Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Science and Research

Terms of Reference

These Terms of Reference were approved by the Deputy Minister on: March 4th, 2014.


As a science based department Health Canada relies upon the best and most up-to-date scientific evidence to support its overall mission to help Canadians maintain and improve their health. There are several processes in place to assist the Department in receiving scientific evidence and advice including internal scientific research, external scientific advisory committees, and the Science Advisory Board (SAB).

Established in 1997, the SAB has a unique role in that it aims to facilitate discussion among senior management at the highest levels within the Department and external science experts that rests on sound science and involves considering other interests, values, and sources of knowledge (e.g., ethics, public opinion, and history). It has contributed to the Department's science policy decision making in several key areas such as biobanking, pediatric research, and environmental health studies.

As part of good management practice, there have been at least two reviews of the SAB since its inception to ensure that it continues to function under its mandate and contributes to the Department's mission. In 2012, the SAB underwent a further review precipitated somewhat by the Government's efforts toward deficit reduction. The review recognized that the significance of the SAB's overall role to senior management needed to be balanced by current resource issues. Consequently, the changes being introduced in these revised SAB terms of reference aim to improve the impact of the SAB's advice by engaging more directly with the Deputy Minister and senior management and increase efficiencies in the SAB operations.

1. Authority

The SAB is established under the authority of the Deputy Minister. The Deputy Minister, therefore, has the responsibility and sole authority to make decisions with respect to the SAB's mandate, operations, and potential follow-through of its advice or recommendations within the Department.

2. Mandate

The SAB's mandate is to provide the Deputy Minister, Associate Deputy Minister, regulatory Assistant Deputy Ministers, and other senior decision-makers with a forum for science-based discussions founded on independent, objective advice and guidance.

SAB discussions will consist of both a formal and an informal component.

The formal component of the agenda provides senior management with an opportunity to engage external SAB members on a variety of pre-selected science-related topics relevant to the Department. These targeted discussions might involve SAB considerations on critical or emerging science issues facing the Department, program or branch level science governance initiatives, planned science and research activities, and science communication.

The informal component will allow senior management and external SAB members to freely engage in science discussions without pre-set limits in terms of structure or content. Discussions might focus on drawing interconnections among science issues such as research ethics, foresight and hindsight, intellectual property, decision-making, and public engagement on science. Through such informal engagements insights will emerge that will assist the Department's senior science managers in future science planning, risk management, and decision making.

In addition to the formal and informal components, the SAB, or individual SAB members, might be engaged, on an ad-hoc basis, to address a particular science question or concern. For example, the Deputy Minister might ask a SAB member to clarify the science issues around the dual-use of a certain health product.

SAB discussions will represent its advice to the Department.

3. Governance

The SAB will report directly to the Deputy Minister.

3.1 Secretariat

The SAB Secretariat is housed in the Science Policy Directorate of the Strategic Policy Branch. The Secretariat is the administrative liaison between SAB members and Health Canada.

The responsibilities of the Secretariat include to:

  1. coordinate the external member appointment process;
  2. coordinate the preparation of meeting materials;
  3. support public access to information about the SAB, as appropriate;
  4. assist with a review of the SAB, as required.

4. Membership

4.1 Membership considerations

4.1.1 External Members

The SAB will consist of a maximum of 5-6 members external to the Department appointed, at pleasure, by the Deputy Minister.

External membership will include scientists from disciplines relevant to the mandate of Health Canada such as, epidemiology, toxicology, chemistry, pharmacology, environmental health, and human physiology. External membership will also include an individual with expertise in health law and ethics.

Consideration will also be given to the following: experience with science management issues; availability and willingness to serve; professional standing; demonstrated ability to provide impartial advice and exercise independent judgment.

External SAB members serve as individuals on the basis of their expertise. They do not represent organizations, and should neither request nor receive instruction from any person or organization external to the SAB in order to provide their advice to the Deputy Minister.

4.1.2 Internal Members

Internal membership will consist of the following:

  • Deputy Minister;
  • Associate Deputy Minister;
  • Assistant Deputy Minister of the Healthy Environments and Consumer Safety Branch;
  • Assistant Deputy Minister of the Health Products and Food Branch;
  • Executive Director of the Pest Management Regulatory Agency, and;
  • Senior Medical Advisor to the Deputy Minister.

In order to achieve the SAB's mandate, internal members cannot delegate their attendance to SAB meetings.

4.1.3 Invited Guests

Depending on subject matter of the meeting, guests such as the Chief Public Health Officer of the Public Health Agency of Canada and the Chief Scientific Officer of the Canadian Institutes of Health Research may be invited to attend SAB meetings.

4.2 Roles and Responsibilities

4.2.1 External Members

External SAB members have a responsibility to Health Canada and, by extension, to Canadians, to give their best advice to Health Canada. Members fulfill their roles through their integrity, expertise, experience, and openness to the dialogue and deliberation.

Other responsibilities may include:

  • be available and prepared to participate in SAB meetings, including Internet-based meetings, email exchanges, conference calls, and videoconferencing;
  • participate in any orientation activities related to the Department's science activities;
  • notify the Secretariat of any changes in their affiliations and interests during the time they are members;
  • direct any media inquiries to the Secretariat and notify the Secretariat about the inquiry.

4.2.2 Internal Members

Internal members have the responsibility to participate in the preparation of the formal and informal aspects of the SAB agenda.

This may include preparing briefing material on specific science-related issues tabled for discussion at a SAB meeting. The material will serve as background information for external SAB members.

In addition, internal members are responsible to actively participate in SAB meetings, in particular during the informal discussions, to ensure an adequate exchange of perspectives and points of view necessary for fruitful discussions.

4.3 Chair

The Deputy Minister will chair SAB meetings.

4.4 Affiliations and Interests

To be considered for appointment, external members of the SAB are required to complete and return the Affiliations and Interests Declaration Form.

In keeping with the Next link will take you to another Web site Privacy Act, a completed Affiliations and Interests Declaration Form is considered confidential. Health Canada will not make public any information in the form without the external member's permission. However, as a condition of membership, external members will allow Health Canada to publish, on its website and in print, a Summary of Expertise, Experience, and Affiliations and Interests, based on the completed declaration form.

External members must update their declaration in writing whenever their situation changes.

Health Canada will review declarations before making appointments and on an ongoing basis, but at least on an annual basis, as well as any time the SAB mandate is changed.

External members are expected to conduct themselves in an appropriate manner. They may not use their position on the SAB for their private gain, or for the gain of any other person, company, or organization.

4.5 Confidentiality

To support their ability to provide well-informed advice, external SAB members may receive confidential information. Every external member must sign a Confidentiality Agreement before participating on the SAB.

The Confidentiality Agreement prohibits the disclosure of any confidential information received through participation on the SAB, including information received orally or in writing, through email correspondence, telephone calls, print materials, meeting discussions, etc.

Health Canada will mark information according to the level to which it is protected under the Next link will take you to another Web site Policy on Government Security.

4.6 Security clearance

All external members are required to attain an appropriate security clearance which may require them to submit fingerprints to the RCMP. Health Canada provides the required forms to candidates for appointment.

4.7 Indemnification

All external members serve on the SAB on a volunteer basis. Health Canada undertakes to provide its volunteer SAB members with protection against civil liability provided the volunteer member acts in good faith, within the scope of their volunteer duties, and does not act against the interests of the Crown.

External members act as advisors to Health Canada and are not decision-makers. The Deputy Minister has the ultimate responsibility and accountability for any decision resulting from the advice received from the SAB.

4.8 Travel and expenses

External members will be reimbursed for expenses incurred on approved travel for the SAB, such as trip costs and accommodation, according to the Treasury Board's Next link will take you to another Web site Directive on the Management of Expenditures on Travel, Hospitality and Conferences

4.9 Tenure

External members are appointed by the Deputy Minister for a 3-year renewable term and can serve for a maximum of two terms.

4.10 Resignation process

It is preferable for an external member to provide 14-day notice of the intent to resign.

4.11 Reasons for termination

Health Canada may end an external member's appointment by writing stating the reasons the appointment is being concluded and the effective date. Appointments may end for a variety of reasons, for example, the external member's term is complete, or the SAB's mandate has changed, thus requiring a different membership. An appointment may also be ended for cause when, for example, an external member fails to act according to these Terms of Reference, or breaks the Confidentiality Agreement, or misses three consecutive meetings without a satisfactory reason.

4.12 Media and communications

An external member may discuss SAB work with the media, at conferences, or other external events only with prior permission from the Secretariat.

All media requests related to the SAB statements or activities must be directed to Media Relations, Health Canada, who will coordinate responses with the Secretariat and the designated media spokesperson.

5. Management and Administration

5.1 Transparency

Health Canada is committed to transparency as an operating principle. Transparency of the SAB is served by ensuring that meeting schedules are predictable, where possible, and posting materials on Health Canada's website. These materials include the following: terms of reference; biographies of external members; summary of expertise, experience, and affiliations and interests of external members; and meeting summaries.

5.2 Meeting notice and invitations

All meetings are scheduled at the call of the Deputy Minister.

5.3 Frequency, type, and location of meetings

Meetings will be held two to three times a year in the National Capital Region. Additional meetings, or teleconferences, may be held as needed.

For teleconferences, and other similar meetings, external members must make every effort to ensure that a secure line is used and that no one else can listen to the discussion.

5.4 Meeting Summaries

Meeting summaries will summarize the proceedings to effectively reflect the discussion. Remarks will not be attributed to individuals.

Meeting summaries will be prepared by the Secretariat and circulated to members for review and confirmation.

Approved meeting summaries may be posted on Health Canada's website.

5.5 SAB Operational and Mandate Review

A review will be conducted every two years to determine whether administrative, management, or other improvements are required to increase the efficiency and effectiveness of the SAB. A review may also be carried out to determine the ongoing relevance of the SAB's mandate.

During the review process, feedback may be sought from the SAB members.

The review may be conducted by Health Canada officials, or by consultants hired by Health Canada. The Review Report will be submitted to the Deputy Minister, who may then authorize its distribution to SAB members.

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Science et recherche

Mandat

Le présent cadre de référence a été approuvé par le sous-ministre le 4 mars, 2014.

Introduction

Comme ministère à vocation scientifique, Santé Canada se fonde sur les preuves scientifiques les plus solides et les plus à jour pour mener à bien sa mission globale d'aider les Canadiens à préserver et à améliorer leur santé. Plusieurs processus existent pour aider le ministère à recevoir des preuves et des avis scientifiques, dont la recherche scientifique interne, les comités consultatifs scientifiques et le Conseil consultatif des sciences (CCS).

Établi en 1997, le CCS joue un rôle unique en ce sens qu'il vise à faciliter, entre les cadres aux échelons supérieurs du ministère et les experts scientifiques externes, un dialogue qui repose sur une science de qualité et prend en compte d'autres intérêts, valeurs et sources de connaissances (p. ex. éthique, opinion publique et histoire). Le CCS a contribué à la prise de décision en matière de politique scientifique sur plusieurs questions clés au ministère, comme la mise en banque de matériel biologique, la recherche pédiatrique et les études sur la salubrité de l'environnement.

Comme le veulent de bonnes pratiques de gestion, au moins deux examens du CCS ont eu lieu depuis sa création pour s'assurer qu'il continue de fonctionner conformément à son mandat et contribue à la mission du ministère. En 2012, le CCS a fait l'objet d'un autre examen, dicté dans une certaine mesure par les efforts de réduction du déficit du gouvernement. Il en est ressorti que l'importance du rôle global du CCS auprès de la haute direction devait être mise en balance avec les questions de ressources de l'heure. Par conséquent, les changements présentés dans le cadre de référence révisé du CCS visent à améliorer l'impact de ses avis par une mobilisation plus directe auprès du sous-ministre et de la haute direction, et des gains d'efficience dans ses opérations.

1. Autorisation

Le CCS est établi en vertu de l'autorité du sous-ministre. Le sous-ministre a donc la responsabilité et a le pouvoir exclusif de prendre des décisions au sujet du mandat et des opérations du CCS, et de la suite potentielle à donner à ses avis et recommandations au sein du ministère.

2. Mandat

Le mandat du CCS est de créer pour le sous-ministre, le sous-ministre délégué, les sous-ministres adjoints chargés de réglementation et les autres décideurs de la haute direction un forum où débattre de questions scientifiques sur la base de conseils et d'avis indépendants et objectifs.

Les échanges du CCS auront un volet structuré et un volet non structuré.

Le volet structuré du mandat offre à la haute direction l'occasion de faire participer des membres externes du CCS à des échanges sur divers sujets scientifiques présélectionnés qui présentent de l'intérêt pour le ministère. Ces échanges ciblés pourraient amener le CCS à se pencher sur des enjeux scientifiques émergents ou critiques pour les initiatives de gouvernance des sciences, les activités de science et de recherche prévues, et la communication en matière de sciences au niveau du ministère, des programmes ou des directions générales.

Le volet non structuré permettra à la haute direction et aux membres externes du CCS de participer librement à des discussions sur des enjeux scientifiques sans limites prédéterminées quant à la structure ou au contenu. Ces discussions pourraient avoir pour but d'établir des rapports entre des questions scientifiques comme l'éthique de la recherche, la prévoyance et la réflexion après coup, la propriété intellectuelle, la prise de décision et la participation du public en sciences. De ces engagements non structurés se dégageront des idées qui aideront la haute direction scientifique du ministère dans la planification, la gestion des risques et la prise de décision en sciences.

En plus des volets structuré et non structuré, le CCS ou ses membres à titre individuel peuvent devoir se pencher, à l'occasion, sur des questions ou préoccupations particulières en matière de sciences. Par exemple, le sous-ministre pourrait demander à un membre du CCS de clarifier les enjeux scientifiques entourant le double usage d'un produit de santé quelconque.

Les discussions du CCS constitueront ses avis au ministère.

3. Gouvernance

Le CCS relève directement du sous-ministre.

3.1 Secrétariat

La Direction des politiques scientifiques de la Direction générale de la politique stratégique héberge le secrétariat du CCS. Le secrétariat est le lien administratif entre les membres du CCS et Santé Canada.

Les responsabilités du secrétariat sont entre autres les suivantes :

  1. coordonner le processus de nomination des membres externes;
  2. coordonner la préparation de la documentation des réunions;
  3. favoriser l'accès du public aux renseignements concernant le CCS, s'il y a lieu;
  4. aider à l'examen du CCS, au besoin.

4. Composition

4.1 Considérations relatives à la composition

4.1.1 Membres externes

Le CCS comptera un maximum de cinq à six membres de l'extérieur du ministère nommés, à son gré, par le sous-ministre.

Les membres provenant de l'extérieur du ministère seront des scientifiques de disciplines pertinentes pour le mandat de Santé Canada, comme l'épidémiologie, la toxicologie, la chimie, la pharmacologie, la salubrité de l'environnement et la physiologie humaine. Les membres externes comprendra également une personne ayant une expertise en droit de la santé et de l'éthique.

Les éléments suivants seront aussi considérés : expérience des questions de gestion des sciences; disponibilité et volonté de servir; stature professionnelle; capacité démontrée de fournir des avis objectifs et d'exercer un jugement indépendant.

Les membres externes du CCS agissent à titre personnel sur la base de leur expertise. Ils ne représentent aucune organisation et ne doivent ni demander ni recevoir de directives d'une personne ou d'un organisme externe au CCS pour conseiller le sous-ministre.

4.1.2 Membres internes

Les membres internes seront les suivants :

  • Sous-ministre;
  • Sous-ministre délégué;
  • Sous-ministre adjoint, Direction générale de la santé environnementale et de la sécurité des consommateurs;
  • Sous-ministre adjoint, Direction générale des produits de santé et des aliments;
  • Directeur exécutif de l'Agence de réglementation de la lutte antiparasitaire;
  • Conseiller médical principal auprès du sous-ministre.

Pour que le CCS s'acquitte de son mandat, les membres internes ne peuvent se faire représenter à ses réunions.

4.1.3 Invités

En fonction des sujets à l'ordre du jour, des intervenants comme l'administrateur en chef de la santé publique de l'Agence de la santé publique du Canada et Chef des affaires scientifiques des Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada peuvent être invités aux réunions du CCS.

4.2 Rôles et responsabilités

4.2.1 Membres externes

Les membres externes du CCS ont la responsabilité envers Santé Canada et, par extension, envers la population canadienne, de fournir les meilleurs avis possibles. Les membres s'acquittent de leur rôle grâce à leur intégrité, à leur expertise, à leur expérience, et à leur ouverture au dialogue et à la délibération.

Les responsabilités suivantes incombent aussi aux membres :

  • être disponibles pour participer aux réunions du CCS, y compris aux réunions par Internet, aux échanges de courriels, aux conférences téléphoniques et aux vidéoconférences, et y être préparés;
  • participer à toutes activités d'orientation en lien avec les activités scientifiques du ministère;
  • informer le secrétariat de tous changements à leurs affiliations et intérêts pendant qu'ils restent membres du CCS;
  • renvoyer toutes demandes des médias au secrétariat et informer le secrétariat des demandes en question.

4.2.2 Membres internes

Les membres internes ont la responsabilité de participer à la préparation des volets structurés et non structurés de l'ordre du jour du CCS.

Cette responsabilité peut inclure la préparation de notes d'information sur des questions de sciences particulières qui seront abordées à une réunion du CCS. Ces notes procureront une information générale aux membres externes du CCS.

De plus, les membres internes ont la responsabilité de participer activement aux réunions du CCS, en particulier aux discussions informelles, pour assurer un échange adéquat de perspectives et de points de vue pour des discussions fructueuses.

4.3 Président

Le sous-ministre préside les réunions du CCS.

4.4 Affiliations et intérêts

Pour que leur candidature soit prise en compte, les membres externes du CCE sont tenus de remplir et de remettre le Formulaire de déclaration d'intérêts et d'affiliations.

Conformément à la Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, le Formulaire de déclaration d'intérêts et d'affiliations, une fois rempli, est considéré comme un document confidentiel. Santé Canada ne rendra publique aucune information figurant dans le formulaire sans l'autorisation du membre externe. Toutefois, comme condition de nomination, les membres externes doivent autoriser Santé Canada à publier sur son site Web et dans des documents écrits un Sommaire de l'expertise, de l'expérience, des affiliations et des intérêts, à partir du formulaire de déclaration rempli.

Si leur situation personnelle vient à changer, les membres externes ont la responsabilité de mettre à jour leur déclaration par écrit.

Santé Canada passera en revue les déclarations avant la nomination des membres, au moins une fois par année ensuite, et chaque fois que le mandat de l'organisme consultatif est modifié.

Les membres externes sont tenus de se conduire de façon convenable. Il leur est interdit de se servir de leur position au sein du CCS pour leurs intérêts personnels ou ceux de toute autre personne, entreprise ou organisation.

4.5 Confidentialité

Pour être plus en mesure de fournir des avis éclairés, les membres externes du CCS peuvent recevoir des informations de nature confidentielle. Chaque membre externe doit signer une Entente de confidentialité avant de participer aux travaux du CCS.

Cette entente interdit la divulgation de tous renseignements confidentiels obtenus dans le cadre de la participation aux travaux du CCS, qu'ils aient été obtenus verbalement ou par écrit, par courriel, par téléphone, dans un document, dans le cadre de discussions ayant eu lieu au cours d'une réunion, etc.

Santé Canada cotera les renseignements selon le niveau de protection prévu en vertu de la Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Politique sur la sécurité du gouvernement.

4.6 Attestation de sécurité

Tous les membres externes du CCS sont tenus d'obtenir l'attestation de sécurité nécessaire, ce qui peut les obliger à faire prendre leurs empreintes digitales par la GRC. Santé Canada fournira aux candidats les formulaires nécessaires.

4.7 Indemnisation

Tous les membres externes qui siègent au CCS le font à titre bénévole. Santé Canada s'engage à accorder à ses membres bénévoles du CCS une protection contre la responsabilité civile, pourvu qu'ils agissent de bonne foi dans l'exercice de leurs fonctions, et n'agissent pas à l'encontre des intérêts de l'État.

Les membres externes jouent le rôle de conseillers auprès de Santé Canada et ne sont pas des décideurs. Le sous-ministre est en dernier ressort responsable et comptable de toute décision résultant d'avis reçus du CCS.

4.8 Déplacements et frais

Les dépenses engagées par les membres externes pour un voyage approuvé afin de participer aux travaux du CCS, comme les coûts de transport et d'hébergement, seront remboursées conformément à la Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Directive sur la gestion des dépenses de voyages, d'accueil et de conférences du Conseil du Trésor.

4.9 Durée des fonctions

Les membres externes sont nommés par le sous-ministre pour un mandat de trois ans renouvelable une fois.

4.10 Processus de démission

Il est préférable que le membre externe qui a l'intention de démissionner donne un préavis de 14 jours.

4.11 Motifs de remerciement ou de congédiement

Santé Canada peut mettre un terme à la nomination d'un membre externe en lui remettant un avis écrit précisant les motifs et la date de son remerciement. Le membre externe peut être remercié pour diverses raisons, par exemple la fin de son mandat, ou une modification du mandat du CCS rendant nécessaire de modifier sa composition. Un membre peut également être démis de ses fonctions pour un motif valable, par exemple, s'il n'agit pas conformément au présent cadre de référence, s'il viole l'entente de confidentialité ou s'il est absent à trois réunions consécutives sans raison valable.

4.12 Médias et communications

Un membre externe doit avoir obtenu l'autorisation du secrétariat pour pouvoir discuter des travaux du CCS avec les médias ou dans le cadre de conférences ou d'autres activités externes.

Toutes les demandes des médias relatives aux déclarations ou aux activités du CCS doivent être renvoyées à l'Unité des relations avec les médias de Santé Canada, qui coordonnera les réponses avec le secrétariat et le porte-parole désigné auprès des médias.

5. Gestion et administration

5.1 Transparence

Santé Canada s'est engagé à faire de la transparence l'un de ses principes de fonctionnement. La transparence du CCS est favorisée lorsque le calendrier des réunions est prévisible (dans la mesure du possible), et lorsque les documents pertinents sont accessibles sur le site Web de Santé Canada. Ces documents sont le cadre de référence, les biographies des membres externes, les sommaires de l'expertise, de l'expérience, des affiliations et des intérêts des membres externes, et les comptes rendus des réunions.

5.2 Avis de réunions et invitations

Toutes les réunions ont lieu sur convocation du sous-ministre.

5.3 Fréquence, type et lieu des réunions

Deux ou trois réunions par année auront lieu dans la région de la capitale nationale. D'autres réunions, ou téléconférences, pourraient avoir lieu au besoin.

Pour les téléconférences, et les autres réunions semblables, les membres externes doivent tout mettre en œuvre pour qu'une ligne sécurisée soit utilisée et que personne d'autre ne puisse écouter les échanges.

5.4 Comptes rendus des réunions

Les comptes rendus des réunions résumeront fidèlement les délibérations. Aucun propos ne sera attribué à une personne en particulier.

Le secrétariat rédigera les comptes rendus et les fera circuler parmi les membres, qui devront les examiner et en confirmer la teneur.

Les comptes rendus approuvés des réunions pourront être mis sur le site Web de Santé Canada.

5.5 Examen du fonctionnement et du mandat du CCS

Un examen sera effectué tous les deux ans pour déterminer si des améliorations doivent être apportées sur les plans de l'administration et de la gestion, ou relativement à d'autres aspects, afin d'accroître l'efficacité et l'efficience du CCS. Un examen peut aussi être effectué pour déterminer si le mandat du CCS continue d'être pertinent.

L'avis des membres du CCS pourra être sollicité au cours du processus d'examen.

L'examen peut être effectué par des fonctionnaires de Santé Canada ou des experts-conseils embauchés par le ministère. Le rapport d'examen sera présenté au sous-ministre, qui pourra ensuite en autoriser la communication aux membres du CCS.