Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Healthy Living

Just for You - Rural Canadians

Almost 9 million Canadians -- about 30% of Canada 's population -- live in rural and remote areas of the country which occupies 9.5 million square kilometres, or around 95% of Canada's territory. In rural Canada, as in urban Canada, good health is a major resource for social, economic, community and personal development.

For a list of resources about your health and the surrounding environment, food safety and consumer product safety, consult the Consumer Information page.

  • Telehealth involves using information and communications technologies to deliver health information, services and expertise over short and long distances. Telehealth is one of four key priorities of the Advisory Council on Health Infostructure (ACHI) and a focus of the Office of Health and the Information Highway (OHIH).
  • The National First Nations Telehealth Project
  • The objective of the Next link will take you to another Web site Canadian Agriculture Safety Program (Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada) is to lower the incidence of agriculture-related deaths and injuries with the implementation of preventative programs targeted at reducing the risk of injury or fatality.

Comments

Our goal is to make this page as useful as possible, and your comments can help.

Thank you!

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Vie saine

Spécialement pour vous - En milieu rural

Presque 9 millions de Canadiens - environ 30 % de la population canadienne - vivent dans les régions rurales et éloignées du pays et occupent 9,5 millions de kilomètres carrés, soit près de 95 % du territoire canadien. Dans le Canada rural, comme dans le Canada urbain, la bonne santé constitue une ressource importante du développement social, économique, communautaire et personnel.

Pour trouver des ressources sur la santé environnementale et la sécurité des aliments et des produits de consommation, veuillez consulter la page Information pour les consommateurs.

  • Télésanté comprend l'utilisation de technologies d'information et de communications en vue d'offrir de l'information, des services et de l'expertise en santé sur de courtes ou longues distances. Télésanté est une des quatre priorités clés du Conseil consultatif sur l'infostructure en santé (CCIS) et un point de mire du Bureau de la santé et de l'autoroute de l'information (BSAI).
  • Projet national de recherche sur la télésanté pour les Premières nations
  • Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Programme canadien de sécurité agricole (PCSA)(Agriculture et Agro-alimentaire Canada) L'objectif du PCSA est d'abaisser l'incidence de décès et de blessures en milieu agricole avec la mise en oeuvre de programmes préventifs axés sur la réduction du risque de blessures et de décès.

Commentaires

Notre but est de rendre cette page aussi utile que possible et vos commentaires peuvent nous aider.

Merci!