Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Science and Research

ARCHIVED - Summary of Expertise, Experience, and Affiliations and Interests - Science Advisory Board

Warning This content was archived on June 24 2013.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.


The following table summarizes the information about expertise, experience, and affiliations and interests relevant to the Science Advisory Board mandate declared by board members. Health Canada considered these declarations as part of the appointment process.

This summary is available as part of Health Canada's commitment to be transparent about the membership of its advisory bodies.

Assessment of affiliations and interests prior to each meeting

Prior to each committee meeting, the Science Advisory Board Chair and executive secretary assess each member's affiliations and interests, including direct financial interests, as they may apply to agenda items. Based on this review, they will decide, if necessary, to limit a member's participation in all or part of the meeting agenda, and will inform the member of this decision. As well, on receipt of the meeting agenda, members are expected to review their own affiliations and interests against agenda items and advise the Chair and secretariat if they see a potential cause for concern regarding the integrity and objectivity of their participation.

Members are expected to report promptly any changes in their circumstances as reported on the Affiliations and Interests Declaration Form to the secretariat and the Chair of the advisory body. Health Canada also asks members to review their affiliations and interests declaration on an annual basis.

In accordance with sections 3.2 to 3.6 of the Health Canada Policy on External Advisory Bodies, a person with a direct financial interest in a matter on the advisory body agenda may not participate in discussions with respect to that item, but they may participate in discussions regarding policy, management, or program development as they relate to the mandate of the advisory body.

Indicated Sector/Perspective and Expertise/Experience

A variety of perspectives within the Board will be sought to ensure that the advice the Department and the Agency receives is comprehensive. Members of the Board will include but are not limited to the following:

  • scientists, researchers, academics, and individuals with expertise, knowledge, and experience relevant to the mandates of the Department and the Agency, i.e., Aboriginal health;
  • health professionals, including those with practical and clinical experience;
  • those with practical experience or expertise in relevant consumer or patient issues;
  • industry.

The members of the Board are individuals external to the federal government who have knowledge, experience and expertise relevant to the mandates of Health Canada and PHAC such as in the following areas:

  • Epidemiology and biostatistics;
  • Chronic Illness - health promotion;
  • Pharmaco-epidemiology;
  • Gene therapeutics and biological chemistry;
  • Cancer research and risk factors;
  • Medical Anthropology;
  • Aboriginal Health;
  • Toxicology Risk Assessment;
  • Nutrition;
  • Epidemiology.
  1. Direct financial interests

    Current employment, investments in companies, partnerships, equity, royalties, joint ventures, trusts, real property, stocks, shares, or bonds that relate to the mandate of the advisory body.

  2. Indirect financial interests
    1. Within the past five years, payment from the regulated industry for work done or being done, including past employment, contracts, or consulting; or financial support, including research support, personal education grants, contributions, fellowships, sponsorships, and honoraria.1
    2. Within the past five years, materials, discounted products, gifts, or other benefits, or attendance at meetings where all or part of the travel and accommodation costs were provided by a party with an interest in the mandate of the advisory body.2
    3. Within the last three years, grants or other funding from a party with an interest in the mandate of the advisory body to any of the organizations where you are currently employed or participate in internal decision making.3
  3. Intellectual interests
    1. Within the last five years, any formal advice or opinion to industry, a government organization, or a non-government organization.
    2. Within the last five years, any published or publicly stated point of view.
    3. Current professional or volunteer affiliations, such as membership of professional societies, lobbying, public interest, or advocacy groups.
  4. Other

    Any other affiliations and interests or potential circumstances that might give a well-informed member of the public reasonable grounds for concern regarding the integrity and objectivity of your participation.

Name and
Indicated Sector/
Perspective and Expertise
Summary of Responses
Renaldo Battista Health Policy and Management Health Technology Assessment 1a. No 2a. Yes 2b. No 2c. No 3a. Yes 3b. Yes 3c. No 4a. No
Comments: Dr. Battista is a Member of the Board of Directors for the Canadian Agency for Drugs and Technologies in Health, a Member of the Board of Directors for Research Canada and a Member of the Priority Committee on Health Services Research, the Institute of Genetics, and the Canadian Institutes for Health Research. He is a Consultant for ad-hoc committees on risk management (February 2010), and on Health Technology Assessment (March 2010), Health Canada and the ad-hoc committee on the future of innovation (2009-10), Pfizer Canada (honorarium).
Stephen Bornstein Government and
Canadian Health Policy
1a. No 2a. No 2b. No 2c. No 3a. No 3b. No 3c. No 4a. No
Comments: None
Ahmed El-Sohemy Nutritional Sciences (molecular biology major)
1a. No 2a. Yes 2b. No 2c. No 3a. No 3b. No 3c. Yes 4a. No
Comments: Dr. El-Sohemy has received a research grant from the Dairy Farmers of Canada and has delivered a speech to the Canadian Coffee Association. He currently serves on the Board of Directors for the Natural Health Products Research Society of Canada.
Claire Franklin Toxicology Risk Assessment 1a. No 2a. No 2b. No 2c. No 3a. No 3b. No 3c. No 4a. No
Comments: None
Jack Gauldie Biological Chemistry; Gene Therapeutics 1a. Yes 2a. Yes 2b. Yes 2c. Yes 3a. Yes 3b. No 3c. Yes 4a. No
Comments: Dr. Gauldie has received research grants and contracts from: GlaxoSmithKline, Medimmune, Intermune, Defyrus, Transtechphamra. Shareholder: Defyrus Inc, Vistagen Therapeutics Inc. He has given presentations at GlaxoSmithKline United Kingdom Pulmonary Conferences (2009 to present) and is involved in various research grants and contracts through McMaster University. He is an advisor to the Canadian Institutes for Health Research's Institute for Infection and Immunity, and to the Ontario Research Fund, and is the Medical Research Centre United Kingdom Centre for Inflammation Research Edinburgh Chair. He has published over 350 scientific manuscripts on pathogens of particular diseases and is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada.
Susan Kennedy Pathology, Epidemiology
Environmental Health and Health Care
1a. No 2a. No 2b. No 2c. Yes 3a. Yes 3b. Yes 3c. No 4a. No
Comments: Dr. Kennedy has received grant funding from the Canadian Institutes of Health Research, Networks of Centres of Excellence, WorksafeBC and British Columbia Ferry Corporation. She is a former member of the Environment Canada Science Advisory Board (2001 to 2005). Recent publications have been on respiratory epidemiology and gender influences in occupational exposure assessment for respiratory disease.
Chris Loomis Pharmacology & Toxicology
1a. No 2a. No 2b. No 2c. Yes 3a. No 3b. No 3c. No 4a. No
Comments: Dr. Loomis Oversees the management of clinical trials undertaken by clinical professors in the Faculty of Medicine at Memorial University.
Renee Lyons Counselling Psychology, Health studies - coping and adaptation in chronic disease

Chronic Illness - health promotion

1a. No 2a. Yes 2b. No 2c. No 3a. Yes 3b. Yes 3c. No 4a. No
Comments: Dr. Lyons has received research awards from the Canadian Institutes of Health Research and the Heart and Stroke Foundation of Canada. Her publications have been on subjects such as Conservation of Resources Theory and Knowledge in health systems and disability, chronic illness, and relationship functioning.
John O'Neil Medical Anthropology
Aboriginal Health
1a. No 2a. No 2b. No 2c. No 3a. Yes 3b. Yes 3c. Yes 4a. No
Comments: Comments: Dr. O'Neil is a Board Member on the Michael Smith Foundation for Health Research (British Columbia) and a member of the Advisory Council for National Collaborating Centre for Aboriginal Health (Public Health Agency of Canada).
Yola Moride Epidemiology Biostatistics
1a. No 2a. Yes 2b. Yes 2c. Yes 3a. Yes 3b. Yes 3c. Yes 4a. No
Comments: Dr. Moride has carried out consultancies for industry and regulatory authorities since 2003. She holds memberships on Data Safety Monitoring Boards and science advisory boards providing advice on: Expert Safety Assessment; Risk management planning; Drug utilization studies; and teaching.

Dr. Moride attended the International Society of Pharmacoepidemiology's annual meeting in 2011. Her research at the University of Montreal Hospital Centre, is partially funded by the pharmaceutical industry and she is the President of YolaRx Consultants inc., a consulting firm for the pharmaceutical industry and regulatory agencies.

She is a member of The Expert Panel on Caffeinated Drinks, 2008-2009 (Expert Assessor - Health Canada; 2008), the Reference group for the development of the regulatory frameworks that will be required to align with a modernized Food and Drugs Act under Bill C51(2004-present); the Independent data monitoring board for Erythropoeitin (Eprex) (Johnson & Johnson, USA; 2011- present); RM Global Advisory Board for Teriflunomide (Sanofi-aventis; 2010-present) and the Real-world Evaluation Global Advisory Board (Sanofi-aventis France, 2008) and the Standing Committee on Health (House of Commons); the International Society of Pharmacovigilance and of the International Society of Pharmacoepidemiology (former President 2007-2008).

Marie-Élise Parent Nutrition, Epidemiology
Cancer Risk Factors
1a. No 2a. Yes 2b. No 2c. No 3a. No 3b. Yes 3c. Yes 4a. No
Comments: Dr. Parent has had research contracts with Health Canada studying Occupational exposure assessment for lung cancer study (2006-07), Diesel and lung cancer (2006), and the translation of lists of occupational chemicals (2006). She sits on the Board of Directors of the Canadian Cancer Society as Director-at-Large-Research, as well as on the Boards of the Canadian Society for Epidemiology and Biostatistics and of the Institut national de la recherche scientifique. She has published several articles in high-profile peer-review journals in the area of cancer epidemiology.
Lori Sheremeta Health Law and Ethics

1a. No 2a. Yes 2b. Yes 2c. No 3a. Yes 3b. Yes 3c. Yes 4a. Yes
Comments: Ms. Sheremeta has had contracts with Health Canada and the Canadian Biotechnology Advisory Board (2001-2006). She has received funding for research from the National Institute for Nanotechnology (NINT), Government of Alberta, and the Government of Canada. She is a unpaid member of the Council of Canadian Academies, the Expert Panel on Nanotechnology. Published articles include: Expert Panel on Nanotechnology, "Small is Different: A Science Perspective on the Regulatory Challenges of the Nanoscale" Council of Canadian Academies, September 2008; "Public Meets Private: Challenges for Informed Consent and Umbilical Cord Blood Banking in Canada" (2007) 15:2 Health Law Review; "Somatic Cell Nuclear Transfer - How Science Outpaces the Law" (2003) 21 Nat. Biotech. 969.

Ms. Sheremeta is a member of the Law Society of British Columbia; "One Match" Canadian Blood Services Science Advisory Board; Hereditary Breast and Ovarian Cancer Society of Alberta Science Advisory Board.

Jacques Simard Physiology,
Molecular Endocrin-
ology, Biology
Genomics / Cancer Research
1a. No 2a. Yes 2b. No 2c. Yes 3a. Yes 3b. Yes 3c. Yes 4a. Yes
Comments: Dr. Simard received Director's fees from the Fonds de solidarité FTQ New Economy sector council, a major investor in venture capital in the field of life sciences in Canada and from BRCA1 and BRCA2: Past, Present and Future. 3rd International Symposium on Hereditary Breast and Ovarian Cancer: BRCA: 15 Years of Progress (2009).

He is the Chair of the Genome Canada Science and Industry Advisory Committee (July 2010-present) and a member of the Fonds de solidarité FTQ New Economy sector Council (2009-present); Association francophone pour le savoir (ACFAS); Canadian Society for Clinical Investigation; Club de recherches cliniques du Québec; and the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences.

Dr. Simard is a past member of the Genome Canada Board of Directors (2005-2010); Ad-hoc committee of the Génome Québec Board of Directors for the development of the brief presented to the Groupe-conseil pour l'actualisation de la Stratégie québécoise de la recherche et de l'innovation (2009); the evaluation committee of the Ontario Research Fund - Research Excellence Round 5 Genomics Panel (2010-2011); and the Technological Investments Sector Council (1999-2009) of the Fonds de solidarité FTQ.

He was a guest speaker at several Canadian and international conventions and conferences.

Lorne Tyrrell Pharmacology
Microbiology - Immunology
1a. No 2a. Yes 2b. No 2c. No 3a. No 3b. No 3c. Yes 4a. No
Comments: Dr. Tyrrell received research support from GlaxoSmithKline (research contract with CIHR); an endowment from GlaxoSmithKline to the University of Alberta's Li Ka Shing Institute of Virology. He is a Director on the Board of a publically traded company: Burcon (receives no government funding) and is Chairman of the Board of the Gairdner Foundation; Health Quality Council of Alberta; Institute of Health Economics of Alberta. He is a member of the Science Advisory Council of the Canadian Institute for Advanced Research; and Canadian Medical Hall of Fame.
Annalee Yassi Health Science, Occupational Health and Safety, Community Health, Occupational and Environmental Health, Health Promotion and Prevention 1a. No 2a. No 2b. No 2c. No 3a. Yes 3b. Yes 3c. Yes 4a. No
Comments: Dr. Yassi was the lead consultant for the World Health Organization in developing guidelines on how to improve access of health workers to prevention, treatment and care for HIV and Tuberculosis. She advised the Pan American Health Organization in preparing health workers in Trinidad and Tobago for a biological incident or pandemic. Her numerous publications related to Health Canada's mandate, include: "Assuming our global responsibility: Improving working conditions for healthcare workers globally "- Open Medicine, 2009 and "Which approaches to talking neglected tropical diseases show promise?" - PloS Medicine, 2010. Dr. Yassi is also Chair of the Scientific Committee for Healthcare of the International Commission on Occupational Health (volunteer - professional association).

1 other than from present employer

2 other than from present employer, over $1,000

3 "participate in internal decision making" as a board member or executive or non-executive director

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Science et recherche

ARCHIVÉE - Sommaire de l'expertise, de l'expérience, des affiliations et des intérêts - Conseil consultatif des sciences

Avertissement Ce contenu a été archivé le 24 juin 2013.

Information archivée dans le Web

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette information dans tout autre format de rechange à la page « Contactez-nous ».

But

Le tableau suivant résume l'information relative à l'expertise, à l'expérience, aux affiliations et aux intérêts qu'offre chaque membre de la Conseil consultatif des sciences (CCS) dans le cadre du son mandat. Santé Canada (le Ministère) et l'Agence de la santé publique du Canada (l'Agence) a pris ces déclarations en considération dans le processus de sélection.

Le présent sommaire est publié conformément à l'engagement du Ministère et l'Agence selon lequel elle fera preuve de transparence quant à la composition de ses organismes consultatifs.

Évaluation des affiliations et des intérêts avant chaque réunion

Avant chaque réunion du comité, le président et le Secrétariat exécutif du CCS ont évalué les affiliations et les intérêts de chacun des membres, y compris leurs intérêts financiers directs, puisqu'ils peuvent s'appliquer aux points à l'ordre du jour. En fonction de cet examen, ils décideront, s'il y a lieu, de limiter la participation d'un membre à une partie ou à l'ensemble de l'ordre du jour de la réunion et de l'informer de cette décision. De plus, lorsqu'ils reçoivent l'ordre du jour de la réunion, les membres doivent examiner leurs propres affiliations et intérêts par rapport aux points à l'ordre du jour et informer le président et le Secrétariat s'ils estiment que cela peut représenter une source de préoccupation sur le plan de l'intégrité et de l'objectivité de leur participation.

On s'attend à ce que les membres signalent rapidement tout changement lié à leur situation, comme déclaré sur le Formulaire de déclaration d'affiliations et d'intérêts transmis au Secrétariat et au président du CCS. Le Ministère et l'Agence demande également aux membres d'examiner leur déclaration d'affiliations et d'intérêts chaque année.

Conformément aux articles 3.2 à 3.6 de la Politique sur la gestion des organismes consultatifs externes de Santé Canada, une personne ayant un intérêt financier direct à l'égard d'une question qui figure au procès-verbal de l'organisme consultatif ne peut pas participer aux discussions qui ont trait à ce point, mais peut participer aux discussions qui englobent des questions de politique, de gestion ou d'élaboration de programmes, puisque ces points ont trait au mandat du CCS.

Nom ainsi que secteur ou perspectives et expertise indiqués

Divers points de vue seront recherchés au sein du Conseil afin de s'assurer que le Ministère et l'Agence sont en mesure de dresser un portrait d'ensemble. Le Conseil se composera notamment :

  • de scientifiques, de chercheurs, d'universitaires et de personnes possédant de l'expertise, des connaissances et de l'expérience liées aux mandats du Ministère et de l'Agence, c'est-à-dire la santé des Autochtones;
  • de professionnels de la santé, y compris ceux possédant de l'expérience pratique et clinique;
  • de personnes possédant de l'expérience pratique ou une expertise relativement aux questions qui touchent les consommateurs et les patients;
  • de représentants de l'industrie.

Les membres du Conseil sont des personnes qui travaillent à l'extérieur du gouvernement fédéral et qui possèdent des connaissances, de l'expérience et une expertise dans des domaines qui sont liés aux mandats du Ministère et de l'Agence, notamment les domaines suivants :

  • épidémiologie et biostatistique;
  • maladies chroniques, promotion de la santé;
  • pharmacoépidémiologie;
  • thérapie génique et chimie biologique;
  • recherche sur le cancer et le facteurs de risque liés au cancer;
  • anthropologie médicale;
  • santé des Autochtones;
  • toxicologie, évaluation du risque;
  • nutrition;
  • épidémiologie.
  1. Intérêts financiers directs

    Emploi actuel, investissements dans des entreprises, partenariats, intérêts, redevances, coentreprises, fiducies, biens immobiliers, valeurs, actions ou obligations qui ont trait au mandat du CCS.

  2. Intérêts financiers indirects
    1. Dans les cinq dernières années, paiement reçu de l'industrie réglementée pour un travail accompli ou en cours, y compris un emploi, des contrats ou des consultations passés; ou contribution financière, y compris un appui à la recherche, des subventions d'études personnelles, des contributions, des bourses, des commandites, et des honoraires.1
    2. Dans les cinq dernières années, matériaux, produits à prix réduit, cadeaux ou autres avantages, ou participation à des réunions pour lesquelles la totalité ou une partie des coûts de déplacement et d'hébergement ont été pris en charge par une partie ayant un intérêt dans le mandat du CCS.2
    3. Dans les trois dernières années, les subventions ou autres fonds reçus d'une partie ayant un intérêt dans le mandat de l'organisme consultatif pour l'une ou l'autre des organisations où vous êtes actuellement employé(e) ou avez participé au processus décisionnel interne.3
    4. Dans les trois dernières années, les subventions ou autres fonds reçus de l'industrie réglementée pour l'une ou l'autre des organisations où vous êtes actuellement employé(e) ou avez participé au processus décisionnel interne.4
  3. Intérêts intellectuels
    1. Dans les cinq dernières années, tous les conseils ou opinions officiels offerts à l'industrie, à un organisme gouvernemental, ou à une organisation non gouvernementale.
    2. Dans les cinq dernières années, tout point de vue publié ou énoncé publiquement.
    3. Affiliations actuelles, professionnelles ou bénévoles, notamment en tant que membre de sociétés professionnelles, de groupes de lobbying, d'intérêt public ou de revendication.
  4. Autre
    1. D'autres affiliations et intérêts ou circonstances éventuelles, quels qu'ils soient, qui pourraient donner à un membre du public bien informé des motifs raisonnables de préoccupation quant à l'intégrité et à l'objectivité de votre participation.
Nom ainsi que
secteur ou perspective et expertise indiqués
Résumé des réponses
Renaldo Battista Administration et politiques dans le domaine de la santé, évaluation des technologies de la santé 1a. Non 2a. Oui 2b. Non 2c. Non 3a. Oui 3b. Oui 3c. Non 4a. Non
Commentaires : Dr Battista est un membre du conseil d'administration de l'Agence canadienne des médicaments et des technologies de la santé, du conseil d'administration de Recherche Canada et du Comité des priorités de recherche sur les services de santé de l'Institut de génétique des Instituts du recherche en santé du Canada. Il a été consultant pour les comités spéciaux sur la gestion du risque (février 2010) et l'évaluation des technologies de la santé (mars 2010) de Santé Canada et pour le comité spécial sur l'avenir de l'innovation (2009-2010) de Pfizer Canada (honoraires).
Stephen Bornstein Politiques gouvernementales et canadiennes sur la santé 1a. Non 2a. Non 2b. Non 2c. Non 3a. Non 3b. Non 3c. Non 4a. Non
Commentaires : Aucun
Ahmed
El-Sohemy
Science de la nutrition (spécialisation en biologie moléculaire)
et nutrigéno-mique
1a. Non 2a. Oui 2b. Non 2c. Non 3a. Non 3b. Non 3c. Oui 4a. Non
Commentaires : Dr El-Sohemy a obtenu une subvention de recherche des Producteurs laitiers du Canada, et est conférencier pour l'Association canadienne du café et membre du conseil d'administration de la Société canadienne de recherche sur les produits de santé naturels.
Claire Franklin Toxicologie, évaluation du risque 1a. Non 2a. Non 2b. Non 2c. Non 3a. Non 3b. Non 3c. Non 4a. Non
Commentaires : Aucun
Jack Gauldie Chimie biologique, thérapie génique 1a. Oui 2a. Oui 2b. Oui 2c. Oui 3a. Oui 3b. Non 3c. Oui 4a. Non
Commentaires : Dr Gauldie a obtenu des subventions de recherche et des contrats avec GlaxoSmithKline, Medimmune, Intermune, Defyrus et Transtechpharma. Il est actionnaire de Defyrus inc. et de Vistagen Therapeutics inc. Il donne des présentations lors des conférences de GSK sur le système pulmonaire au Royaume-Uni (de 2009 à ce jour). Il participe à plusieurs contrats et travaux subventionnés de recherche par l'entremise de l'Université McMaster (ce travail n'entre pas en conflit avec ses propres recherches). Il est conseiller pour l'Institut des maladies infectieuses et immunitaires des Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada, le Fonds pour la recherche en Ontario et le Centre for Inflammation Research du Medical Research Centre a de l'Université d'Edinburgh. Il a publié plus de 350 documents scientifiques sur les pathogènes de certaines maladies. Il est boursier de la Société royale du Canada.
Susan Kennedy Pathologie, épidémiologie, hygiène du milieu et soins de santé 1a. Non 2a. Non 2b. Non 2c. Oui 3a. Oui 3b. Oui 3c. Non 4a. Non
Commentaires : La Dre Kennedy a reçu des subventions des Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada, des Réseaux de centres d'excellence, de WorksafeBC et de la BC Ferry Corporation. Elle a déjà été membre du Conseil consultatif des sciences d'Environnement Canada (de 2001 à 2005). Elle a récemment publié des articles sur l'épidémiologie respiratoire et l'incidence des déterminants sexuels sur l'évaluation de l'exposition professionnelle du point de vue des maladies respiratoires.
Chris Loomis Pharmacologie, toxicologie et neurologie 1a. Non 2a. Non 2b. Non 2c. Oui 3a. Non 3b. Non 3c. Non 4a. Non
Commentaires : Le Dr supervise la gestion des essais cliniques effectués par des professeurs cliniciens de la Faculté de médecine de l'Université Memorial.
Renee Lyons Psychologie du conseil, études sur la santé - réaction et adaptation aux maladies chroniques

Maladies chroniques - promotion de la santé

1a. Non 2a. Oui 2b. Non 2c. Non 3a. Oui 3b. Oui 3c. Non 4a. Non
Commentaires : La Dre Lyons a reçu des bourses de recherche des Instituts du recherche en santé du Canada et de la Fondation des maladies du cœur du Canada. Elle a publié sur la théorie de la conservation des ressources et des connaissances dans les systèmes de santé et sur les incapacités, les maladies chroniques et le fonctionnement des relations.
John O'Neil Anthropologie médicale, santé des Autochtones 1a. Non 2a. Non 2b. Non 2c. No 3a. Yes 3b. Yes 3c. Yes 4a. Non
Commentaires : Le Dr O'Neil est membre du conseil de la Fondation Michael Smith pour la recherche en santé (Colombie-Britannique) et du Centre national de collaboration de la santé autochtone (Agence de la santé publique du Canada).
Yola Moride Épidémiologie, biostatistique et pharmaco-épidémiologie 1a. Non 2a. Oui 2b. Oui 2c. Oui 3a. Oui 3b. Oui 3c. Oui 4a. Non
Commentaires : Depuis 2003, la Dre Moride organise des consultations avec l'industrie et des organismes de réglementation. Elle est membre des conseils de contrôle de la sauvegarde des données et de conseils consultatifs des sciences à qui elle donne des conseils sur l'évaluation de la sécurité par des experts, la planification de la gestion du risque, les études portant sur l'utilisation des médicaments et l'enseignement.

La Dre Moride a assisté à la réunion annuelle de 2011 de l'International Society of Pharmacoepidemiology. Ses recherches au Centre hospitalier de l'Université de Montréal sont financées en partie par l'industrie pharmaceutique. La Dre Moride est présidente de YolaRx Consultants inc., une société d'experts-conseils pour l'industrie pharmaceutique et les organismes de réglementation.

Elle et une membre du groupe consultatif d'experts sur les boissons contenant de la caféine (2010) ; membre du groupe de référence en ce qui concerne l'élaboration de cadres de réglementation devant être harmonisés avec la Loi sur les aliments et drogues modernisée en vertu du projet de loi C51 (2008) ; de 2004 à ce jour : membre du conseil indépendant de surveillance des données, érythropoïétine (Eprex), Johnson & Johnson, États-Unis; 2011 : membre du conseil consultatif mondial (RM), Teriflunomide, Sanofi-aventis; de 2010 à ce jour : membre du conseil consultatif mondial sur l'évaluation en situation réelle, Sanofi-aventis France; mars 2008 : experte, Comité permanent sur la santé, Chambre des Communes, membre du conseil de la société internationale de pharmacovigilance et membre de la société internationale de pharmacoépidémiologie (présidente de 2007 à 2008).

Marie-Élise Parent Nutrition, épidémiologie et facteurs de risque liés au cancer 1a. Non 2a. Oui 2b. Non 2c. Non 3a. Non 3b. Oui 3c. Oui 4a. Non
Commentaires : La Dre Parent a obtenu des contrats de recherche avec Santé Canada : étude de la relation entre l'exposition professionnelle et le cancer du poumon (2006-2007), diesel et cancer du poumon (2006) et traduction des listes de produits chimiques en milieu de travail (2006). Elle siège au conseil d'administration de la Société canadienne du cancer à titre de directrice de la recherche par mandat spécial ainsi qu'aux conseils de la Société canadienne d'épidémiologie et de biostatistique et de l'Institut national de la recherche scientifique. Elle a publié plusieurs articles dans d'importantes revues examinées par des pairs dans le domaine de l'épidémiologie du cancer.
Lori Sheremeta Lois sur la santé et questions de nanoéthique

1a. Non 2a. Oui 2b. Oui 2c. Non 3a. Oui 3b. Oui 3c. Oui 4a. Oui
Commentaires : Mme Sheremeta a conclu des contrats avec Santé Canada et le Comité consultatif canadien de la biotechnologie (2001-2006). Elle a reçu du financement pour ses recherches de l'Institut national de nanotechnologie, du gouvernement de l'Alberta et du gouvernement du Canada. Elle est membre bénévole du Comité d'experts en nanotechnologies du Conseil des académies canadiennes. Mme Sheremeta a participé à la publication de plusieurs articles, notamment : Comité d'experts sur les nanotechnologies, « Petit et différent : perspective scientifique sur les défis réglementaires du monde nanométrique », Conseils des académies canadiennes, septembre 2008; « Public Meets Private: Challenges for Informed Consent and Umbilical Cord Blood Banking in Canada », Health Law Review, vol. 15, no 2, 2007; « Somatic Cell Nuclear Transfer - How Science Outpaces the Law », Nature biotechnology 21, 2003, 969.

Elle est membre du Barreau de la Colombie-Britannique, du conseil consultatif des sciences du réseau de la Société canadienne du sang et du conseil consultatif des sciences de la Hereditary Breast and Ovarian Cancer Society of Alberta.

Jacques Simard Physiologie,
endocrinologie, biologie/ génomique moléculaire, recherche sur le cancer
1a. Non 2a. Oui 2b. Non 2c. Oui 3a. Oui 3b. Oui 3c. Oui 4a. Oui
Commentaires : Le Dr Simard a reçu des jetons de présence du conseil sectoriel Nouvelle économie du Fonds de solidarité FTQ, un important investisseur en capital de risque dans le domaine des sciences de la vie au Canada et de BRCA1 et BRCA2 : Passé, présent et futur. 3e Symposium international sur le cancer héréditaire du sein et de l'ovaire : BRCA : Quinze années de progrès (2009).

Il est le président du Comité consultatif des sciences et de l'industrie de Génome Canada (de juillet 2010 jusqu'à présent) et membre du conseil sectoriel Nouvelle économie du Fonds de solidarité FTQ (de 2009 jusqu'à présent); Association francophone pour le savoir (ACFAS); Société canadienne de recherches cliniques; Club de recherches cliniques du Québec; Académie canadienne des sciences de la santé.

Le Dr Simard est un ancien membre du conseil d'administration de Génome Canada (de 2005 à 2010); le comité spécial du conseil d'administration de Génome Québec pour l'élaboration du mémoire présenté au Groupe-conseil pour l'actualisation de la Stratégie québécoise de la recherche et de l'innovation (2009); le comité d'évaluation du Programme d'excellence en recherche du Fonds pour la recherche en Ontario - groupes d'experts en génomique du 5e tour (2010-2011); et le conseil sectoriel Investissements technologiques (1999-2009) du Fonds de solidarité FTQ.

Il a été conférencier à plusieurs congrès et conférences canadiennes et internationales.

Lorne Tyrrell Pharmacologie,
microbiologie, immunologie
1a. Non 2a. Oui 2b. Non 2c. Non 3a. Non 3b. Non 3c. Oui 4a. Non
Commentaires : Le Dr Tyrrell a obtenu du soutien pour ses recherches de GlaxoSmithKline (contrat de recherche avec les Instituts du recherche en santé du Canada) ainsi qu'un fonds de dotation de GlaxoSmithKline pour le Li Ka Shing Institute of Virology de l'Université de l'Alberta. Il est le directeur du conseil d'une entreprise cotée en bourse : Burcon (n'a reçu aucun financement du gouvernement) et le président du conseil de la Fondation Gairdner, du conseil sur la qualité des soins de santé de l'Alberta et de l'institut d'économie de la santé de l'Alberta. Il est membre du conseil consultatif scientifique de l'Institut canadien de recherches avancées et fait partie du Temple de la renommée médicale canadienne.
Annalee Yassi Sciences de la santé, santé et sécurité au travail, santé communautaire, hygiène du milieu et santé au travail, promotion de la santé et prévention 1a. Non 2a. Non 2b. Non 2c. Non 3a. Oui 3b. Oui 3c. Oui 4a. Non
Commentaires  : La Dr Yassi a été conseillère principale à l'Organisation mondiale de la Santé dans le cadre de l'élaboration des lignes directrices sur la façon d'améliorer l'accès des travailleurs de la santé aux méthodes de prévention, aux traitements et aux soins du VIH et de la tuberculose. Elle a également conseillé l'Organisation panaméricaine de la santé relativement à la formation des travailleurs de la santé de Trinité-et-Tobago en cas d'incident biologique ou de pandémie. Elle a publié plusieurs documents en lien avec le mandat de Santé Canada, y compris : « Assuming our global responsibility: Improving working conditions for healthcare workers globally », Open Medicine, 2009 et « Which approaches to talking neglected tropical diseases show promise? », PloS Medicine, 2010. La Dr Yassi préside le comité scientifique des soins de santé de la Commission internationale de la santé du travail (bénévole, association professionnelle).


1 Autre que de l'employeur actuel.

2 Autre que de l'employeur actuel, plus de 1 000 $

3 « participer au processus décisionnel interne » signifie en tant que membre du conseil, ou directeur exécutif ou non exécutif.

4 « participer au processus décisionnel interne » signifie en tant que membre du conseil, ou directeur exécutif ou non exécutif.