Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Healthy Living

General Advice

If you are travelling internationally you should be aware that conditions in other countries, both natural and man-made, may be significantly different from those in Canada and may seriously affect health and personal security during travel. Standards of hygiene may be different. Food and water may be contaminated. The climate or environmental conditions may favour disease organisms which do not occur in Canada.

A little forethought and planning, and recognition that travel to other countries is not without hazards, can make all the difference between an enjoyable, problem-free travel experience and an unpleasant experience. Health, safety, accident avoidance and security are your responsibility and should be considered both before and during travel.

It is recommended that should you become sick or feel unwell on your return to Canada, you should seek a medical assessment with your personal physician. Inform your physician without being asked, that you have been travelling or living outside of Canada, and where you have been.

The following provides general health-related advice for international travel. For your individual situation, you should consult a physician or travel medicine clinic for advice related to where you are travelling.

Advice for travellers includes various topics such as:

You can also consult Next link will take you to another Web site travel advice by country. This is provided by the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (DFAIT) and includes health advice developed by Health Canada's Population and Public Health Branch.

Information about safety and security considerations during travel is provided by the Next link will take you to another Web site Travel Assistance program offered by DFAIT by phone at 1-800-267-6788 or through a fax retrieval service at 1-800-575-2500.

Health Canada also have in place inspection programs such as the Cruise Ship Inspection, in order to protect the health of travelling public both outside and within Canada.

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Vie saine

Conseils généraux à l'intention des voyageurs

Si vous voyagez à l'étranger, il se peut que vous vous rendiez dans des pays où certaines conditions naturelles ou artificielles, très différentes de celles prévalant au Canada, mettent en péril votre santé et votre sécurité. Les normes d'hygiène peuvent être différentes; l'eau et les aliments peuvent être contaminés; le climat et le milieu peuvent être propices à la propagation d'agents pathogènes qui n'existent pas au Canada.

Quelques précautions, un peu de planification et savoir que voyager à l'étranger n'est pas sans dangers peuvent faire toute la différence entre un voyage agréable, sans difficultés, et une expérience déplaisante. Il vous appartient de veiller sur votre santé et votre sécurité, de vous protéger et d'éviter les accidents; et ce, tant avant le départ que durant le voyage.

Si, à votre retour au Canada, vous êtes malade ou ne vous sentez pas bien, vous devriez consulter votre médecin. Sans attendre qu'il vous le demande, informez-le du lieu de votre récent voyage ou séjour à l'étranger.

Les informations présentées ci-après sont des conseils généraux relatifs à la santé des voyageurs à l'étranger. Pour obtenir des précisions sur votre cas personnel et des conseils relatifs aux pays où vous vous rendrez , consultez un médecin ou une clinique santé-voyage .

Les conseils aux voyageurs touchent divers sujets, tels que :

Vous pouvez également obtenir des Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web renseignements par pays. Ils sont offerts par le ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (MAECI) et comportent des conseils de santé élaborés par la Direction générale de la santé de la population et de la santé publique de Santé Canada.

Des renseignements concernant la sécurité et la protection durant le voyage sont offerts par le programme Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web Assistance aux voyageurs ainsi que par le MAECI (1 800 267-6788) ou encore par le biais d'un service d'information par télécopieur (1-800-575-2500).

Santé Canada offre également des programmes d'inspection tels que le Programme d'inspection des navires de croisière, afin de protéger la santé des voyageurs autant au Canada qu'à l'étranger.