Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Healthy Living

Health Portfolio Sex and Gender-Based Analysis Policy

Policy Statement

It is the policy of the Government of Canada's Health Portfolio to use sex and gender-based analysis (SGBA) to develop, implement and evaluate the Health Portfolio's research, programs and policies to address the different needs of of women and menFootnote 1.


This policy applies to the entire Health Portfolio and replaces Health Canada's Gender-Based Analysis Policy (2000). The Health Portfolio is comprised of the following organizations at this time: Assisted Human Reproduction Canada, Canadian Institutes of Health Research, the Hazardous Materials Information Review Commission, Health Canada, the Patented Medicine Prices Review Board, and the Public Health Agency of CanadaFootnote 2.

Policy Environment

The Government of Canada commits to gender equality per constitutional guarantees and international agreements.Footnote 3
The Federal Plan for Gender Equality promotes gender equality through the implementation of gender-based analysis (GBA) throughout federal departments and agencies.
The Health Canada Gender-Based Analysis Policy advances gender equality through the use of gender-based analysis.
The Health Canada Gender-Based Analysis Implementation Strategy guides the implementation of the Health Canada Gender-Based Analysis Policy.
CIHR's Guidelines for Gender and Sex-Based Analysis in Health Research aims at integrating gender and sex-based analysis (GSBA) throughout the full context of CIHR's peer review process.
Central Agencies reinforce their expectation that gender-based analysis be applied to initiatives prior to cabinet and Treasury Board (TB) consideration (e.g. PCO - "MC Information requirements" and TBS - "A Guide to Preparing TB Submissions").
Office of the Auditor General audits the implementation of SGBA across government and will table report in May 2009.
Office of the Auditor General audits the implementation of SGBA across government and tables a report in May 2009. Central Agencies and Status of Women Canada respond with a Departmental Action Plan on Gender-Based Analysis in October 2009


Evidence demonstrates that biological, economic and social differences between women and men contribute to differences in health risks, health services use, health system interaction and health outcomes. The integration of SGBA throughout the development, implementation and evaluation of its research, programs and policies will help ensure that the initiatives and activities of the Health Portfolio lead to sound science, advance gender related health equality and are effective and efficient.

Policy Goals

This policy, specifically Health Portfolio application of SGBA on research, policy and programs, supports:

  • a comprehensive understanding of variations in health status, experiences of health and illness, health service use and interaction with the health system;
  • the development of sound science and reliable evidence that addresses sex and gender health differences between men and women, boys and girls;
  • the implementation of rigorous and effective research, programs and policies that address sex and gender health differences between men and women, boys and girls.

Guiding Principles

  • Accountability: while recognizing shared responsibility across the Health Portfolio for policy compliance, accountabilities must be delineated for implementation, accompanied by the authority to effect change/provide direction. Such authority will rest with, and can be delegated, by Deputy Heads.
  • Continuous Improvement: The Health Portfolio is committed to building on its experience and incorporating lessons learned and best practices in advancing gender equity and equality in health.
  • Integrated Approach: SGBA is a best practice that will remain a natural part of doing the business of the Health Portfolio and be fully integrated into organizational processes and practices.
  • Balance: SGBA will be used to evaluate the gender influences of research, policies and programs to ensure that the needs of one sex is not addressed more than another.
  • Shared Responsibility: It is the responsibility of senior management to provide the leadership necessary to ensure the implementation of SGBA within Health Portfolio organizations; the successful implementation of SGBA requires the participation of all Health Portfolio Staff. All Portfolio staff will be accountable for undertaking responsibility in the context of their work and normally assigned duties.

DefinitionsFootnote 4


Sex refers to the biological characteristics such as anatomy (e.g. body size and shape) and physiology (e.g. hormonal activity or functioning of organs) that distinguish males and females. Sex differences may occur at the genetic/molecular, cellular, organ or organism level and result from complex interactions between genetic, hormonal and environmental factors that commence in the genetic and intrauterine environment and continue throughout the lifespan of the individual. Sex differences begin with the observation that every animal-derived cell has a sex.

Attention to sex in all of its variation is vital to understanding the bio-genetic underpinnings of health.


Gender refers to the array of socially constructed roles and relationships, personality traits, attitudes, behaviours, values, relative power and influence that society ascribes to two sexes based on a differential basis. Gender is relational- gender roles and characteristics do not exist in isolation, but are defined in relation to one another. All societies are divided between at minimum two categories of sex and gender that are often assigned unequal status. Gender roles, constructs and identities exist not as stable entities, but as expressions that are located along a continuum. Ethnicity, socioeconomic status, sexual orientation, geography and other social identifiers situate women and men differently in the social landscape necessarily complicating the relationships between gender, sex and health disparities defined by unequal access to health determinants. Taking gender in all its manifestations into account is essential to the task of generating meaningful health knowledge that can enhance the health of all.

Sex and Gender-based Analysis

Sex and gender-based analysis is an approach which systemically inquires about biological (sex-based) and socio-cultural (gender-based) differences between women and men, boys and girls, without presuming that any differences exist. The purpose of SGBA is to promote rigorous sex/gender-sensitive health research, which expands understanding of health determinants in both sexes, in order to provide knowledge which can result in improvements in health and health care. Gender-blind science fails to account for disparate life trajectories that are influenced by genetic endowment, environmental exposures and social and political environments.

SGBA is meant to be applied within the context of a diversity framework, that attends to the ways in which determinants such as ethnicity, socioeconomic status, disability, sexual orientation, migration status, age and geography interact with sex and gender to contribute to exposures to various risk factors, disease courses and outcomes. Using a SGBA lens brings these considerations into focus and can help to formulate research, policies and programs that are relevant to the diversity of the Canadian populace.

Roles and Responsibilities

Deputy Heads are responsible for providing leadership to ensure collaboration in implementing this policy across the Health Portfolio, while remaining accountable for implementation within their respective organizations. Roles and responsibilities may be delegated by the Deputy Heads, particularly as it relates to:

  1. Ensuring resources for policy implementation
  2. Ensuring the evaluation of this policy

Health Canada's Gender and Health Unit (Strategic Policy Branch) is responsible for supporting the initial year of implementation including the provision of advice across the Portfolio to establish sustainable capacity. This will be done in collaboration with the Portfolio Working Group on Sex and Gender-based Analysis, Chaired by the Unit.


Deputy Heads are accountable for ensuring that Health Portfolio organizations implement the Health Portfolio Sex and Gender-based Analysis Policy and to jointly review, and revise it as necessary, at planned intervals. They may achieve this by appointing a Champion(s) as well as creating a special unit or committee charged with this responsibility. Deputy Heads are also accountable for ensuring that activities under this policy are reported under this and any other relevant policies.

Evaluation and Revision

During the initial year of this policy's coming into effect (i.e. 2009-10) Gender and Health Unit, Regions & Programs Branch (and later Strategic Policy Branch), in collaboration with the Departmental Performance Measurement and Evaluation Directorate, Chief Financial Officer Branch, provided leadership on the development of implementation, evaluation and reporting plans, as well as provide advice and support to the Portfolio in the application of this policy. This policy was reviewed after the initial year to allow minor adjustments. To ensure optimal efficacy, it will be monitored on an on-going basis and evaluated, and revised as necessary, at least once every five years.

Effective Date

This policy came into effect on April 1, 2009Footnote 5, Footnote 6.


Footnote 1

Statements in this document referring to women and men, include women, men, girls, boys as appropriate to the initiative.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

In the event Health Portfolio membership changes the present policy should be amended accordingly.

Return to footnote 2 referrer

Footnote 3

The Government of Canada has committed to major international instruments concerning human right and gender equality including: the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, the UN Covenant on Civil and Political Rights, the UN Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights, the Convention and the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women (1981), the United Nations Declaration on the Elimination of Violence Against Women (1993) and the Platform for Action from the Fourth United Nations Conference on Women in Beijing (1995). In the domestic context, the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms includes constitutional protection for gender equality. Section 15(1) of the Charter prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, national or ethnic origin, colour, religion, sex, age or mental or physical disability. Section 28 establishes that the provisions of the Charter are guaranteed equally to women and men.

Return to footnote 3 referrer

Footnote 4

Gender and Sex-Based Analysis in Health Research: A Guide for CIHR Researchers and Reviewers.

Return to footnote 4 referrer

Footnote 5

The policy came into effect when signed by the last participating Health Portfolio agency. Health Portfolio organization Deputy Heads signed the SGBA policy: Assisted Human Reproduction Canada April 22, 2009; Public Health Agency of Canada April 29, 2009; Canadian Institutes of Health Research May 6, 2009; Health Canada June12, 2009; and Hazardous Materials Information Review Commission July 8, 2009.

Return to footnote 5 referrer

Footnote 6

In early 2011, the policy was reviewed as required and minor changes made to ensure its effectiveness.

Return to footnote 6 referrer

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Vie saine

Politique en matière d'analyse comparative fondée sur le sexe et le genre

Énoncé de politique

Le portefeuille de la Santé du gouvernement du Canada a comme politique d'utiliser l'analyse comparative fondée sur le sexe et le genre pour élaborer, mettre en œuvre et évaluer la recherche, les programmes et les politiques du portefeuille de la Santé visant à examiner les besoins différents des hommes et des femmesFootnote 1.

Application

La politique s'applique à l'ensemble du portefeuille de la Santé et remplace la politique en matière d'analyse comparative entre les sexes de Santé Canada (2000). Le portefeuille de la Santé est composé des organisations suivantes : Procréation Assistée Canada, Instituts de recherche en santé de Canada, Conseil de contrôle des renseignements relatifs aux matières dangereuses, Santé Canada, Conseil d'examen du prix des médicaments brevetés et l'Agence de la santé publique du CanadaNote de bas de page 2.

Environnement politique

1981-1995
Le gouvernement du Canada s'engage à établir l'égalité entre les sexes par des garanties constitutionnelles et des ententes internationalesNote de bas de page 3.
1995
Le Plan fédéral pour l'égalité entre les sexes encourage l'égalité entre les sexes grâce à la mise en oeuvre de l'analyse comparative entre les sexes dans les ministères et les organismes fédéraux.
2000
La politique en matière d'analyse comparative entre les sexes de Santé Canada met en avant l'égalité entre les sexes à l'aide de l'analyse comparative entre les sexes.
2003
La stratégie de mise en oeuvre de l'analyse comparative entre les sexes de Santé Canada a guidé l'application de la politique en matière d'analyse comparative entre les sexes de Santé Canada.
2006
Les lignes directrices de l'Analyse des influences du genre et du sexe dans la recherche en santé des IRSC visaient à intégrer l'analyse comparative fondée sur le sexe biologique et le sexe social dans le contexte général du processus d'examen par les pairs des IRSC.
2007
Les organisations centrales renforcent leur attente selon laquelle l'analyse comparative entre les sexes doit être appliquée aux initiatives avant que celles-ci soient prises en considération par le Cabinet et le Conseil du Trésor (CT) (p. ex. BCP - exigences en matière d'information pour les mémoires au Cabinet et SCT - « Guide pour la préparation de présentations au Conseil du Trésor »)
2008
Le Bureau du vérificateur général vérifie la mise en oeuvre de l'analyse comparative fondée sur le sexe biologique et le sexe social partout au gouvernement et présentera un rapport en mai 2009.
2009
Le Bureau du vérificateur général vérifie la mise en œuvre de l'analyse comparative fondée sur le sexe et le genre dans l'ensemble du gouvernement et présente un rapport en mai 2009. Les organismes centraux et Condition féminine Canada répondent par un plan d'action ministériel sur l'analyse comparative entre les sexes en octobre 2009

Justification

D'après les données probantes, les différences biologiques, économiques et sociales entre les femmes et les hommes contribuent aux différences dans les risques pour la santé, l'utilisation des services de santé, l'interaction avec le système de santé et les résultats cliniques. L'intégration de l'ACSG par la conception, mise en ouvre et L'évaluation de ses travaux de recherche de ses programmes et politiques vont aider à assurer  que les initiatives et activités du portefeuille mènent à une science rigoureuse, avance L'égalité en matière de santé des genres et qu'elles sont efficaces et efficientes.

Objectifs stratégiques

La politique, en particulier l'application du portefeuille de la Santé de l'analyse comparative fondée sur le sexe et le genre en recherche, dans les politiques et dans les programmes, appuie ce qui suit:

  • une vaste compréhension des variations dans l'état de santé, les expériences liées à la santé et à la maladie, l'utilisation des services de santé et l'interaction avec le système de santé;
  • l'élaboration de principes scientifiques éprouvés et de données probantes fiables qui s'intéressent aux différences dans le domaine de la santé lié au sexe et au genre entre les hommes et les femmes, les garçons et les filles;
  • la mise en oeuvre de la recherche, de politiques et de programmes rigoureux et efficaces qui traitent des différences liées au sexe et au genre en santé entre les hommes et les femmes, les garçons et les filles.

Principes directeurs

  • Responsabilisation : Tout en reconnaissant que l'ensemble du portefeuille de la Santé est responsable d'assurer la conformité à la politique, les responsabilités doivent être délimitées en ce qui a trait à la mise en oeuvre et vont de pair avec le pouvoir de réaliser des changements et de fournir l'orientation. Un tel pouvoir reviendra aux administrateurs généraux et peut être délégué.
  • Amélioration continue : L'analyse comparative fondée sur le sexe et le genre est une bonne pratique qui enrichit l'élaboration de politiques et de programmes et appuie les principes scientifiques éprouvés. Le portefeuille de la Santé est déterminé à tirer parti de son expérience et à intégrer les leçons tirées ainsi que les pratiques exemplaires en vue de promouvoir l'équité et l'égalité des sexes dans le domaine de la santé.
  • Approche intégrée : L'analyse comparative fondée sur le sexe et le genre ne requiert pas la création de nouveaux processus. Les experts du portefeuille de la Santé s'attendent à ce que cette analyse fasse naturellement partie de la façon de réaliser les activités et soit complètement intégrée aux processus et aux pratiques organisationnelles.
  • Avantage égal : L'analyse comparative fondée sur le sexe et le genre servira à évaluer l'influence du genre sur la recherche, les politiques et les programmes d'une façon équilibrée afin de s'assurer que les deux sexes sont pris en considération et éviter d'en favoriser un au détriment de l'autre.
  • Responsabilité partagée : Tandis que la haute direction est responsable de l'application de l'analyse comparative fondée sur le sexe et le genre à l'échelle du portefeuille de la Santé, la mise en oeuvre réussie de cette analyse exige la participation de tout le personnel du portefeuille de la Santé.

DéfinitionsNote de bas de page 4

Sexe biologique

« Sexe biologique ou sexe » renvoie aux caractéristiques biologiques comme l'anatomie (p. ex. la taille et la constitution corporelle) et la physiologie (p. ex. l'activité hormonale et le fonctionnement des organes) qui distinguent les femmes des hommes ». Les différences sexuelles se manifestent non seulement aux niveaux génétique, moléculaire, et cellulaire mais aussi en ce qui concerne certains organes. C'est le résultat d'interactions complexes entre des facteurs génétiques, hormonaux et environnementaux dès la vie intra-utérine et se poursuivant tout au long de la vie d'une personne. Le fait que chaque cellule animale est sexuée est à la base de la différenciation sexuelle.

Pour comprendre les fondements biogénétiques de la santé, il est essentiel de porter attention au sexe biologique et à toutes ses variantes.

Genre

« Genre or sexe social » renvoie à la gamme des rôles et des rapports déterminés par la société, aux traits de personnalité, aux attitudes, aux comportements, aux valeurs, à l'influence et au pouvoir relatif que la société attribue aux deux sexes en fonction de leurs différences. Le genre est d'ordre relationnel; son rôle et ses caractéristiques n'existent pas par eux-mêmes. Toutes les sociétés se divisent en au moins deux catégories de sexe et de genre, auxquelles un statut inégal est souvent accordé. Le fait de tenir compte du genre et de toutes ses variantes est essentiel pour générer des connaissances cohérentes en santé pouvant améliorer la santé de tous.

Analyse comparative fondée sur le sexe et le genre

L'analyse comparative fondée sur le sexe et le genre est une approche qui vise systématiquement les différences biologiques (relatives au sexe biologique) et socioculturelles (relatives au genre) entre les femmes et les hommes, les garçons et les filles, sans présumer de l'existence de ces différences. Le but des analyses comparatives fondées sur le sexe et le genre consiste à promouvoir la recherche rigoureuse en santé tenant compte du facteur sexe - genre pour ainsi approfondir la compréhension des déterminants de la santé chez les deux sexes et générer des connaissances pouvant améliorer la santé et les soins de santé. La science qui ne tient pas compte du genre ne peut rendre compte des trajectoires de vie différentes qui subissent l'influence des interactions entre le bagage génétique, les expositions à l'environnement et les environnements social et politique.

L'analyse comparative fondée sur le sexe et le genre est particulièrement utile dans un cadre de diversité, qui tient compte des façons dont les déterminants comme l'origine ethnique, la situation socioéconomique, les handicaps, l'orientation sexuelle, le statut migratoire, l'âge et la région géographique interagissent avec le sexe et le genre, entraînant ainsi une exposition à des facteurs de risque, à des maladies et à des résultats différents. Le fait de recourir à l'analyse comparative fondée sur le sexe et le genre permet de mettre ces considérations en relief et d'élaborer des recherches, des politiques et des programmes à l'image de la diversité de la population canadienne.

Rôles et responsabilités

Les administrateurs généraux sont responsables d'assumer un leadership de manière à assurer une mise en oeuvre concertée de la politique à l'échelle du portefeuille de la Santé, tout en demeurant responsables de la mise en oeuvre dans leur propre organisation. Les rôles et les responsabilités peuvent être délégués par les administrateurs généraux, en particulier lorsqu'il s'agit :

  1. de s'assurer d'avoir les ressources nécessaires pour la mise en oeuvre de la politique
  2. de s'assurer d'évaluer la politique

L'Unité des genres et de la santé (Direction générale de la politique stratégique) de Santé Canada a la responsabilité d'appuyer la mise en œuvre de la politique, y compris de fournir des conseils à l'ensemble du Portefeuille afin d'établir une capacité durable. Ceci sera réalisé en collaboration avec le groupe de travail du Portefeuille sur l'analyse comparative fondée sur le sexe et le genre, présidé par l'Unité.

Responsabilisation

Les administrateurs généraux sont responsables de s'assurer que les organisations du portefeuille de la Santé mettent en oeuvre la politique du portefeuille de la Santé en matière d'analyse comparative fondée sur le sexe et le genre et de la revoir à intervalles prévus. Pour ce faire, ils peuvent nommer des champions et créer une unité spéciale ou un comité chargé de cette responsabilité. Les administrateurs généraux sont également responsables de s'assurer qu'un rapport des activités prévues dans le cadre de cette politique est produit aux termes de cette politique et de tout autre politique pertinente.

Évaluation et révision

Pendant la première année d'entrée en vigueur de la politique (c.-à-d. 2009-2011), l'Unité des genres et de la santé de la Direction générale des régions et des programmes (et plus tard la Direction générale de la politique stratégique) de Santé Canada, en collaboration avec la Direction de la mesure et de l'évaluation du rendement du Ministère de la Direction générale du contrôleur ministériel, a assuré le leadership en matière d'élaboration des plans de mise en œuvre, d'évaluation et de production de rapports, et a fourni conseils et soutien au Portefeuille relativement à l'application de la politique. La politique a fait l'objet d'un examen après sa première année afin d'effectuer des ajustements mineurs. Pour assurer une efficacité optimale, elle fera l'objet d'une surveillance et d'une évaluation continues, et sera révisée au besoin, au moins une fois tous les cinq ans.

Date d'entrée en vigueur

La politique est entrée en vigueur le 8 juillet 2009Note de bas de page 5, Note de bas de page 6.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Les énoncés dans le présent document qui concernent les femmes et les hommes s'appliquent aux femmes, aux hommes, aux filles et aux garçons, selon l'initiative.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1 referrer

Note de bas de page 2

Si la composition du portefeuille de la Santé change, la présente politique devra être modifiée en conséquence.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2 referrer

Note de bas de page 3

Le gouvernement du Canada a adhéré à d'importants instruments internationaux en ce qui concerne les droits de la personne et l'égalité entre les sexes, y compris la Déclaration universelle des droits de l'homme; le Pacte international de l'ONU relatif aux droits civils et politiques; le Pacte international de l'ONU relatif aux droits économiques, sociaux et culturels; la Convention sur l'élimination de toutes les formes de discrimination à l'égard des femmes (1981), la Déclaration de l'ONU sur l'élimination de la violence faite aux femmes (1993) et le Programme d'action faisant suite à la quatrième Conférence mondiale sur les femmes à Beijing (1995). À l'échelle nationale, la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés comprend une protection constitutionnelle pour l'égalité des sexes. Le paragraphe 15(1) de la Chartre interdit la discrimination fondée sur la race, l'origine nationale ou ethnique, la couleur, la religion, le sexe, l'âge ou les déficiences mentales ou physiques. L'article 28 établit que les dispositions de la Chartre sont garanties également aux femmes et aux hommes.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 3 referrer

Note de bas de page 4

Analyse des influences du genre et du sexe dans la recherche en santé - Guide pour les chercheurs et les évaluateurs des IRSC

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 4 referrer

Note de bas de page 5

La politique entre en vigueur lorsqu'elle a été signée par le dernier organisme participant du portefeuille de la Santé. Les administrateurs généraux des organisations du portefeuille de la Santé ont signé la Politique en matière d'analyse comparative fondée sur le sexe et le genre : PAC, le 22 avril 2009; l'ASPC, le 29 avril 2009; les IRSC, le 6 mai 2009; Santé Canada, le 12 juin 2009 et le CCRMD, le 8 juillet 2009.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 5 referrer

Note de bas de page 6

Au début de l'année 2011, la politique a été révisée afin  d'y apporter des modifications mineurs et d'assurer  son efficacité.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 6 referrer