vous les utilisez pour conduire, choisissez-les passablement foncées;
  • les lentilles miroirs réfléchissant totalement ou partiellement la lumière au lieu de l'absorber. Elles n'offrent aucun avantage particulier, car le revêtement métallique s'égratigne facilement. Il est donc préférable de choisir des lentilles dont le revêtement résiste aux égratignures.

Normes relatives à la protection contre les rayons UV

On ne peut fier au prix, à la couleur ou à l'opacité des lentilles pour déterminer le niveau de protection UV qu'offrent les lunettes. Recherchez une étiquette qui indique le type et le niveau de protection offerte. Les fabricants se conforment volontairement aux normes d'étiquetage de l'industrie. Les lunettes de soleil conformes à ces normes se classent en trois catégories :

  • les lunettes de soleil esthétiques ont des lentilles légèrement teintées et sont recommandées pour les endroits où le soleil n'est pas tellement fort. Elles bloquent entre 0 et 60 % de la lumière visible et des UVA, et entre 87,5 et 95 % des UVB. Elles ne sont pas recommandées pour conduire au soleil;
  • les lunettes de soleil tout usage bloquent entre 60 et 92 % de la lumière visible et des UVA, et entre 95 et 99 % des UVB. Elles sont appropriées pour la conduite automobile et sont recommandées les jours où la lumière brutale du soleil oblige à cligner des yeux;
  • les lunettes de soleil à usage particulier bloquent jusqu'à 97 % de la lumière visible et jusqu'à 98,5 % des UVA. Elles bloquent au moins 99 % des UVB. Elles sont appropriées pour l'exposition prolongée en plein soleil et ne sont pas recommandées pour la conduite.

Rôle de Santé Canada

Santé Canada a pour mission d'aider les Canadiennes et les Canadiens à maintenir et à améliorer leur état de santé et favorise de ce fait les efforts pour sensibiliser le public à la protection solaire et aux effets néfastes des rayons UV.

Pour en savoir plus...

Bureau de la protection contre les rayonnements des produits cliniques et de consommation
Santé Canada
775, chemin Brookfield
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 1C1
Téléphone : 613-954-6699
Courriel : ccrpb-pcrpcc@hc-sc.gc.ca

Vous pouvez aussi consluter les sites Web suivants :

Vous pouvez également composer sans frais le 1-866-225-0709 ou le 1-800-465-7735* pour les malentendants.