Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Science and Research

Science Advisory Board

The Science Advisory Board (SAB) was created in 1997 to provide the Minister of Health with independent, expert, multi-disciplinary, and strategic advice on scientific programs, emerging health science issues and trends, and on scientific partnerships and linkages. Over the years, the operation of the SAB has been reviewed to ensure that it continues to function under its mandate and contributes to the Department's mission.

The SAB's current mandate is to provide the Deputy Minister, Associate Deputy Minister, regulatory Assistant Deputy Ministers, and other senior decision-makers with a forum for science-based discussions founded on independent, objective advice and guidance.

The SAB membership includes 6 external members and is chaired by the Deputy Minister. SAB meetings are held at least twice a year (fall and spring).

The Board is supported by a Secretariat located within the Science Policy Directorate, Strategic Policy Branch. The Secretariat provides support to the Board, and prepares the meeting agenda for approval by the Deputy Minister. It also coordinates the preparation of documents for the meetings, and prepares the meeting summaries and reports.

For more information on the Science Advisory Board and its work, please contact the Science Advisory Board Secretariat.

To access archived content please visit the Science Advisory Board archived pages.

If your inquiry involves general information, for example, Heath Canada's regulatory requirements for product registration please contact the general inquires office.

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Science et recherche

Conseil consultatif des sciences

Le Conseil consultatif des sciences (CCS) a été créé en 1997 pour fournir au ministre de la Santé des conseils indépendants, éclairés, multidisciplinaires et stratégiques sur les programmes scientifiques, les nouveaux enjeux et les nouvelles tendances en matière de sciences de la santé ainsi que les partenariats et les liens d'ordre scientifique. Le Conseil a fait l'objet d'examens au fil des ans pour s'assurer qu'il continue de fonctionner conformément à son mandat et qu'il contribue à la mission du Ministère.

Le CCS a pour mandat de fournir au sous-ministre, au sous-ministre délégué, aux sous-ministres adjoints chargés de réglementation et aux autres principaux décideurs un lieu où débattre de questions scientifiques sur la base de conseils et d'avis indépendants et objectifs.

Le CCS compte 6 membres externes et est présidé par le sous-ministre. Il se réunit au moins deux fois par année (à l'automne et au printemps).

Le CCS est appuyé par un secrétariat qui relève de la Direction des politiques scientifiques de la Direction générale de la politique stratégique. Le secrétariat offre un soutien au Conseil et établit l'ordre du jour des réunions, qu'il soumet à l'approbation du sous-ministre. Il coordonne également la préparation des documents nécessaires aux réunions et rédige les résumés et les comptes rendus de celles-ci.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les travaux du Conseil consultatif des sciences, veuillez communiquer avec son secrétariat.

Pour accéder au contenu archivé, veuillez visiter les pages archivées du Conseil consultatif des sciences.

Pour toute demande de renseignements d'ordre général, par exemple sur les exigences réglementaires de Santé Canada concernant l'homologation des produits, veuillez communiquer avec le bureau des renseignements généraux.