Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Science and Research

Bios of Science Advisory Board Members

I. External Members

Dr. Claire Franklin

Dr. Franklin has had a distinguished career as a researcher, educator and regulator. After joining Health Canada, she was involved in the regulation of consumer products, environmental chemicals, pharmaceuticals and pesticides. In 1995, Dr. Franklin became the first Executive Director of the Pest Management Regulatory Agency.

After leaving Health Canada, she joined the LifeLine Group and is now its President. The LifeLine Group is a non-profit organization dedicated to the development of software tools for assessing exposure, conducting risk assessments to xenobiotics as well as assessing the benefits of dietary nutrients. A more recent area of research in the company is environmental justice involving working with communities hit by catastrophic weather events such as hurricanes.

She is currently on faculty at the Cyprus International Institute in the Harvard School of Public Health-Cyprus University of Technology Program for the Environment and Public Health where she teaches regulatory toxicology and exposure to chemicals. She is currently a member of the International Society of Exposure Sciences.

Dr. Yola Moride

Dr. Moride has a strong track record of methodological expertise in pharmacoepidemiology and therapeutic risk management. She is President of YolaRx Consultants, a private consulting and research organization with a wide client base in the US, EU, and Canada.

She is Full Professor at UniversitÚ de MontrÚal and Visiting Professor at the University of Bordeaux. She is the former President of the International Society for Pharmacoepidemiology (ISPE) and currently is Vice-President of the International Society of Pharmacovigilance (ISoP).

She is a member of advisory panels at Health Canada, the World Health Organization (WHO), and the European Network of Centres of Pharmacoepidemiology and Pharmacovigilance (ENCePP) at the European Medicines Agency (EMA).

She received a PhD in Epidemiology from McGill University, and a Post-doctoral Fellowship in Pharmacovigilance from the University of Bordeaux.

Dr. Christopher Loomis

Christopher Loomis received his Ph.D. in Pharmacology & Toxicology from Queen's University in 1983, where he held a joint appointment as assistant professor in the Department of Pharmacology & Toxicology, and the Department of Anesthesia. In 1988, Dr. Loomis moved to Memorial University of Newfoundland as associate professor of Pharmacology in the School of Pharmacy and the Faculty of Medicine. He was appointed full professor in 1996, and became director of the School of Pharmacy (decanal equivalent) in 1998. Beginning in 2002, Dr. Loomis served two terms as Vice-President (Research) of Memorial University. He also served as Vice-President (Academic) Pro Tempore, and President & Vice-Chancellor Pro Tempore from 2008-2010.

Funded primarily by the Medical Research Council of Canada (MRC) for more than twenty years, Dr. Loomis' program of research focused on the spinal pharmacology of pain (opioid and non-opioid mechanisms of spinal analgesia) and the central mechanisms of neuropathic pain early after nerve injury.

He is a former member and officer of several MRC peer-review committees, and recently completed two terms on the Governing Council of the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR). He is a past member of the Advisory Council of Rx&D's Health Research Foundation, and the Pharmacy Examining Board of Canada's Panel of Examiners. Dr. Loomis was elected Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences in 2012.

Dr. Lorne Tyrrell

Dr. Tyrrell is Distinguished University Professor of Medicine and Medical Microbiology and Immunology at the University of Alberta as well as CIHR/GSK Chair in Virology. He is the Director of the Li Ka Shing Institute of Virology. Previously he was Dean of the Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry (1994-2004), and Chairman of the Department of Medical Microbiology and Infectious Diseases, University of Alberta.

He obtained his BSc in Chemistry and his MD at the University of Alberta and his Ph.D. in Pharmacology at Queen's University, Kingston, Ontario. He was an MRC Centennial Fellow at the Karolinska Institute, Stockholm, Sweden, and a Fellow in Infectious Diseases and Internal Medicine at the University of Alberta.

Dr. Tyrrell is a member of the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Alberta and the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada. Dr. Tyrrell is the Chair of the Board of the Gairdner Foundation and the Chair of the Board of the Institute of Health Economics. He is a member of the Royal Society of Canada.

Dr. Jack Gauldie

Jack Gauldie, is Distinguished University Professor at McMaster University where he has conducted his research in immunology, inflammation, infectious diseases and vaccine development for the past 40 years.

He was Chair of the Department of Pathology and Molecular Medicine, encompassing both clinical laboratory medicine and basic biomedical research, from 1989 to 2004. He is currently the Director of the Institute for Molecular Medicine and Health in the Faculty of Health Sciences.

He holds a Ph.D. from University College London and is a Fellow of the Royal Society (Canada) and the Royal College of Physicians (Edinburgh).

He was a member of the Advisory Board of the Institute for Infection and Immunity of the Canadian Institutes for Health Research (CIHR) and is Chair of the Advisory Board of Ontario Research Fund and was Co-Chair of the Medical Review Panel of the Gairdner Foundation.

He has published over 370 scientific articles and a number of book chapters, mainly dealing with the areas of biomedical research including immunology, pathology, infectious disease and cancer. He has received awards from the Canadian Society for Immunology, the Canadian Medical Association and the Canadian Society of Clinical Chemists and is a frequent evaluator for granting agencies including CIHR, the National Institutes of Health (U.S.) and the Medical Research Council (UK).

Professor Timothy Caulfield

Professor Caulfield is a Canada Research Chair in Health Law and Policy and a Professor in the Faculty of Law and the School of Public Health at the University of Alberta. He has been the Research Director of the Health Law Institute at the University of Alberta since 1993. Over the past several years he has been involved in a variety of interdisciplinary research endeavours that have allowed him to publish over 250 articles and book chapters.

Professor Caulfield has won numerous academic awards including being named a Fellow of the Trudeau Foundation, the Royal Society of Canada and the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences. He has been the Principal Investigator for a number of large interdisciplinary projects that explore the ethical, legal and health policy issues associated with a range of topics, including stem cell research, genetics, patient safety, the prevention of chronic disease, obesity policy, the commercialization of research, complementary and alternative medicine and access to health care.

Professor Caulfield is and has been involved with a number of national and international policy and research ethics committees, including: Canadian Biotechnology Advisory Committee; Genome Canada's Science Advisory Committee; the Ethics and Public Policy Committee for International Society for Stem Cell Research; and the Federal Panel on Research Ethics. He writes frequently for the popular press on a range of health and science policy issues and is the author of The Cure for Everything: Untangling the Twisted Messages about Health, Fitness and Happiness (Penguin 2012).

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Science et recherche

Biographie des membres du Conseil consultatif scientifique

I. Membres externes

Claire Franklin

Mme Franklin a un parcours professionnel remarquable en recherche, en enseignement et en réglementation. Recrutée au sein de Santé Canada, elle y exerce ses fonctions professionnelles notamment dans la réglementation des produits de consommation, des produits chimiques environnementaux, des produits pharmaceutiques et des produits antiparasitaires. En 1995, elle devient la première directrice exécutive de l'Agence de réglementation de la lutte antiparasitaire.

Après avoir quitté Santé Canada, elle a été engagée par l'organisme LifeLine Group, dont elle est aujourd'hui présidente. LifeLine Group est un organisme sans but lucratif voué à la mise au point d'outils logiciels servant à évaluer l'exposition aux xénobiotiques et les risques connexes, ainsi que les bienfaits des nutriments. Plus récemment, l'organisme a fait des recherches liées à la justice environnementale, et notamment travaillé avec les collectivités touchées par des catastrophes météorologiques comme les ouragans.

Mme Franklin est actuellement membre du corps professoral du Cyprus International Institute dans le cadre d'un programme d'enseignement conjoint de la Harvard School of Public Health et de la Cyprus University of Technology sur l'environnement et la santé publique, y enseignant le programme de toxicologie et réglementation. Elle est actuellement membre de l'International Society of Exposure Sciences.

Yola Moride

Mme Moride possède une excellente expertise méthodologique en pharmaco-épidémiologie et en gestion du risque thérapeutique. Elle est présidente de YolaRx Consultants, cabinet de consultants privés et organisme de recherche qui compte de nombreux clients aux États-Unis, dans l'UE et au Canada.

Elle est professeure titulaire à l'Université de Montréal et professeure invitée à l'Université de Bordeaux. Elle a été présidente de l'International Society for Pharmacoepidemiology (ISPE) et est actuellement vice-présidente de l'International Society of Pharmacovigilance (ISoP).

Elle est membre de conseils consultatifs au sein de Santé Canada, de l'Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS) et du Réseau européen des centres de pharmaco-épidémiologie et de pharmacovigilance (ENCePP), qui font partie de l'Agence européenne des médicaments (EMA).

Elle est titulaire d'un Ph. D. en épidémiologie de l'Université McGill et a reçu une bourse postdoctorale en pharmacovigilance de l'Université de Bordeaux.

Christopher Loomis

Christopher Loomis a obtenu son Ph. D. en pharmacologie et en toxicologie de l'Université Queen's en 1983; il était alors à la fois professeur adjoint au département de pharmacologie et de toxicologie et au département d'anesthésie. En 1988, M. Loomis est devenu professeur adjoint de pharmacologie à l'école de pharmacie et à la faculté de médecine de la Memorial University of Newfoundland. Il a été nommé professeur titulaire en 1996, puis est devenu directeur de l'école de pharmacie (équivalent décanal) en 1998. À partir de 2002, M. Loomis a servi deux mandats en tant que vice-président (recherche) de la Memorial University. Il a également été vice-président (études) pro tempore, et président et vice-recteur pro tempore de 2008 à 2010.

Financé principalement par le Conseil de recherches médicales du Canada (CRM) depuis plus de vingt ans, le programme de recherche de M. Loomis porte sur la pharmacologie rachidienne de la douleur (médicaments opioïdes ou non opioïdes pour l'analgésie rachidienne) et sur les mécanismes centraux de la douleur neuropathique peu de temps après une lésion nerveuse.

Il a été membre et dirigeant de plusieurs comités d'examen par les pairs du CRM, et a récemment effectué deux mandats au sein du Conseil d'administration des Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada (IRSC). Il a été membre du conseil consultatif de la Fondation pour la recherche en santé (Rx&D) et du groupe d'examinateurs du Bureau des examinateurs en pharmacie du Canada. M. Loomis a été élu membre de l'Académie canadienne des sciences de la santé en 2012.

Lorne Tyrrell

M. Tyrrell est professeur distingué de médecine, de microbiologie médicale et d'immunologie à l'Université de l'Alberta, et détenteur de la chaire des IRSC/GSK en virologie. Il est également directeur du Li Ka Shing Institute of Virology. Auparavant, il a été doyen de la faculté de médecine et de médecine dentaire (1994-2004) et chef du département de microbiologie médicale et d'infectiologie de l'Université de l'Alberta.

Il a obtenu un baccalauréat en chimie et un doctorat en médecine de l'Université de l'Alberta, et un doctorat en pharmacologie de l'Université Queen's, à Kingston, en Ontario. Grâce à une bourse du Centenaire que lui a octroyée le Conseil de recherches médicales (CRM), il a fait des études postdoctorales au Karolinska Institute, à Stockholm, en Suède, et des études postdoctorales en infectiologie et en médecine interne à l'Université de l'Alberta.

Le Dr Tyrrell est membre du College of Physicians and Surgeons of Alberta et du Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada. Il est président du conseil d'administration de la Fondation Gairdner, et président du conseil d'administration de l'Institute of Health Economics. Il est membre de la Société royale du Canada.

Jack Gauldie

Jack Gauldie est un professeur émérite de l'Université McMaster où il a mené, au cours des 40 dernières années, des recherches sur l'immunologie, l'inflammation, les maladies infectieuses et la mise au point de vaccins.

De 1989 à 2004, il a été président du Département de pathologie et de médecine moléculaire qui regroupe la médecine de laboratoire clinique et la recherche biomédicale de base. Il est l'actuel directeur de l'Institut de médecine moléculaire de la Faculté des sciences de la santé.

Il a obtenu un Ph. D. à l'University College London et est membre de la Société royale du Canada et du Collège royal des médecins d'Édimbourg.

Il a fait partie du conseil consultatif de l'Institut des maladies infectieuses et immunitaires des Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada (IRSC), est le président du conseil consultatif du Fonds pour la recherche en Ontario et était coprésident du comité d'examen médical de la Fondation Gairdner.

Il a publié plus de 370 articles scientifiques et un grand nombre de chapitres d'ouvrages traitant principalement des domaines en lien avec la recherche biomédicale comme l'immunologie, la pathologie, les maladies infectieuses et le cancer. Il a reçu des prix de la Société canadienne d'immunologie, de l'Association médicale canadienne et de la Société canadienne des clinico-chimistes et travaille régulièrement à titre d'évaluateur pour des organismes subventionnaires tels que les IRSC, les National Institutes of Health des États-Unis et le Medical Research Council du Royaume-Uni.

Professeur Timothy Caulfield

Le professeur Caulfield est titulaire d'une chaire de recherche du Canada en droit et politiques de la santé, et professeur à la faculté de droit et à l'école de santé publique de l'Université de l'Alberta. Il est directeur de la recherche à l'institut du droit de la santé de l'Université de l'Alberta depuis 1993. Au cours des dernières années, il a participé à divers projets de recherche interdisciplinaire qui lui ont permis de publier plus de 250 articles et chapitres d'ouvrages.

M. Caulfield s'est vu remettre de nombreuses distinctions universitaires; il a notamment été nommé membre de la Fondation Trudeau, de la Société royale du Canada et de l'Académie canadienne des sciences de la santé. Il a été le chercheur principal dans le cadre de nombreux projets interdisciplinaires de grande envergure qui étudiaient les problèmes éthiques, légaux et liés aux politiques sur la santé dans les domaines suivants : recherche sur les cellules souches, génétique, sécurité des patients, prévention des maladies chroniques, politique sur l'obésité, commercialisation de la recherche, médecine complémentaire et parallèle, et accès aux soins de santé.

Le professeur Caulfield a siégé et siège encore au sein de divers comités nationaux et internationaux spécialisés dans les politiques et l'éthique en recherche : Comité consultatif canadien de la biotechnologie; Comité consultatif scientifique de Génome Canada; comité sur l'éthique et les politiques publiques de l'International Society for Stem Cell Research; Panel d'experts fédéral en éthique de la recherche. Il écrit fréquemment pour les journaux à grande diffusion à propos de diverses questions liées aux politiques sur la santé/aux politiques scientifiques, et il est l'auteur de The Cure for Everything: Untangling the Twisted Messages about Health, Fitness and Happiness (Penguin, 2012).