Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Science and Research

The Regulation of Genetically Modified Food

Help on accessing alternative formats, such as Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word and PowerPoint (PPT) files, can be obtained in the alternate format help section.

Health Canada's Mandate

Health Canada is responsible, under the Food and Drugs Act and its Regulations, for provisions related to public health, food safety and nutrition. Through science-based regulation, guidelines and public health policy, as well as health risk assessments concerning chemical, physical and microbiological contaminants, toxicants and allergens in the food supply, Health Canada works to protect the health and safety of Canadians. Health Canada also conducts pre-market evaluations to assess the safety and nutritional adequacy of novel foods proposed for sale in Canada, including foods derived from biotechnology.

Biotechnology is an umbrella term that covers a broad spectrum of scientific tools and techniques, including genetic modification and genetic engineering. In Canada, foods derived from biotechnology -- commonly referred to as Genetically Modified (GM) or Genetically Engineered (GE) foods -- are considered to be one class of "novel foods." Health Canada regulates the sale of novel foods in Canada through a pre-market notification requirement which is specified under Division 28 of Part B of the Food and Drugs Regulations (Novel Foods).

Canadian Regulation of Foods Derived from Biotechnology

  • It is a seven to ten year process to research, develop, test and assess the safety of a new GM food.
  • Manufacturers and importers who wish to sell or advertise a GM food in Canada, must submit data to Health Canada for a pre-market safety assessment, as required under Division 28 of Part B of the Food and Drugs Regulations (Novel Foods). This safety assessment provides assurance that the food is safe when prepared or consumed according to its intended use.

The steps in the regulatory process are described below:

  1. Pre-submission consultation
    Health Canada encourages proponents to consult with the Novel Foods Section of the Food Directorate in advance of notifying a GM food to Health Canada for safety assessment. This provides the opportunity for regulatory process requirements to be clarified and for any specific safety issues to be raised.

  2. Pre-market notification
    When the product's proponent believes it has sufficient information about the safety of a GM food to address Health Canada's criteria, a submission is made to the Novel Foods Section. This office coordinates a full safety assessment of the product, which involves a rigorous scientific evaluation by Health Canada scientific evaluators. These criteria are described in Health Canada's Guidelines for the Safety Assessment of Novel Foods.

  3. Scientific Assessment
    Scientific evaluators, with individual expertise in molecular biology, toxicology, chemistry, nutritional sciences and microbiology, assess the following:
    • development of the modified organism, including the molecular biological data that characterizes the genetic change;
    • composition of and nutritional information about the GM food compared to a non-modified counterpart food;
    • the potential for production of new toxins in the food;
    • the potential for causing allergic reactions;
    • microbiological and chemical safety of the food;
    • the potential for any unintended or secondary effects;
    • key nutrients and toxicants; and,
    • major constituents (for example, fats, proteins, carbohydrates) and minor constituents (for example, minerals and vitamins).

  4. Requests for additional information
    If Health Canada evaluators find that any of the information provided about a GM food is insufficient, further documentation is requested from the proponent of the submission. Health Canada does not give any further consideration to the submission until all requested material is provided and deemed to be scientifically valid.

  5. Summary report of findings
    Once evaluators have completed their assessments, they summarize their findings and recommendations in a report.

  6. Preparation of food rulings proposal
    Once the evaluation of the product is completed, a Health Canada Food Rulings Proposal is prepared. This proposal is reviewed by senior staff (Directors and Director General) in the Food Directorate to ensure that all issues have been addressed. Once this has been done, a decision is made whether or not to approve the product.

  7. Letter of no objection
    If a product has successfully completed the evaluation process, and the other regulatory approvals such as environmental and feed safety are in place, a "Letter of No Objection" is sent to the product proponent. This letter indicates that the product can be sold in Canada for the intended uses, as listed in the submission, and whether there are any restrictions or requirements associated with the Health Canada decision.

  8. Decision document on Health Canada Web site
    A decision document, describing the novel food and summarizing the safety information used to determine its safety as a food, is posted on the Novel Foods and Ingredients page of Health Canada's Web site.

Food Labelling

Health Canada and the Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA) share the responsibility for food labelling policies under the Food and Drugs Act. Health Canada's responsibilities for food labelling fall within the Department's mandate to safeguard health and safety, while CFIA leads the federal program to develop general food labelling policies and regulations. In particular, the CFIA is responsible for protecting consumers from misrepresentation and fraud with respect to food labelling, packaging and advertising, and for prescribing basic food labelling and advertising requirements.

Currently in Canada, labelling is mandatory if there is a health or safety issue with a food, which might be mitigated through labelling. For example, if the nutritional value or composition of the food has been changed, or if there is an allergen present in the food, the food must be labelled as such. In this situation, special labelling is required to alert consumers or susceptible groups in the population. This applies to all foods, including GM foods.

The Government of Canada recognizes that for many Canadians, labelling of foods derived from biotechnology is an important issue of consumer preference or choice. Under a standards committee established by the Canadian General Standards Board, a Canadian standard for voluntary labelling of GE foods entitled Voluntary Labelling and Advertising of Foods that Are and Are Not Products of Genetic Engineering was developed to address non-health and safety labelling (rather, labelling for method of production, for example, whether a food has or has not been produced through genetic engineering). This committee included a broad range of stakeholders, including consumer groups, food companies, producers, general interest groups, universities and government. In April 2004, the national standard was adopted by the Standards Council of Canada. The objectives of the national standard are to provide meaningful criteria for labelling, understandable messages for consumers, and a consistent policy to verify the truthfulness of labels.

Glossary

Genetically Modified:
An organism, such as a plant, animal or bacterium, is considered genetically modified if its genetic material has been altered through any method, including conventional breeding. A "GMO" is a genetically modified organism.
Genetically Engineered:
An organism is considered genetically engineered if it was genetically modified using techniques that permit the direct transfer or removal of genes in that organism. Such techniques are also called recombinant DNA or rDNA techniques.

For more information visit the biotechnology theme at Health Canada's web site:

Or contact us at:

Health Canada
Office of Biotechnology and Science
AL 0702A, Tunney's Pasture
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0L2
Facsimile: (613) 957-0362
Email: obs-bbs@hc-sc.gc.ca

or visit the following Web addresses:

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Science et recherche

Réglementation des aliments génétiquement modifiés

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour accéder aux formats de rechange, tels que Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word et PowerPoint (PPT), visitez la section d'aide sur les formats de rechange.

Mandat de Santé Canada

Santé Canada est responsable, en vertu de la Loi sur les aliments et drogues et de son Règlement, des dispositions législatives en relation avec la santé publique, la salubrité des aliments et la nutrition. À l'aide de règlements fondés sur la science, de lignes directrices et de la politique en matière de santé publique, ainsi que des évaluations des risques pour la santé en ce qui concerne les contaminants chimiques, physiques et microbiologiques en plus des substances toxiques et des allergènes dans l'approvisionnement alimentaire, Santé Canada œuvre en vue de protéger la santé et la sécurité des Canadiennes et des Canadiens. Santé Canada effectue également des évaluations avant la mise en marché en vue d'évaluer la salubrité et le caractère nutritionnel approprié des aliments nouveaux proposés pour la vente au Canada, y compris les aliments dérivés de la biotechnologie.

La biotechnologie est un terme général qui couvre une vaste gamme d'outils et de techniques scientifiques, y compris les modifications génétiques et le génie génétique. Au Canada, les aliments dérivés de la biotechnologie, communément connus sous le nom d'aliments génétiquement modifiés (GM) ou génétiquement manipulés, sont considérés comme une classe «d'aliments nouveaux». Santé Canada réglemente la vente d'aliments nouveaux au Canada grâce à une exigence de notification préalable à la mise en marché qui est précisée conformément au titre 28 de la partie B du Règlement sur les aliments et drogues (Aliments nouveaux).

Règlements canadiens sur les aliments dérivés de la biotechnologie

  • Il s'agit d'un processus d'une durée de sept à dix ans afin d'effectuer des recherches, de mettre au point, de tester et d'évaluer la salubrité d'un nouvel aliment GM.
  • Les fabricants et les importateurs qui souhaitent vendre un aliment GM au Canada, ou l'annoncer par la publicité, doivent soumettre des données à Santé Canada en vue d'une évaluation sur la salubrité avant la mise en marché, tel que cela est requis conformément au titre 28 de la partie B du Règlement sur les aliments et drogues (Nouveaux aliments). Cette évaluation sur la salubrité donne l'assurance que l'aliment est salubre lorsqu'il est préparé ou consommé selon son utilisation prévue.

Les étapes du processus réglementaire sont énoncées ci-dessous.

  1. Consultation préalable à la présentation
    Santé Canada encourage les promoteurs à consulter la section des Aliments nouveaux de la Direction des aliments (DA) avant la notification d'un aliment GM à Santé Canada en vue d'une évaluation de la salubrité. Cela permet de clarifier les exigences du processus réglementaire et de soulever toute question particulière à la salubrité.
  2. Notification avant la mise en marché
    Lorsque les promoteurs du produit croient qu'ils possèdent suffisamment de renseignements sur la salubrité d'un aliment GM pour remplir les critères de Santé Canada, une présentation est présentée à la section des Aliments nouveaux. Le bureau coordonne une évaluation approfondie de la salubrité du produit, ce qui comprend une évaluation scientifique rigoureuse par les évaluateurs scientifiques de Santé Canada. Ces critères sont décrits dans les Lignes directrices relatives à l'évaluation de la salubrité des aliments nouveaux de Santé Canada.
  3. Évaluation scientifique
    Les évaluateurs scientifiques, chacun avec des connaissances spécialisées en biologie moléculaire, en toxicologie, en chimie, en science de la nutrition et en microbiologie, évaluent les aspects suivants :
    • le développement d'un organisme modifié, y compris les données biologiques moléculaires qui caractérisent le changement génétique;
    • la composition et les renseignements nutritionnels sur l'aliment GM par rapport à son aliment homologue non modifié;
    • les possibilités de production de nouvelles toxines dans l'aliment;
    • les possibilités de provoquer des réactions allergiques;
    • la salubrité de l'aliment sur le plan microbiologique et chimique;
    • les risques d'effets secondaires ou non intentionnels;
    • les nutriments et les produits toxiques clés;
    • les constituants majeurs (p. ex. les gras, les protéines et les hydrates de carbone) et les constituants mineurs (p. ex. les minéraux et les vitamines).
  4. Demandes de renseignements supplémentaires
    Si les évaluateurs de Santé Canada constatent que les renseignements donnés sur un aliment GM sont insuffisants, il faudra que le promoteur de la présentation fournisse davantage de documentation. Santé Canada ne poursuivra pas l'examen de la présentation jusqu'à ce que tout le matériel demandé soit considéré et qu'il soit comsidéré comme valide sur le plan scientifique.
  5. Rapport sommaire des constatations
    Une fois que les évaluateurs auront terminé leurs évaluations, ils résumeront leurs constatations et leurs recommandations dans un rapport.
  6. Préparation de la proposition des décisions sur les aliments
    Après la fin de l'évaluation du produit, on prépare une proposition des décisions sur les aliments de Santé Canada. Cette proposition est examinée par les cadres supérieurs (les directeurs et le directeur général) de la Direction des aliments en vue de s'assurer que toutes les questions ont été abordées. Une fois que cela est accompli, une décision est prise à savoir si l'on approuve le produit.
  7. Lettre de non-opposition
    Si le produit a passé avec succès le processus d'évaluation et que d'autres approbations réglementaires, comme les approbations liées à l'environnement et à la salubrité des aliments qui sont mises en place, une «lettre de non-opposition» est envoyée au promoteur du produit. Dans cette lettre on souligne que le produit peut être vendu au Canada pour les utilisations prévues, tel que cela figure sur la liste dans la soumission, et on y mentionne s'il y a des restrictions ou des exigences rattachées à la décision de Santé Canada.
  8. Document de décision dans le site Web de Santé Canada
    Un document de décision, dans lequel on décrit l'aliment nouveau et résume les renseignements sur la salubrité qui sont utilisés afin de déterminer sa salubrité en tant qu'aliment, est affiché sur la page Aliments nouveaux et ingrédients du site Web de Santé Canada.

Étiquetage des aliments

Santé Canada et l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments (ACIA) partagent la responsabilité pour ce qui est des politiques sur l'étiquetage des aliments en vertu de la Loi sur les aliments et drogues. Les responsabilités de Santé Canada en ce qui concerne l'étiquetage des aliments relèvent du mandat du Ministère en vue de protéger la santé et la salubrité, alors l'ACIA dirige le programme fédéral afin de mettre au point des règlements et des politiques générales d'étiquetage des aliments. En particulier, l'ACIA est responsable de protéger les consommateurs d'une information trompeuse ou d'une fraude liée à l'étiquetage des aliments, à l'emballage et à la publicité et d'imposer des exigences de base relatives à l'étiquetage des aliments et à la publicité.

Actuellement au Canada, l'étiquetage est obligatoire s'il survient des problèmes en matière de santé ou de salubrité au sujet d'un aliment, qui peut être atténué par cet étiquetage. Par exemple, si on a changé la valeur nutritionnelle ou la composition de l'aliment, ou si un allergène est présent dans l'aliment, l'aliment doit être étiqueté en conséquence. Dans ce cas, un étiquetage particulier est requis afin de mettre en garde les consommateurs ou des groupes sensibles dans la population. Cela s'applique à tous les aliments, y compris les aliments GM.

Le gouvernement du Canada reconnaît que pour bon nombre de Canadiennes et de Canadiens, l'étiquetage des aliments dérivés de la biotechnologie est une question importante qui tient de la préférence et du choix du consommateur. Dans le cadre d'un comité des normes établi par l'Office des normes générales du Canada, une norme canadienne visant l'étiquetage volontaire des aliments GM intitulée Étiquetage volontaire et publicité visant les aliments issus ou non du génie génétique a été mise au point afin d'aborder l'étiquetage non lié à la santé et l'étiquetage lié à la salubrité (plutôt, l'étiquetage pour la méthode de production, p. ex. si un aliment a été ou n'a pas été produit par le génie génétique). Ce comité comprend un large éventail de parties intéressées, y compris des groupes de consommateurs, des entreprises alimentaires, des producteurs, des groupes d'intérêt général, des universités et le gouvernement. En avril 2004, la norme nationale a été adoptée par le Conseil canadien des normes. Les objectifs de la norme nationale sont de fournir des critères significatifs d'étiquetage, des messages compréhensifs à l'intention des consommateurs et une politique cohérente visant à vérifier la véracité des étiquettes.

Glossaire

Génétiquement modifié :
Un organisme, comme une plante, un animal ou une bactérie, est considéré comme génétiquement modifié si son matériel génétique a été altéré par toute méthode, y compris la reproduction classique. Un «OGM» est un organisme génétiquement modifié.
Génétiquement manipulé :
Un organisme est considéré comme génétiquement manipulé s'il a été génétiquement modifié au moyen de techniques qui permettent le transfert direct ou le retrait de gènes dans cet organisme. On nomme également de ces techniques les techniques de l'ADN recombinant.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements veuillez consulter la rubrique biotechnologie dans le site Web de Santé Canada

Pour en savoir plus :

Santé Canada
Bureau de la biotechnologie et de la science
IA 0702A, Pré Tunney
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0L2
Télécopieur : (613) 957-0362
Courrier électronique : obs-bbs@hc-sc.gc.ca

ou consulter les adresses Web suivantes :