Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Health Concerns

Smart Meters

It's Your Health

Help on accessing alternative formats, such as Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word and PowerPoint (PPT) files, can be obtained in the alternate format help section.

On this page:

The issue

In recent years, utility companies in several provinces have started installing wireless smart meters in Canadian businesses and residences. Some people have expressed concern about the possibility of health effects from exposure to the radiofrequency fields that these devices emit.

Smart meters

Smart meters are relatively new wireless devices that transmit information using RF signals to let utility companies know how much water, gas or electricity a household or business is using. The signals emitted by smart meters are of relatively low power, similar to cell phones and Wi-Fi equipment. The maximum amount of power that a smart meter device can transmit must comply with Next link will take you to another Web site Industry Canada - Radio Frequency (RF) Exposure Compliance of Radiocommunication Apparatus.

Health risks

As with any wireless device, some of the RF energy emitted by smart meters will be absorbed by anyone who is nearby. The amount of energy absorbed depends largely on how close your body is to a smart meter. Unlike cellular phones, where the transmitter is held close to the head and much of the RF energy that is absorbed is localised to one specific area, RF energy from smart meters is typically transmitted at a much greater distance from the human body. This results in very low RF exposure levels across the entire body, much like exposure to AM or FM radio broadcast signals.

Survey results have shown that smart meters transmit data in short bursts, and when not transmitting data, the smart meter does not emit RF energy. Furthermore, indoor and outdoor survey measurements of RF energy from smart meters during transmission bursts were found to be far below the human exposure limits specified in Health Canada's Safety Code 6.

Based on this information, Health Canada has concluded that exposure to RF energy from smart meters does not pose a public health risk.

Reduce your risk

Since RF energy exposure levels are far below Canadian and international safety limits, Health Canada does not consider that any precautionary measures are needed to reduce RF energy exposure from smart meters.

In cases where multiple smart meters are installed together, as in some townhouses or high-rise buildings, the total exposure levels from multiple smart meters will still be far below Health Canada's RF energy exposure limits, due to the infrequent nature of transmissions.

The Government of Canada's role

Health Canada has developed guidelines for safe human exposure to RF energy. The current version of these exposure guidelines is specified in a document called Limits of Human Exposure to Radiofrequency Electromagnetic Energy in the Frequency Range from 3 kHz to 300 GHz - Safety Code 6 (2009).

The limits specified in these guidelines are based on an ongoing review of published scientific studies on the health impacts of RF energy. Using data from these studies, Health Canada set the general exposure limits far below the threshold for potentially adverse health effects.

Health Canada continues to monitor the science regarding RF exposure and will take action if future research establishes that RF energy exposure poses a health risk to Canadians.

For more information

For industry and professionals

Related resources

  • For safety information about food, health and consumer products, visit the Next link will take you to another Web site Healthy Canadians website
  • For more articles on health and safety issues go to the Next link will take you to another Web site It's Your Health web section

You can also call toll free at 1-866-225-0709 or TTY at 1-800-465-7735*

Original: December 2011

ęHer Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, represented by the Minister of Health, 2011

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Préoccupations liées à la santé

Compteurs intelligents

Votre santé et vous

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour accéder aux formats de rechange, tels que Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word et PowerPoint (PPT), visitez la section d'aide sur les formats de rechange.

Sur cette page :

Enjeu

Depuis quelques années, les services publics de plusieurs provinces ont entrepris d'installer des compteurs intelligents sans fil dans les entreprises et les résidences. Certaines personnes s'inquiètent des effets possibles sur la santé de l'exposition à Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web l'énergie radiofréquence (RF) émanant de ces appareils.

Compteurs intelligents

Le compteur intelligent, appareil sans fil relativement nouveau, transmet de l'information en utilisant un signal RF aux services publics les informant de la quantité d'eau, de gaz ou d'électricité utilisée dans chaque résidence ou entreprise. La puissance du signal émis par le compteur intelligent est plutôt faible et se compare aux émissions des téléphones cellulaires et technologie Wi-Fi. La puissance maximale que le compteur intelligent peut transmettre doit être conforme à la Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web réglementation d'Industrie Canada - Conformité des appareils de radiocommunication aux limites d'exposition humaine aux radiofréquences.

Risques pour la santé

Comme c'est le cas pour n'importe quel appareil sans fil, quiconque se trouve à proximité d'un compteur intelligent absorbera une partie de l'énergie RF émise. La quantité d'énergie absorbée dépend notamment de la distance entre la personne et le compteur intelligent. Contrairement au téléphone cellulaire, où le l'émetteur est tenu près de la tête et où l'énergie RF absorbée se concentre sur une zone précise, l'énergie RF provenant des compteurs intelligents est habituellement transmise à une distance beaucoup plus grande du corps humain. Tout l'organisme est exposé à de très faibles niveaux de RF, comme c'est le cas avec les signaux de radio AM ou FM.

Des mesures prises démontrent que les compteurs intelligents transmettent des données en rafales et n'émet pas d'énergie RF en dehors de celles-ci. De plus, on a constaté que l'énergie RF mesurée à l'intérieur et à l'extérieur pendant les rafales de données se situait bien en deçà des limites d'exposition humaine précisées dans le Code de sécurité 6 de Santé Canada.

À la lumière de cette information, Santé Canada a conclu que l'exposition à l'énergie RF des compteurs intelligents ne pose pas de risque pour la santé publique.

Réduire les risques

Comme les niveaux d'exposition sont bien inférieurs aux limites de sécurité canadiennes et internationales, Santé Canada croit qu'aucune mesure de précaution n'est nécessaire pour réduire l'exposition à l'énergie RF provenant des compteurs intelligents.

Là où plusieurs compteurs intelligents sont regroupés, comme dans certaines maisons en rangée ou certains immeubles en hauteur, l'exposition totale reste bien inférieure aux limites d'exposition fixées par Santé Canada, en raison de l'intermittence des transmissions.

Rôle du gouvernement du Canada

Santé Canada a élaboré des lignes directrices quant à l'exposition humaine sécuritaire à l'énergie RF. La version actuelle de ces lignes directrices se trouve dans le document intitulé Limites d'exposition humaine à l'énergie électromagnétique radioélectrique dans la gamme de fréquences de 3 kHz à 300 GHz - Code de sécurité 6.

Les limites précisées dans ce code reposent sur un examen continu des études scientifiques publiées sur l'effet de l'énergie RF sur la santé. Santé Canada se fonde sur ces données pour fixer les limites d'exposition générales bien en deçà des niveaux potentiellement nocifs pour la santé.

Santé Canada continue de surveiller les données scientifiques sur l'exposition aux RF et passera à l'action si les recherches futures devaient indiquer que l'exposition à l'énergie RF pose un risque pour la santé de la population canadienne.

Pour en savoir plus

Pour l'industrie et les professionnels

Ressources connexes

  • Pour plus de renseignements sur la sécurité des produits alimentaires, de santé et de consommation, vous pouvez consulter le site Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web Canadiens en santé
  • Vous trouverez des articles complémentaires sur la santé et la sécurité dans la section Votre santé et vous du site

Vous pouvez aussi composer sans frais le 1 866 225-0709 ou le 1 800-465-7735*, pour malentendants.

Original : décembre 2011

© Sa Majesté la reine du Chef du Canada, représentée par le Ministre de la Santé, 2011